A rainy #sublimesunday at Toad Hall. Things bought at Plant sale, Grey Sky chicken viewing, and a walk to the Summer Studio

in #walkwithme6 years ago

It's a rainy Sunday here, but my cukes are growing and happy.

may20cuke.jpg

No, this is not inside a greenhouse, but the ledge in the kitchen. These are my cukes started in February during our wretched Winter storms and power outages. I just needed some green in the house, so I started them really way too early. They are now making fruit produced by myself as the bee with old paintbrush and patience pollinating the blooms.

No this is not a bed of zinnia's outside my window.

may20zinnia2.jpg

It is more flowers started in February and they are happily growing along. And look at the colour on this first bloom to open. They will get to move outdoors to my new border probably this week, depending on our weather.
may20zinnia.jpg

My tomatoes are also beginning to really rocket upwards. They are filling with bloom.
may20toms.jpg

They are watching over my pergola project I shared before which is still waiting for it's white stain, but we can't seem to get two days of sun together. As soon as the wood dries and I think, "I can get to staining that now!" The skies open up and more rain.

Honestly, though, I am not complaining. One of my favourite seasons in Spring and it is always far to quick. And often we here on my little bit of coastal New England have very short Springs. We go from Winter to Warm Summer almost over night, but not this year. My reward for the horrid Winter is a prolonged Spring. I love days of rain and grey it's still fine for gardening and the plants love it. And what better weather to sit in one's studio dreaming away imagining new worlds to sketch.

Speaking of sketching I cut my finger two days ago and it has impeded me a bit.

It wasn't a serious cut, but it was on the knuckle of my forefinger so it is awkward and needed bandages to keep it straight. I did manage to sketch yesterday though, and will share more about that sketch tomorrow. But, here it is a bit with my sad bandaged finger.
may19robotsketchfinger.jpg

You can see a little green seed packet peeking out behind my random pages there, as gardening is my carrot on a stick to finish my work in the Spring. This was some cilantro that was my reward if I managed a sketch with my wonky finger I could go plant those in my new little pop up plastic green house in my veg garden, I'll post about that maybe next #sublime Sunday.

Now, back to plants and rainy days:
may20yellowflowers.jpg
Yesterday I went with my MIL and SIL to our annual wildflower plant sale at the Thorton Burgess House and Jam Kitchen Here you see the front elevation of the house from their little wildflower garden.

It was a grey rainy day again, but the yellow flowers were like beacons in the grey haze of a rainy Saturday outing.

Here is the side elevation and it's typical of the type of buildings on the Cape: Old colonials or Cape Cod style houses with rooms and additions added over generations covered in graying weathered cedar shingles and an icing of white railings and porticoes.
may20thortonburgesshouse.jpg
The little garden had but a few things flowering, as this long Spring has slowed down the growth of flowers, but the lush verdant landscape is lovely. Yet, there were shots of colour, like the blue of forget me not or the pink of Geranium maculatum. may20forgetmenots.jpg

We actually arrived a bit late and I couldn't believe it almost all the tables of plants were empty! I guess everyone showed up in droves at 9 when it opened and cleaned them out. It was probably the threat of rain. I was dissapointed as they always have a great collection of native ferns and I wanted to get them for my fern garden and my little rental cottage dubed "Fern Cottage" as I am obsessed with ferns.

I was still able to get a few things, including a large tub of mystery daylilies (in the green rose pot people dig up their extra plants for this sale and use any old leftover pots they have). may20plantsincar.jpg

I have so many orange daylilies, but this was a fun find as the lady said, "We haven't a clue what colour they are but the donater wrote on the tag "Not Orange". And as it was the end of the sale I got them for only $2 and daylilies give and give. I'll probably have 5 times this amount in a a couple years.

I was very excited to see this little tag write out however!
may20bluebells.jpg

English Bluebells! Oh glory. Of course they have already flowered, but I was able to get the last three pots of these for $1 a piece. I love English bluebells and have been fantisizing about wanting to make a carpet of English Bluebells here at Toad Hall. They will naturalize nicely and make me think of my beloved Blighty when I am here in the USA.

As I said, it is a rain sort of #sublimesunday here. The sky is grey the sea is grey but flowers are strating to burst in shrub and trees.
may20sea.jpg

I thought I'd share a quick little video of me taking the long walk to the Summer Studio.

It is currently a work in progress, being a very old boat house here on the property, but we recently had the front re-clad in new siding and some trim began. The large open door that used to slide open to admit two large 30+ foot sailboats has been sealed shut (the boats having been sold) and this will be my Summer studio.

However, we sadly lost our handyman mid project, so it's in a bit of stasis. I will still be taking advantage of it this Summer, but on a cool Spring day like today, it's good for a visit, but I'm happily in my small studio in the house now. You can hear the wind and waves as I walk I believe.

And, as it is part of my Sunday, and really part of every day, why not a video I took this morning of my little clutch of chickens. They don't mind the early morning rain and are happily scratching in their wet chicken yard.

I hope you all have a lovely and #sublimesunday and a great #walkwithme day as well.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

Honestly I adore your posts, I wish that I had time to read every one because you make them so wonderfully comprehensive with so many pictures and so much information.

A long time ago I did a post where I questioned what Steemit considered good posts, because I was really struggling to work out what exactly good content people would enjoy was. My long time friend, and the person who brought me here @old-guy-photos replied make your posts like the content you enjoy - and it made sense. While I have done my best to do that, I will never be able to make something quite as special as this even though I adore it with all my heart.

