Hey Steemit - I'd like to take you to Funky Town! (Video)

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit,

I've shared a few of my DJ mixes in the past here with you fine Steemians - but I'm not sure that I've ever shared a video showing what I do during my DJ performances. I started 17+ years ago on Two Turntables & Microphone, upgraded years later to CDJs, and then transitioned into the Live PA/Midi community a few years back.

Discovering a host of new buttons to play with on this setup - I'm no longer content standing around waiting for anything to happen musically on the track - now its all about making Live music while mixing DJ tracks.

So here's me messing around at home last year. I was playing a 'Metric' track called 'Terminus', when I switched over from Traktor (DJ software) to Maschine (Live PA) and started jamming along.

Posting on the heels of my set this pending weekend, the first booking I've accepted in over a year. Admittedly part of me is nervous to play again after proclaiming DJ retirement a year ago, and part of me realizes that after 17 years in the biz - I can still mix any genre by ear, on any device. I also have 2 kick ass sets prepared that have not been played out in front of people before - so it should be fine. I'll certainly be blogging about it upon return.

But until then.. here's GiftedGaia's other alias... DJ PHI... in his element. Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

BUTTONS!

Really well done dude ! Chaos pad performances are always awesome , this one is no different , really awesome !!!

I used to have a KP3 and miss it dearly. That very well be the next (re)addition to this setup. Cheers!

Love this man. Never actually thought about the behind the music man. Really cool. If you can manager to snag some shots from the weekend would love to see them!

oh.. I'll have an entire Blog post about this weekend.. its gonna be a hoot!

Proof that you don't have to just press play and sit back watching the space cadets go wild!

nice! car-worthy dnb. see you are on point on the pads too. (thumbup)

Thanks man! If you like DnB - then you and I are going to get along FABULOUSLY. I also have about 15 years worth of my DnB DJ mixes listed here, if interested:

https://www.mixcloud.com/JasonDeal/

Cool! I'll check it out when the mood is right. saved you @mixcloud.
Yeah, I like a broad genre of music. I enjoyed hobby dj'ing also. Midi setup.

I produce aswell, but its kinda random genre experiments. Could try to post some dnb experiment if you would like to hear.

I like to hear DnB experiments. :)

Hey...make sure you post this in your room in the new server. We are going to broad launch on Friday and want some content in all the rooms if we can beforehand. :)

I didn't write the track playing in the back - should I post in there ya think?

You are manipulating sounds, it's pertinent to the topic on a promotional level, so I say yes, imo. I mean...for example...if someone only makes "original music" using "samples" then are they really making something original or just rearranging samples? IDK. I think it's pertinent. If you don't, hell, you're the mod in there.

Straight jamming man!

Nice, sounding really good man!

That was sick!

Glad you enjoyed!

Resteemed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49