Life in a Hyper-Inflating Economy: An Interview with Venezuelan Steemian @rivendels

in #venezuela7 years ago (edited)

All SBD from this post will be transferred directly to @rivendels. As you will read in her story, your 100 percent upvote could make a big difference in her life in a very practical way.

andry2.png


Just after the latest Steemit hardfork, I read a post asking Steemians to visit #retovenezuela to show some support. I found several introduceyourself posts from Venezuelans and since my upvote had gone from 20 or 30 cents to a few bucks overnight, I was feeling like I could actually give someone an encouraging boost.

I decided to go back every day to upvote at least one post on that thread. Then I thought, rather than spread my vote out between a lot of people, perhaps I could have a greater impact by following and supporting one person in particular. A daily 100 percent upvote worth US$1 could potentially increase a Venezuelan’s income by as much as 50 percent.

After searching through the feed, I felt compelled to follow @rivendels. I guess it was her bright face and optimistic attitude that caught my attention. So with the help of Google Translate, we began connecting and commenting on one another’s posts.

In my latest Australian property market update, I was complaining about the degree to which home prices have inflated relative to people’s incomes and how unaffordable housing has become in Australia.

@rivendels stopped by to comment and offer a little perspective. She explained how she had started building a house in Venezuela in 2014, but because of excessive inflation, she had to stop building to focus on survival. She explained how her income in real terms has fallen by about 97 percent in three years.

andry-comment.png

It goes without saying, her comment made our economic problems here in Australia look like a walk in the park.

I wanted to know more of her story and what life is like for people in Venezuela. I also felt that others could benefit from hearing her story.

I hope that you will be inspired by this interview to not only show @rivendels your support by upvoting this post and following her, but perhaps also even find another Venezuelan Steemian to follow and support yourself.

In case you’re unaware of exactly what’s going on in Venezuela, here's a short helpful video:


An Interview with @rivendels:

How would you describe life in Venezuela, before the economic problems?


Well, life before these economic problems… I think it was normal. You could go to the supermarket and easily find many different brands of foods. There was plenty of variety to buy.


Crime was only in certain communities declared red areas, but they were few. For example, on the island where I live, there were only two communities of this type.

We had national products and imported products, and at affordable prices. In my house, I could do the market shopping for the whole month, and we were a family of five people. I had money to go to the cinema, to go out with my friends, to study, and to pay for a taxi if necessary.

How would you describe life in Venezuela now, and how has life changed for you personally over the past few years?


Life in Venezuela is full of anguish! The life of the Venezuelan has become like a type of torture.

We now have a shortage of staple foods. Public transport is very poor, and very few are operating. The supply of spare parts, tires and batteries is almost zero. Used tires are bought at a high price and they can take days to find. This creates chaos in the mobilization of people and increases risks of traffic accidents.

My own car has been paralyzed for the last two years. There is no money available to repair it and even if I had the money, I wouldn’t be able to find the spare parts.

Political anger and intolerance is generating a lot of irritability and violence in people. I've seen people fight over a kilo of rice. In other places, people are being murdered and their food stolen.

We no longer have basic medicines. Public hospitals and private clinics lack the drugs to treat their many patients.

We have very little clean drinking water and electricity is very low voltage. This is damaging appliances and our telephones often fail due to a lack of maintenance on the lines.

Feelings of insecurity have increased to incredible levels.

And the list would be endless...

For me personally, my life has gone from stable to chaotic. I considered myself economically to be upper middle-class.

In 2010, I began to pursue a career in foreign trade, working for a successful import company. By the end of 2014, due to economic circumstances, the company had reduced its staff of almost 300 people to a basic team of 17 employees. They only kept managers, administrators and warehouse staff.

Like all young people, prior to this chaos, imagination flowed and optimism filled me. I was learning and maintaining my quality of life and economic independence through my own salary. I had a more or less adequate economic situation. But it lasted for only a short time.

Unfortunately, the government insists on taking over private companies and this has had terrible consequences.

For two years I was looking for work, and because of my experience and schooling, no one would hire me. They said, "You have a very good resume and experience, but we cannot pay someone like you; we’re looking for someone unprofessional."

Finally, in February 2017, I was able to get a new job. I entered my specialty, in the position of Import Analyst. I had to accept a minimum wage, consistent with people without experience or a university degree.

