Wednesday Walk: Beautiful & Burning

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

#Wednesdaywalk is a tag initiated by @tattoodjay. He suggests to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start.

Today I’ll start my walk leaving the house and going across the road to check out the Woodland Angelica, a new invasive plant growing along the highway.

A bee is about to land on the flower to collect pollen.

Bee & The Woodland Angelica



image


Woodland Angelica looks a bit like Queen Anne’s Lace and that’s where the similarities end.

Somehow the wild invasive perennial Woodland Angelica got into this area of Prince Edward Island and is rapidly spreading.

Here the bee is getting pollen from the flower. Only the top of the bee is showing.


image

And what is wrong with this lovely plant?

The plant can cause serious skin irritations. It is important to wear gloves if you handle it and definitely do not rub your eyes after coming in contact.

Bees and wasps are not bothered by the plant and collect pollen from it. Even if the pollinators like Woodland Angelica, it is not a plant you want in your yard.

Going back to my lawn, I finish my walk by checking out my three edible plants: Oregano, Tomatoes and Peppers.

  • Oregano was planted a few years ago and comes up faithfully each year. It’s great to add to spaghetti sauce or any dish using tomatoes.

I had to enclose it in a tire as it was getting crowded out by flowers.



image

  • Tomatoes ~many are still green and I like fried green tomatoes.


    image

  • Peppers -Hungarian Wax Peppers have a bit of heat.I have been using them in stir fry and Hubs chops up one to add to eggs in the morning.


    image


    Not a big garden but I enjoy growing a few plants.


    FE1258FE-638B-43CC-AD3D-E3F536F7DDA4.jpeg

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved


FE1258FE-638B-43CC-AD3D-E3F536F7DDA4.jpeg
#thealliance






Picture1.png


Thanks For The Visit! Enjoy Your Wednesday Walk!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

timing on the bee one is so lovely.
Thanks to you i got the name. I use to run around carying it in my hands and shouting "cauliflower" plant when i was a child haha.

Thanks Cave. I can see why you thought it was cauliflower. 🥦 Did the plant burn your hands?

No it didn't. Thats why i am confused if its the same one. But it looks so similar.

@cave-man. It may be this Queen Anne’s Lace flower you picked. It does not grow as tall but to me it looks similar.
CD5F7FC8-DFB7-4ED7-9A5A-04E0CC3F3E75.jpeg

No the one that i said is about 6-7 feet tall. I found one near my house today. I will take a shot and post it here for you to recognize it.

Okay, I would like to see it, Cave.

kdee2uc39s.jpg

9o44wml7r7.jpg

omdfdmeosv.jpg

a9fh8kwwn3.jpg

The last one is for height reference. I don't know why but i can't rotate it. It pretty much looks like a wild one.

It’s the sap in the stem that causes the skin irritants.

It may not be a big garden but it sure seems to be doing well, MY father was a greta Gardener, thats something I never inherherited from him

I love that first shot with the Bee it is awesome

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks so much Jay and for your generosity. I’m sure you would have a great garden. My father always had a vegetable garden and mother did a lot of preserving. 😊 🤗

Now my mouth is watering thinking of my moms preserves especially the peaches 🍑

Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

very nice walk and photos, i love gardens and yours is doing great! thanks for sharing your walk. :)

Hi @eaglespirit. Thanks for the visit and your kind comments. 🤗

Good info about Woodland Angelica. I didn't realize there was a Queen Anne's Lace look-alike. I especially like your tire planter. :-)

And thank you for the re-steem! 🍌

Welcome @bananmemos. The tire was an old one from the ride-on lawn mower. I liked it because it was smaller than a car tire. 😊 🤗

Nice way to re-purpose!

Hey, did you get a new profile pic? It's cute! :-)

Thanks so much @bananamemos. I thought I’d jazz it up at bit. 😊 🙃

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lovely photos of some beautful plants and vegetables. There is nothing nicer than harvesting your own vegetables @redheadpei

Thanks Trudy @trudeehunter. It’s small enough to be easy to maintain. 🍅 🌶

Wonderful photos while walking dear 😊 @redheadpei very nice photography also specially that first photo with flying bee 🐝 love that capture. I am also gardener I have my small terrace garden I love to work there 😊 nice meeting with you

Congratulations @redheadpei!

Your Photography post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Photo Friday competition! Please click HERE and comment with the link of your picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88