Wednesday Walk - Walking suspension bridges at Oribi GorgesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

For today's #wednesdaywalk initiated by that wonderful photographer @tattoodjay, I will share with you some sights that we do not normally see when we go walking in our neighbourhood.

A warning though, if you have a fear of heights, make sure you're sitting down when you look at some of these photos!

I admit to having that fear, so when we decided to rest during our walk at the majestic Oribi Gorge in Kwazulu Natal recently, I certainly did not go and sit under the Hanging Rock close to that abyss of some 330 metres!

IMG_20190620_152102.jpg

No sirree, I stood well away from the edge of that precipice!

Looking out at Baboon's Castle - note the cables in the photo, those are for the adrenaline junkies.
20190620_154622.jpg

This is the site of Wild 5 Adventures, where they offer the following activities/ adventures –

  • Wild Gorge Swing which is the highest gorge swing at 165 metres (55 storeys) into the abyss!
  • Wild Abseiling down a 110m cliff face next to Lehr’s waterfall
  • Wild Slide which is a 120 metres zip-line or foefie slide that spans across the Gorge at 160 metres above the ground or one can take a 3 hour canopy tour.
  • Go-Ballistix Paintball Games.
  • Wild Water rafting along the Umzimkulu River.
    They offer guided walks and birding tours as well as a host of other team building activities at this magnificent site.

20190620_154631.jpg

If you look closely, you will see someone who is on his way down doing the Wild Gorge Swing - not for me either!
20190620_154915.jpg
The guide naturally has a safety harness but certainly is fearless!
20190620_154915-ANIMATION.gif

I did walk this suspension bridge called the Wild Bridge, 84 metres long, quite wobbly and scary being suspended between heaven and earth as one hovers 100 metres above the gorge floor with spectacular views of Lehr’s Waterfall, Baboon’s Castle and the world’s highest Gorge Swing.

Oribi suspension bridge Liz Pat.png

I did NOT walk the 80 metres long suspension bridge at Lake Eland as that one was narrower, the sides were not as high and looked much scarier being 130 metres above ground so left that walk to hubby and our friends and took photographs!

Be warned, you may feel a tad queasy watching the following two videos - Credit to Wild 5 Adventures:

Walking the Wild Bridge

Those crazy adrenaline junkies!


And so we went on to Lake Eland Game Reserve at the beginning of the Oribi Gorge.
This game reserve has a variety of wildlife - eland, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra amongst others.

Activities range from Zip line and Zip X-Treme tours - the latter's first slide is a 1 kilometre all the way down ride that's been known to reach speeds of up to 160 kms per hour, plus two more slides, definitely not recommended for children!
Other activities include game drives, 4 x 4 tracks, mountain biking, fishing, horse riding with the main attraction being the 80 metre long and 130 metre high suspension bridge - hubby and our friends walked that one!

IMG_20190620_132337.jpg

No wonder this area is known as Hell's Gate!

IMG_20190620_125303.jpg

20190620_134610.jpg

20190621_192208-ANIMATION.gif

Hubby took some photos whilst walking, seeing that abyss makes my tummy turn - absolutely terrifying!

20190620_133146.jpg

20190620_133418.jpg

20190620_133407.jpg

Did I conquer my fear of heights? No!
But that is one more thing off my bucket list!
Suspension bridges done and dusted!

IMG_20190620_155915.jpg

And so we said our goodbyes to an unforgettable day spent at the amazingly beautiful and breathtaking Oribi Gorge, and I quote from Lake Eland's webpage:

We have a saying in South Africa “Africa isn’t for sissies” and this adventurous walk across the bridge is definitely not for the faint-hearted.

IMG_20190620_154435.jpg

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

!steemitworldmap -30.668886 lat 30.304560 long Wild 5 Adventures Oribi Gorge, Izongolweni, Kwazulu Natal d3scr

Sort:  

Oh, how awesome is this?? Oh, my!!! The bridges I would be able to walk, but, there is no way I would be bungee jumping down into that abyss! I like my back too much to do that. But, I soooo would love to!

It looks so fun!

Of course, you would be able to hear me screaming all the way down!!! These pictures are amazing and I bow down to you for even going! You totally rock it!