My job is full of challenges and demands. The dedication is permanent, even after I arrive home I have work to do: paperwork, foreign exchange, customs contracts. There is excessive corruption in the government to specify the permits and procedures. It is exhausting and stressful, but necessity compels me.

Many days there is no time for lunch. The environmental conditions of work are terrible: poor lighting, no bathrooms in the company (we must go to another building), and no air conditioning.

I work in this job because I need money to buy food and basic necessities. Even though I dedicate over twelve hours per day to this company, I still do not earn enough to afford to eat well.

My fitness routine, recreation, travel and enjoyment with friends, and even the simple purchase of clothes and cosmetics, has been reduced to almost nothing. But I find inner strength from the values ​​my family taught me.

Five months ago, I arrived at work earlier than normal. The business was still closed and two men on a motorcycle robbed me. Using a pistol, they managed to strip me of my mobile phone and the little money I had.

I called the authorities to report the robbery. The policeman who received the complaint said, "Oh yeah, that's a band that operates in the area; last week they did the same to another girl." I’ve still not heard anything of the case.

What is the greatest economic challenge that you and your family are now facing?


We must withstand the mental and physical demands of work on a daily basis, to earn just a little money, getting paid once every fifteen days just to buy food and pay the expenses of our home, medical needs and transportation.

You can’t afford to get sick with even the simplest flu. Drugs are not available, and if you can find them, they’re only available at excessive prices.

In short, I think the biggest challenge is food. In the year 2015, we passed a serious food situation, especially where I live on an island where we do not raise livestock and we plant very little food.

We could not get food and the only thing that was available at an affordable price was sardines, an extremely cheap fish here. This has led the majority of the population to a huge weight loss. We spent about a month or two eating sardines in all the recipes we could invent.

For example, my husband is 1.71 meters (5’ 6”) tall and his weight was approximately 75 kilos (165 pounds). He has lost so much weight that he is now down to 63 kilos (138 pounds). He has lost an incredible amount of muscle mass. This is just a single example; imagine people who have less money than us.

How have the economic challenges impacted the amount of your personal income?


As I said, my payment I receive from work is not enough to cover basic needs.

In 2014, I started building a home, investing $4400 US Dollars, which was equivalent to 44,000Bs (Venezuelan bolívar). My monthly salary was 12,000Bs, which was equivalent to $1200 US Dollars. After the excessive inflation began, I could not continue to build my house.

At the time of writing this (07/28/2017): $4,400 US Dollars is equivalent to 43,062,800Bs.

My current monthly salary is 383,000Bs which is equal to $39.13 US Dollars.

Continue building my house? Impossible.

The economic impact on me, I can say without exaggerating has been devastating.

What do you do to remain optimistic and joyful amidst such difficult circumstances?


I wake up each day with faith in myself and in my family. Because the current situation of the country makes everyone have an irritable mood, I try to be optimistic and transmit that to others. By doing this I think I improve the environment of other people and myself.

Besides that, as I do not go to restaurants like before, nor travel, I spend time with family and close friends, having meals together or doing anything that makes our lives more enjoyable.

Are you hopeful about the future of your country? What do you think most needs to change to help the people of Venezuela?


I do not lose hope that this situation is temporary and will change for the better. The waters will return to their channel and these trials will become "experiences of life."

Venezuela has a lot of potential. We have natural wealth and honest and enterprising people. Political stability is necessary so that private, national and foreign investment will return. In my opinion, the labor supply, the national production of the countryside and the manufacturing industry would be reactivated.

We also need to organize the oil production again. The current government has not been accountable for oil production.

How did you first hear about Steemit?


I first heard about Steemit from my husband. He has a brother who has been studying cryptocurrencies for some time, who shared about it with him.

After I was told, at first I was a little doubtful because I knew almost nothing of cryptocurrencies. But after visiting Steemit, I was struck by the quality of the content. And so I started posting.

andry1.jpg

What do you typically post about?


I am currently posting cooking recipes, trips and messages of optimism to motivate the good spirit and hopes of colleagues who read my posts. This has become my daily practice for staying optimistic and improving the lives of others.

My hope is that the people of my country would set aside the problems of the crisis that we are living through.

What does it mean to you to have a platform like Steemit where you can be paid to share your thoughts with the world?


It's beautiful and new to me.

I was accustomed to posting on other social networks, but without financial compensation. On Steemit, everything changes.

