Life out of comfort zone teach you who you are. Agree?

in #watercolor7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!
I just learned about Steemit and actually really excited to share my story here.
I am Ukrainian by nationality, SM manager by profession, artist by passion and traveler by living.

Being a kid of 19 years old, I was determined to find happiness in a career, which I was furiously perusing in Kiev, capital of Ukraine. After 3 years of hard work and achievements, I realized that the recipe of my happiness was not in a manager position but outside of social norms and actually far away from Ukraine.
This is when my life changed completely. I left career, flat in the center, stable salary and moved to my first ever unplanned unpredictable and overall irrational future.
After that…
I lived on the greenest Greek island Corfu, moved to Thailand for 5 months but ended up living there 3 years, just "forgot" to take a plane back. I volunteered in ecological guest-house and lived in tiny hut with no doors (but chickens inside), was left with no money but with dengue fever on the hippie island, was adopted by a Thai family of 8 people and lived 4 months with them in a rural house.
I hitchhiked through the whole country of Thailand and got into yoga retreat in the middle of nowhere. I spent 3 weeks on a meditation retreat with Buddhist monks and met artists there from all over the world. I lived in a yoga community and was bitten by street dogs. I volunteered in a social responsible company which helped hilltribes to be self-sustainable.
I fired up with crossfit and got into tantra workshops. I danced salsa at the bottom of the waterfall in Laos and didn’t sleep nights at bachata festival in Malaysia. I was exhibited in Vietnam. I was amazed by mystery of Angkor Watt in Cambodia, painted in rice fields of Bali, walked my feet off in Singapore and got gallons of bubble tea in Hong Kong.
All that is THE way that brought me to who I really am and what I want to do.
Art.
This is how my little project TravelArt was born. I travel the world and paint my adventures along the way. I started hosting watercolor workshops in cities I travel to, such as Chiang Mai or Da Nang, I was also exhibited in art gallery along the way.
Meanwhile for those who can't join my workshops I record online courses and teach watercolor remotely. And the final jump was designing, painting and producing my own sketchbooks for artists...well for everyone who likes to draw or write.
NA.png
(this is one of the kids from the Thai family who invited me to live with them. Her name is Na and she is THE BEST)

лаос обе картны.png
(I used to travel to Laos quite often for a Thai Visa, these are my favorite buildings: remains of French colony)

15073562_1450232104991420_465059505339863368_n.jpg
(Have you ever been to Kuala Lumpur? Then you will recognize the Twin Towers ;) )

р.jpg
(I absolutely love Bali! How can you NOT fall in love with such a beauty? I could spend days in those rice fields!)

IMG_2509.png
(I just paint food at night when hungry)

cambodia.png
(I saw this kid in Cambodia in a forest. She was the only one who didn't ask for for "1 dolla")

IMG_7743.jpg
(This the Handmade Sketchbook that I designed and created myself. I painted this Dreamy Girl on the cover)

Well there are thousands of other artworks from my trips. And many crazy adventures.
Hope you liked this one ;)
I truly believe people can change. And mostly they do when they are forced to live out of comfort zone and try something they are not used to. I did it. I learned it hard way. And not THIS is my comfort zone ;)

PS Meanwhile I can share with you a story how I was adopted by a Thai family.....

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @travelart :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

yeah..some stuff that happened to me was really "educating" but I don't want to repeat lol

What an adventure! You really just went for it. That's so inspiring. Gorgeous art. It's hard to pick a favorite! Welcome to steemit :)

yay!! thank you very much ;))) I have more here: http://www.yanatravelart.com/
and some adventures on Instagram

I will check them out. Your paintings are amazing! I've no instagram though sorry :)

Welcome to Steemit, @travelart!

Happy to see you took the plunge! Looking forward to many art posts. And of course how you were adopted by a Thai family 😉

I'm new myself too. Been checking out all the cool content that's been published here, over the course of the last week. So much! If you haven't already, I recommend you do the same. Looking forward to interacting and posting a lot of cool, valuable stuff here.

I will be posting my 'IntroduceYourself' post shortly. Just waiting for my vid from bad ass biker Big Mike…(really excited!).

Hope you’ll have a lot of fun here!

yay! thanks so much ;) Waiting forward for your into post and of course Big Mike presentation ahaha
Keep in touch!

You are very talented!
I'm glad you found your way and passion.

than you! that was the "hard way" to find out I should stick to my passion.. and treat it more seriously than just a hobby.. Will see where this will lead me to

Great intro post. Thank you :)

Welcome to Steem @travelart I have sent you a tip

yay! thanks :)

Beautiful work @travelart and welcome to Steemit! Consider editing your tags to include introduceyourself and you will get some good attention. I'll resteem also.

oh thanks! I am not very familiar with the system here, thank you for advice!

Hi there @travelart, what a coincidence finding people here on Steemit that put the same footprints on different places alike. My wife @yurodidit and myself are also world travelers doing a lot of visa runs before, to stay in Thailand. We were in the same places(maybe on the same time..)? I'm also writing about leaving your comfort zone and that's the best move I've ever made in my life..sustaining it, is another story but until now we've made it so far. Don't tell me now that you are also living in Cambodia and trying to set up a new business, like we do ;) Check out my blog and you'll see we have a lot in common ... Ciao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61