You share so much about you in this single post, wonderful pictures and an in-depth story it's like learning about your life - what you do and what you enjoy. And when I asked what does Steemit consider great posts, you know I think this should be a perfect example.

I would really love to keep complimenting this post, but I have so much to do it's just not possible. You are however an excellent example of what drives this blockchain based blogging site forward, and I really can not wait to see what you will share with us next.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

What a lovely and wonderful compliment. I am so grateful you find my silly little posts a good read. I honestly do enjoy sharing my simply joys with Steemit and it is so nice to be on a platform with others who love to share. I often find such really good content and some amazing articles on here as well.

Thank you again for stopping by and checking out my post @c0ff33a

Beautiful house, looks like it has a story to tell.

The house you see pictured, the white one, is not mine. I wish. It is the thorton burgess house on the Cape that I visited to buy plants. IT was the house of the man who made peter cottontail. Our house, Toad Hall as it is lovingly referred to, is a rambling odd singlestory affair of fading wood and glass. It does have a story to tell, but a very different one to the Thorton Burgess house :)

Ha ha, love it, big homes are usually just more problems.

Very lovely house, filled with beautiful greenery, though i bet it requires a lot of care and maintenance too. Still, I think it’s worth it because you are good at gardening.

Hopefully your finger will heal soon as well.

-upvoted-

Thank you, though the house is so in need of love and repair, but we just focus on little bits and ignore the rest until we can look to it or afford it. it's just the best way to go about it I think.

Also, to clarify, the white house is not mine. That was the house I was visiting for a plant sale, the sea side views are from my house and the walk to the summer studio is at my house, as well as the plants in the window. I wish Toad Hall looked like the Thorton Burgess house, but alas, it does not. However what we lack in house lovliness, we make up for in view :) And our garden is a jungle! I am slowly carving out little bits to make orderly and pretty, but it will take years to get it done, if a garden is ever done :)

Oh, I see! But your house is really lovely too since it’s filled with plants and flowers. I wish I could remember to water my plants daily, but I don’t and they usually die after a month or so. I have an anti green thumb lol. Maybe that’s why I really like drawing flowers in my art, they can’t die there :).

Most people don't realize you can get away with watering about once a week, which is actually all most house plants need, over watering can also kill them.

You should get succulents they love to dry out and be ignored, but they do need a sunny window.

Hmm yeah, I've bought cacti before because they're supposed to be durable but I managed to kill them, twice. I also tried with terrariums, they said it only needs to be misted every other week or so, but they also died somehow.

Eventually I will try again because plants are so lively and make the house feel alive, but it's quite demoralising to fail again and again ^^;.

I share your passion for gardening and picking up plants at garage sales. What fun!

You have a very beautiful garden area! I can tell you enjoy flowering plants. Do you have any food growing?

I do. I've actually made a new smaller veg garden this year on the sea side of the house, its 8 x 20 feet. It has beds and a tiny greenhouse. I've salads and will be planting some small fruit trees on the wall as espalier and some soft fruits (blueberries, raspberries etc) around the edge. I also do herbs in pots and mixed in with my herbaceous borders, because they look pretty but I can still snip oregano, thyme, dill etc out of them without destroying the 'look' of the thing. Do you grow veg/flowers?

Wow that's awesome! Sounds like you got an array of different ornamentals and food.

I mostly just grow food starting to get into the ornamentals. A lot of annual vegetables and I like to start food Forest.

I love the idea of food forest.

Omg I love it, but sorry to hear about your injury!

Horray for bluebells! So glad you scored those, and love the forget me nots, I'll always remember what those are now...sooooo cute!!

I loved the videos, that's one beautiful walk to your studio, and the little chicken with the afro hehehe!! And your beautiful feather footed roos!! <3 <3 <3 What a swell walk, and a stellar post!!!

Our silly little white polish. I have actually decided, probably foolishly, to let one of my broody hens sit on the polish's eggs. As our roos are both purebred self-blue (lavender) cochin bantams, The polish eggs will be half that half polish. The funny thing will be that the gene in the self blue only affects dark plumage not white, so we shall see what sort of funny feather legged top hat babies we shall get.

I can't help but let at least one hen do her duty and hatch out some babies. I mean, what is a Summer in the Country without a little trail of chicks following a mother hen about, right?

The walk to the Summer studio is called 'the long walk' and used to be more kept up, as did most of Toad Hall, back when the ancestors had deeper pockets then we are privy too. But, this Winter (before the snows) @winstonalden used his Christmas gift of an electric hedge trimmer to hack his way through there. Now I will have to hand mow it to keep it open this SUmmer, but this is one of the places I want to naturalize bluebells. And I also plan on making a box hedge (slowly with cuttings of some other box) on the ocean side of the walk so it will be a solid green wall starting low then some day reaching up higher as you approach the boat house with 'windows' cut into it. I mean it'll take years, but that's what gardening is, dreaming, doing, and waiting. :)

YAY for broody Mama!! Awww, I will be waiting and watching for the little Polish babies to hatch!! <3 <3 <3

You are one highly motivated woman Donna...what sign are you??

Me too! I also am trying some quail eggs under her again, we'll see, last time she pecked them open.

Oooh bad mommy! Bad mommy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66