I believe that this platform has challenged me to improve the quality of my content as I’ve been able to connect with great people and learn from their posts. This platform helps to create a mutual respect with others and a very beneficial reading exchange.

What do you hope to accomplish through Steemit, both personally and financially?


I hope to grow much more, both personally and intellectually. I force myself to review grammar rules and editing guides. I study technology. I reinforce my emotional motivation so that I can communicate with 100 percent effectiveness.

Financially, I hope to create good content that is deserving of an adequate reward. This could help me to overcome our financial deficit that we are currently experiencing.

In the short and medium term, I am investing in my intellectual potential on this platform, with the hope that in time this could provide a new form of income.

What’s the most important thing that you want people to know and understand about your country?


I want people to know that Venezuelans and the foreigners who decided to come and live in Venezuela are good people. They are enthusiastic, hard-working, creative, optimistic, and they are fighters.

Venezuela is a natural paradise with many underground resources.

We are going through a social, economic and political crisis that is the result of the bad practices of recent governments.

We must learn from this situation that “it is not a better government that gives more, but one that generates sources of employment, health, education and that teaches people to make a living with honest and responsible work, not with populism."

The young people are the fundamental support of the future and we are willing to fight to see a better Venezuela.

We have big hearts.


What did you find most impactful about @rivendels story?





Jason Staggers

Sort:  

Many thanks @jasonstaggers, for taking this great initiative to help Venezuela, and thank you for the help you have offered me. I hope we can overcome this great test that life has put us. And serve as an example for the rest of the world and thus prevent another people from going through these problems. Again, I appreciate the help of all who have participated, and have placed their grain of sand. greetings to all.

Stay strong @rivendels. I hope you can find great success on Steemit and overcome the difficulties you're facing.

"I am currently posting cooking recipes, trips and messages of optimism"

@Rivendels , let me be the first to suggest you blog more about current events in Venezuela. There is a lot of content of the type you mentioned, but not much quality content covering Venezuela. I think you could be very successful cataloging the current events. I would certainly follow you for updates. You could potentially produce more than your salary this way if diligent, perhaps much more.

Hi @lexiconical, thanks for your suggestion, it is well received. At first I thought about talking about Venezuela's problems. But I saw other Steemit users do it. And I restrained myself from doing the same. I am not a journalist, but I can try to publish the information of this crisis that we are presenting. I do not have much time, because of my work. But I will try to give my best. Thankful and regards. :)

Hola @rivendels! I have been hearing that more and more Venezuelens are turning to cryptocurrencies to alleviate the problems and suffering they are facing. Are you seeing or starting to see cryptocurrencies making a bid difference to people in your country?

Hello @leoplaw, that is the reality, I have seen many Venezuelan users in Steemit, and as I read in their post, they have helped a lot with this cryptocurrencie. I still can not say if it has made a difference in my life, because I have not changed STEEM to Bs. Bolivares. By my calculations at Steemit I have made the equivalent of almost 2 or 3 months of my current salary. When you make the change of currency, we will see the difference. It looks like a lot of money, but inflation is a serious problem. When @jasonstaggers made this post, the price of 1 $ USD = 9,787.79Bs and nowadays 1 $ USD = 12,197.74Bs. And my salary is still 383,000Bs. Now my salary is less dollars. And so it happens every day. Thanks for your comment. Greetings. :)

But are there products or services that you can purchase directly with cryptocurrencies? That way you will not lose out on exchanging for Bs. Bolivares.

There is nothing that directly accepts cryptocurrencies. So far the only way I know is to switch to Bolivares. And I learned it in Steemit.

Te sigo y me sigues

Thank you for taking the time and interest to know what is happening in Venezuela!
Unfortunately we are in a way invisibilized and disconnected from the world today, we live in an economic, social and political bubble, so what happens in my country "Venezuela" is very difficult to understand by anyone from another country.

It is admirable as STEEMIT users turn their eyes towards our country and seek to direct their publications to offer some kind of support!

It fills me with much pleasure and hope to see actions like those of @jasonstaggers not only to take the time and see publications of my country, but to get directly to the data and want to interview a person from Venezuela! And even more so to use its user to visualize this reality!

I am grateful to you, I hope you continue to support this noble cause!

Not that it's a lot, but your article has my full 100% vote Jason and I'm now following both you and @rivendels.

