You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A rainy #sublimesunday at Toad Hall. Things bought at Plant sale, Grey Sky chicken viewing, and a walk to the Summer Studio

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Omg I love it, but sorry to hear about your injury!

Horray for bluebells! So glad you scored those, and love the forget me nots, I'll always remember what those are now...sooooo cute!!

I loved the videos, that's one beautiful walk to your studio, and the little chicken with the afro hehehe!! And your beautiful feather footed roos!! <3 <3 <3 What a swell walk, and a stellar post!!!

Sort:  

Our silly little white polish. I have actually decided, probably foolishly, to let one of my broody hens sit on the polish's eggs. As our roos are both purebred self-blue (lavender) cochin bantams, The polish eggs will be half that half polish. The funny thing will be that the gene in the self blue only affects dark plumage not white, so we shall see what sort of funny feather legged top hat babies we shall get.

I can't help but let at least one hen do her duty and hatch out some babies. I mean, what is a Summer in the Country without a little trail of chicks following a mother hen about, right?

The walk to the Summer studio is called 'the long walk' and used to be more kept up, as did most of Toad Hall, back when the ancestors had deeper pockets then we are privy too. But, this Winter (before the snows) @winstonalden used his Christmas gift of an electric hedge trimmer to hack his way through there. Now I will have to hand mow it to keep it open this SUmmer, but this is one of the places I want to naturalize bluebells. And I also plan on making a box hedge (slowly with cuttings of some other box) on the ocean side of the walk so it will be a solid green wall starting low then some day reaching up higher as you approach the boat house with 'windows' cut into it. I mean it'll take years, but that's what gardening is, dreaming, doing, and waiting. :)

YAY for broody Mama!! Awww, I will be waiting and watching for the little Polish babies to hatch!! <3 <3 <3

You are one highly motivated woman Donna...what sign are you??

Me too! I also am trying some quail eggs under her again, we'll see, last time she pecked them open.

Oooh bad mommy! Bad mommy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63