My Wednesday (Night) Walk to a Happy Place

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)


Was supposed to be a berry picking walk but...girls decided against it

My #wednesdaywalk

It's a little late Jay, I know. Initially, we had planned on picking berries but the Princesses decided that since we picked a bunch on Monday, they didn't want to. Plus they were 'tired' from swimming and didn't want to walk the half mile over to the raspberry patches. So, instead, I went to a #happyplace after everyone went to bed, and began my own Wednesday (night) walk.

Started Interestingly Enough

As my doggie, Wenzday, and I, entered the park, we saw a deer. She gave chase immediately and scared it off.
But, just up around the bend, standing in the water, was another one I just barely caught glimpse of. If I hadn't had on my 'night cap', the reflective luminescent eyes would not have given her away in the foliage. Once she saw us and I was able to fumble around in a rush to snap a picture, three more revealed themselves behind us on the other side of the bridge. One of which, was an angry snorting buck. I don't think they were expecting us LOL!

Enter My #happyplace

Here ya go @robertandrew, hope you like one of my happy places! The first two I caught were eating size, between a pound and a half and two pounds. That's a 6" plastic frog hanging out of the second one's mouth in case you are wondering. Should give the fish more perspective as to the size. Fun catches, but not Wenzday sized...

Wenzday Sized?

Yes, Wenzday sized. The bigger fish, I throw back because they're breeding size. The smaller ones, when my doggie is with me, I give to her. Not entirely sure why, but she likes to eat the brains. JUST the brains. She had a couple snacks this evening as 2 of the 9 I caught were little. One, and I don't even know how it got it's mouth around the whole treble hook, was barely 8 inches.


The bullfrog rattle trap you see, (one of my birthday presents this year - just broke it in) is 4 inches, so you know how big that fish is. Not even a bass either, so the mouth was infinitely smaller. Even if I wanted to throw that one back, it's mouth was ruined and probably would have been eaten that night by a bigger fish that picked up on the wounded blood trail.

The BEAST

Well, reeling it in, it sure felt a lot bigger anyway. That's because it was what is called 'foul-hooked'. In many tournaments and even recognition of some records, if one of the hooks is not in the mouth of the fish, it is called a foul hook and will not count. When this one smashed at the top of the water, it hooked itself in the eye. Instead of the even flow of water over the body showing it's true weight, the snag in its eye caused it to drag with more friction through the water making it appear heavier than it was. Still a decent fish, and now blinded in one eye, I imagine she'll be teasing my line for years to come.

Earlier You Said 'Night Cap'?

Ah, yes, how about some #haturday to throw in the mix for my sweet Sassafrass! As part of my gift bag for my birthday, I got this killer camo cap with high beams on it, perfect for my late night, lakeside excursions.


I believe that, as they say, is that. I hope you enjoyed my Wednesday (Night) Walk and anyone out there reading this that did a #wednesdaywalk post they want me to read, please leave a link in the comments below. STeeM oN my peoples!


CLICK HERE TO VOTE ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS
JEREMY WADE


DQmYGeUdDTwuzUBDxvDdiAPxzbpA5i36RH4vzQiENpNA3k4.gif
@snook made this badass gif
@enginewitty #thealliance witness.png

Sort:  

Thanks for joining mate so cool you and Wenzday ( which is such a cool name) came across some deer 🦌

And night fishing must be so relaxing

Tip!

It is man. So quiet and the lack of most of your vision adds to the harmony of nature's chorus. Very relaxing man.

@enginewitty I bet I love that time of day either before or after sunset when it is so much quieter

Hm, something went wrong with the comment, but I think I`ve managed to send the tip ;)

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 8.77% upvote!
I was summoned by @enginewitty. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You have been defended with a 57.14% upvote!
I was summoned by @enginewitty.

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @enginewitty!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

YAY! I'm so glad you got out and went fishing. 💖💖💖

You know how much I love fishing :) Next time we get up, taking you.

night fishing... relaxing :) except when you're on the other end of a snorting buck. hehehehe they are MEAN!

LOL think I just scared the fire out of em because he took off in the other direction!

that's good. cuz if they're in rut. watch out! LOLOL

Nice man. Appreciate you using my Tag as well as the shoutout :) And a great #Happyplace you got there!

I liked how you used multiple tags. That's being creative right there ;)

Anytime man, will be on all my fishing posts :P

You really do have a hat for every occasion! Nice catch, the only thing with night fishing for me would be the staying awake - I'd no doubt just dose off!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

LOL! Have to bring some extra strong coffee then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64