!tip

Ah thank you for your great comments @dswigle, you're the adventurer then wanting to do those jumps;) I don't think I would do that for all the money in the world, I'm such a scaredy cat ;) But I'm glad that I managed the bridge!
Thanks for the tip!

I certainly have a respect for heights, and no need to emulate falling like the swing people, but the bridge and zip lines and I would get along just fine.

But like you, I don't stand right on the edge of anyplace. Just do not do it.

Thanks Lizelle. Looks like a marvelous adventure!

It certainly was @bigtom13, I cannot agree more! Zipline maybe, swing and jump definitely no and standing on the edge also not!
Thank you for your comments, Lovely seeing you here!

I have bene looking forward to this post, and even thought i have. Fear of Cable cars I do not have a fear of heights so was fine for me to see this

My Wife would have bene with you and not near the edge under that roc where I would have been and she would most likely be calling to me quite strongly to come back and get away from the edge LOL

I would have happily walked across both of the bridges, and downthe is Line no problem a all but Bungy Jumping and the swing jump I think I to would have passed on

What an awesome post thanks for sharing

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I did exactly what you said your wife would do, told him to get away from that edge! No I'm afraid heights are not my idea of fun!
But this place is beautiful! Thank you so much for the opportunity to share our unusual walks @tattoodjay ;)

That was an unusual and unusually beautiful walk so thank you for sharing it with us all :)

Loved the area, enjoyed walks and climbing, get on swing bridges, hell no!

Did enjoy watching both zip-lines in use, the fast one I am sure you leave half your body on top while going down, definitely an out of body moment, even watching!

Glad you found this place as amazing as I found it, really a fun spot for adrenaline junkies @lizelle

First and last time on that bridge, I still get the creeps thinking about it! But it is a stunning and amazing place not so! Thank you so much for your valued feedback @joanstewart.

You have breathtaking photos here, @lizelle, but this is just a big fat NO! I might go into the little lookout house, but that is it :)

LOL @fitinfunfood! It is a stunningly beautiful place but those heights really are breathtaking, literally! First and last time on that bridge for me ;)
Thank you so much for your comments, great seeing you!

Yikes! Some big valleys and awesome suspension bridges there! I think I may have to visit South Africa then as a few steemians live there and keep inviting me.

Congratulations on the travelfeed feature!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations on your double feature in that issue! You really should visit SA one day, we have some spectacular places in our country. Thanks for stopping by!

Ah thanks a lot @lizelle! I know, there's a lot more than I initially thought in South Africa - not that I knew much about it in the first place haha!

Have you got a list of go to places you recommend or also written about?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @nickyhavey, South Africa is rich in natural beauty; I have written about the central Drakensberg, that's a must go to place (Northern and Southern Drakensberg as well). A couple of other places off the cuff are:

  • Blyde River Canyon
  • Kruger National Park
  • Cape Town is a must - Table Mountain, the beautiful winelands and many more attractions
  • Cango caves in Oudshoorn
  • Storms River Mouth is where the popular Otter Trail starts.
  • Coffee Bay and the Wild Coast
    Plus many many more places to go to ;)
    Hope you get to visit us one day!

Thanks for enlightening me a bit more about South Africa! Sounds like I will need to take a good two weeks road trip around the country - next year maybe. Hope to gather some funds together. I'll screenshot your response and put it in the "to do" list 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you get to visit SA some time and if Durban is on your agenda let me know as we run a little Airbnb called Lily's Cottage;)

Well I used airbnb a lot on my travels in Australia and NZ, life saver! So I will bare that in mind as well! There's quite a few South African steemians it seems 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks so spectacular - but NO WAY would I do that gorge swing! It looks quite majestic enough from the safe viewpoint. I might go and sit under Hanging Rock though, and I think I'd enjoy that scenic bridge!
I love your photos, especially the one of the man walking across the bridge, looking like a tiny dot. What an incredible place!

It is a truly amazing place, but those heights stay with one for a good couple of days! I think it was seeing those people jump, I could never ever do that! I'm sure you would love doing the hikes there @natubat! Thanks for your great feedback!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lizelle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-walking-suspension-bridges-at-oribi-gorge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so very much @c-squared!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #551 .

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Wow thank you @itchyfeetdonica, really appreciate this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51