I'm really pleased to see that thanks to the encouragement from you and others like @lexiconical, this lady with such a beautiful heart and spirit is now writing from her personal observations of what's really happening in Venezuela.

Damn! This really is hard to read. It socks me how quickly their lives were turned upside down. The fact that just over $33 USD is a months pay is just not comprehensible to me.

I'm going to upvote everything she puts out, I hope others will do the same!

That is the story of a country that once was rich in oil, minerals and good lands. The deterioration was fleeting. Thank you very much for your support @dwhntx. That help you have given me, I will not forget. I hope this bad situation that we are going through is over and we can rebuild our country. A big greeting for you. :)

I truly believe you can earn significantly more money being here on steemit than the job you currently have. I hope you find this community to be a blessing to yourself and your family!

I know, it's crazy. Thanks so much for showing your support.

Nice interview, it is always helpful to have the view of someone actually going thought the different things that are happening in Venezuela. I am a Colombian, and as such I feel close to what is happening in their beautiful country. I hope they will see through this turmoil soon. Best wishes for you @rivendels.

Muchas gracias @jcgoez, Colombia es nuestro país hermano y que también esta sufriendo las consecuencias de la alta migración de venezolanos. Fue bueno saber hace unos días que Colombia se pronuncio a favor del pueblo venezolano y en contra de este gobierno nefasto de Nicolas Maduro.

Many thanks @jcgoez, Colombia is our brother country and also suffering the consequences of the high migration of Venezuelans. It was good to know a few days ago that Colombia was in favor of the Venezuelan people and against this nefarious government of Nicolas Maduro.

Good Morning @jasonstagger.
Welcome to know the news about the situation in Venezuela.
I congratulate you on this great work.
It is a perfect portrait of a situation that is repeated throughout Venezuela.
Examples such as @rivendels, give a clear idea of what young professionals live in this country.
She is full of hope and optimism.
But many other young people, have exhausted themselves and emigrated to other countries to perform trades as waiters, or waiters in restaurants. And start an uncertain life, away from your family.
Your kindness and interest in this interview is admirable.
And @rivendels' answers, are of a great person.
Thank you, and let the world know this situation.
I suggest to use tag Spanish, in the place of provenezuela (this is a user)

Gracias @armonia, la verdad que trato de permanecer en el país. Ojala no tenga que tomar la decisión de emigrar como han hecho tantos de mis amigos. Mi pensar es seguir luchando y no dejarme vencer. Saludos.

Thanks @armonia, the truth that I try to stay in the country. I hope I do not have to make the decision to emigrate as so many of my friends have done. My thinking is to keep fighting and not let myself win. Greetings.

Thanks for your kind comment and for the tag recommendation. @rivendels did a great job sharing her story.

Te sigo y me sigues.

What a great thing you are doing here.
Wish my vote was worth more! I went and upvoted some of her active blogs to make up for it.

Sometimes we get tied up in our daily routine and don't realize how great we have it.

Darryl

Many thanks @dadview, I really appreciate your support. I hope someday I can also help more people with my vote. Greetings. :)

That's great Darryl. Thanks mate. I wish my vote was worth more too. And so true about our tendency. It's helpful to gain a little perspective and remember that we have a lot to be thankful for.

IMO a major factor that caused these problems is foreign intervention, mainly through economic warfare with the intent to weaken the current administration because they can't maintain a environment that supports a decent basic life.
If we look for instance what they did to Iraq we see that more people where killed as a result of the sanctions then by the fighting itself

"The slaughter of 200,000 Iraqis by President Bush in his illegal 1991 first Gulf War.
The deaths of 1.4 million Iraqis as a result of the illegal 2003 war of aggression ordered by President Bush Jr. and Prime Minister Blair.
The deaths of 1.7 million Iraqis “as a direct result” of the genocidal sanctions."
source: http://www.globalresearch.ca/us-sponsored-genocide-against-iraq-1990-2012-killed-3-3-million-including-750000-children/5314461

And I remember Chavez's speeches he did regularly in which he exposed the crimes committed by the US/Israel/EU. That, together with not following orders to allow big corporations to loot the country and it's people. That's what they always try to facilitate and make some money in the process.

Great article and idea mate...good stuff!

Thanks mate. Appreciate your encouragement and support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64943.51
ETH 3514.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38