Wednesday Walk: Australian Icon at the Roseville Golf Course. Original Photography.

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Early morning:
On the Roseville Golf Course.
In the light rain. All is still. Not a golfer in sight.
Slowly I inch ever closer to this proud Australian icon.
Is she is going to allow me to take her photograph ~ So close?
Voices. Buggies on the pathway. Kookaburra in flight.
And alas, this is all I have to share of her:
Magnificent presence.
~Ally.

Wednesday Walk initiated by @tattoodjay is a wonderful way to see those hidden gems in your 'ordinary' environment, and experience those unexpected magical moments when you can truly delight in your world. ~Ally.

On my #WednesdayWalk this week I'd like to introduce you to one of my secret sanctuaries at the Roseville Golf Course. It's a haven that I visit a few times a week, usually very early in the morning before the first golfers arrive.

Walking over the wide open and evergreen hills and dales with fairways lined in gum trees, this course is like having my own manor estate. And it's only a hop, skip and a jump away from where I live.

I'll take you on a much longer tour around my manor estate another time, but for now:

If you've never heard the merriest laughter in all the Universe ~ Gently tap on the heart of the Kookaburra in this photograph. The wonderful recording of a Kookaburra chorus was made by Sir Frederick White in the Australian National Botanic Gardens in Canberra.

BE SURE TO TURN UP THE VOLUME

Original.1000-2215.jpg

Kookaburra sits on the vacant seat.
MERRY MERRY QUEEN OF THE BUSH IS SHE.
Laugh Kookaburra. Laugh Kookaburra. Gay your life must be.

~With a slight variation of Marion Sinclair's famed Kookaburra song.


Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.

Hopefully next Wednesday I'll be able to take you along the 2 kilometre pathway that follows the spectacular high cliffs of Bondi Beach to Tamarama Bay, to view some of the 107 sculptures installed there for Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi.

After the Swim by Sue Corbet.

After the Swim was one of my favourite outside sculptures in the exhibition. It was installed on the beach at Tamarama Bay against the large sandstone boulders there. Such a wonderful backdrop for this work.

ORIGINAL.swimmers-2844.jpg

Shivering.
Wrapped in a beach towel.
After a wonderful swim in the ocean.
~Sue Corbet..


I hope you'll join me on my next #WednesdayWalk to see more of the fabulous work at this year's Sculpture by the Sea Bondi.


My Wednesday Walks.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

I had not heard the sound of a Kookaburra for many years so thanks for sharing that and what a coolstatue

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

It's always inspiring to share a Wednesday Walk with you Jay. I had a feeling that you'd love to hear a few raucous chords of the kookas. Was so happy to find the recording. Would be wonderful to take a walk through the Canberra Botanical Gardens again sometime.

I was slowly edging up to Madame Kookaburra and would have been able to take the most splendid statuesque photographs ~ But then the golfers came and she didn't want a bar of them.

Thanks ever so much for the tip too Jay. I've finally taken the time to see how to use @tipU's service and will be handing out my own tips now too. Love the gesture of tipping.

Another time, like when I've edited all the images, I'll share more about my private manor estate. It's an amazing space to be in. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.GC.png

Dang golfers getting in the way LOL

I love tipu especially if my voting power gets drained a bit

My voting power is almost negligible since I made use of some of my Steem recently. So to be able to use tipu at the moment is GREAT.

And those dang golfers ~ What right do they think they have, coming onto my manor estate so early? Live and learn. Most of the time they are really friendly ~ But the odd one can become quite gruff with a 'mere walker.' But that's another tale. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes I have had times like that and give out a lot of tips for Wednesday walk

Golfers just have no respect its almost as they think they have a right to be oin the Golf Course lOL

What goes round, comes round. So 'they' say. Which is often the way it is within some of the Steemit communities. It may not be all that much but it's the gesture that we feel that really count. It's great to be on the receiving end but also feels wonderful to be giving.

That's SO right ~ Not all ~ But just the odd one. So, I've been doing a little 'searching' and (although I still have to find conclusive evidence) I'm pretty sure that the Golf Course doesn't own all the actual land that the course is on. Which would mean that residents have every right to be there ~ Even during golfing hours. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thats interesting about the golf course I didnt know there were some that actually had parts that are public property, either way you should keep enjoying it :)

Hello @allyinspirit, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I'm so pleased this article appealed to the @creativecrypto magazine.

Wonderful to cross paths with you and to see the work you are doing too. I've just installed the Steempress plugin as a result of having read your article: Steempress: Facilitation the Content Economy on the Blockchain. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.Kook.png

Congratulations @allyinspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My trip in June, I visited Australia, specifically Brisbane.

I'm enchanted, I will definitely come back to see more.

We had a change to Fiji. Our stay in Brisbane lasted only 12 hours. We used a few hours for a trip instead of sitting at the airport;)

A romantic bench in a lovely park;)

Greetings my friend :)

I'm so pleased you had the chance to come to Oz ~ Even if it was incredibly brief Margaret. Heaps better than hanging about at an airport. Maybe you can come to Sydney next time? It would be wonderful to catch up with you.

I've been super busy the last few days working out how to integrate Steemit with firstly my WordPress blog and now my IG account. A bit perplexing for this non-techno, but small inroads are being made slowly.

I saw your latest photographs this morning ~ So BEAUTIFUL. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.Kook.png

What a wonderful walk with you! That song brings up so many memories of singing with my kids when they were small!

Thanks so much Melinda. Isn't it wonderful that the joy of singing:

Kookaburra sites on the old gum tree
Merry merry king of the bush is he
Laugh Kookaburra. Laugh Kookaburra. Gay your life must be.

Still lives within us? The Kookaburra song was one of the earliest songs I remember from my own childhood. We used to sing it in rounds. Loved it.

There are far more kookaburras around where I live now because there's bush close by. They often come into our backyard in the morning. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.Kook.png

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree eating all the gumdrops he can see. Stop kookaburra Stop kookaburra, save some there for me

Did you do that verse? My favorite was the one we sang about the monkeys!

Life was very simple when I was a child and as far as I can remember we only sang the first verse ~ But over and over and over ~ Hundreds of times.

When I looked up the original song I was surprised to see that it actually had so many verses. The words were vaguely familiar so at one time I must have heard them.

Funny now that you mention the monkeys. Again that verse is so vague but the reminder about it made me recall the love we had for the scampering monkeys. We only saw them at the zoo, but I remember now how much I loved watching them ~ And the big slowly swaggering baboons. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Kookaburra sitting in the old gum tree counting all the monkeys he can see, stop kookaburra stop kookaburra that's not a monkey that's me! And then we would laugh and laugh.

I don't think I had any idea what a kookaburra was when I was a child. I was picturing some wizened little old man, I think. He was the one in the old gum tree!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=allyinspirit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-australian-icon-at-the-roseville-golf-course-original-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much @steemitworldmap.

Next time I see Madame Kookaburra I'll tell her that she's on the Steemit World Map. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.Kook.png

It's wonderful to feel your quiet presence Daniel. Hope you enjoyed hearing the raucous refrains of all the Kookaburras.

@irreverent-dan ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.Kook.png

I enjoyed the kookaburra's song... as I did the kids out of the water sculpture! As always... Sorry, I'm finding this a lil late...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65