Announcement: Winners from Last Week's #veganwednesday Contest + Updates! Thank You For Entering! ๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ

in #veganwednesday โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Happy Sunday everyone, I am so thankful to you all for getting involved in my #veganwednesday challenge =D See the original post here for more!

I am so thrilled to have people from all over the world enter! This community is going to be so much fun and such an incredible way to learn and grow from one another. Through this contest, I have already connected with some wonderful people out there who have shared with me their personal food stories and we've inspired and encouraged each other in many ways. This is just the beginning <3

vegan.png

For our contest, I have been told some of the rules to the contest aren't crystal clear so let me start by verifying them:

vegandiet.png

VEGAN:

We seem to be having some difficulty around the label "vegan," let me clarify what vegan means:
Vegans do not eat or wear animal products. That means:

  • No meat
  • No seafood
  • No eggs
  • No milk
  • No butter
  • No cream
  • No ghee
  • No lard
  • No cheese
  • Nothing can come from an animal!

My rules state that you, yourself do not need to be vegan to enter this contest but your entry does have to be! So if it's a recipe please be sure to remember that animal products are not vegan! If you need help, feel free to comment and ask me!

What day can I enter?

  • Originally I had meant for this to be a Wednesday only challenge however, I think that we can extend it so that you can enter whatever day you want, but I will release the winners for the week on Wednesdays so the cutoff for the week will be Monday at 12UTC to give me time to go through them all. If you submit after that time, I will consider your entry for the following week!
    You get some extra time this week! Sound good? =D
    everyday.jfif

Please mention this contest in your post! I am trying to get a group together here with similar interests so the more people who can find us, the more we can grow, the more we can learn, the more we can love!

How to participate:

๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‰๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ
  • Post what vegan means to you! This could be anything from vegan approved recipes (no animal products) to poems, to reviews... basically I am looking for vegan related content at your discretion (must be animal friendly!)
  • Tag it within #veganwednesday (using your first tag will help me find it!) and I will go through them every week, choosing a winner and announcing them each week!
    If you do not tag it in #veganwednesday, sadly it can't count
    (I will have guest judges help me from time to time as well as we grow!)
  • Post your entry on each week's update (this post will serve as this week's, so post your submissions here!)
  • I will create a post announcing the winner each week along with any deserved mentions as to help foster a strong community bond for those of us who are trying to share our messages, love and inspiration with the world!
    Only positive posts will be considered. This isn't a war for animal rights or a call out to tell people how to live! It's a loving, caring, sharing invitation to get to know each other and support our community!
    healthy-eating.jpg

Alrighty, now that we've cleared things up, without further ado!

WINNERS WEEK 1:

+1st Prize: 5 SBD
@amy-goodrich
Veggie Lasagna W/ Cauliflower Sauce

Dear Amy, thank you so much for sharing your story with us here at #veganwednesday, I have been a supporter of you since we first met and I love that you've made such a caring entry into this community! I am a mega-fan-girl of people healing themselves and changing their lives through food so you had me there, then you made me fall even more in love with this amazing recipe! Thank you for taking part this week! You are incredible, I really appreciate the time and energy you put into this! Surely this is the kind of recipe to inspire people to give it a try! <3


Honorable Mentions:

(you'll all have a gift waiting in your wallets, thank you for participating!)


@rieki

Do our Human Lives Mimic Our Treatment of Other Lives
A lovely swim up close and personal with nature leaves @rieki contemplating his relationship to nature and the natural world as a whole. How does relating a on a human level affect how we relate to animals?


@crunchyvegangal

Discovering Myself Through Veganism
A new vegan Steemian in town, @crunchyvegangal takes us into her decision making process and shares her moral decision to change her diet!


@thekitchenfairy

Hungarian Apple Pie
This was made as a special request from her husband after a hospital visit! @thekitchenfairy veganised this favourite dish of his and he loved it!


@xyzashu

Shahid Kapoor= Vegan
This blog by @xyzashu expresses his opinion about how vegan can be seen as a trending word as given an example by the celebrity in his blog, creating a vegan app. This is a good reminder that vegan is not a buzzword for everyone, for some it's a lifestyle filled with many conscious choices!


@orcheva

Could I be Vegan?
Considering becoming vegan? That is what @orcheva does here!


@eco-alex

Falafel/Hummus Combo
A delicious double recipe entry to tickle your fancy! I tried the falafel and it was amazing, FYI!


@handofzara

Eggplant and Rice
Even though rushed for time, so no yummy pictures for us, @handofzara managed to put together this recipe for us- also while feeing the local deer population ;)


Thank you to all of this week's contributors! I am excited to see this movement grow! I hope that we can all connect through at least some common interest here, and that this community can grow and foster together! I encourage you all to connect with each other if you feel drawn to- let's make this group a loving, supportive, engaging community to call home!


vegan forks.jfif


I have a compelling urge to inspire and assist anyone who would like to improve their health!
I would love for you to experience the same incredible health benefits I have received from changing what I put into my body.
I hope this challenge inspires you to consider new options in your diets and serves to help us connect to each other! Please engage with me here in the comments, on steemit.chat or in Discord! I am so excited to launch this initiative and can't wait to meet new friends and see your posts!

XO,
๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‰๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ


eatmorerabbitfoodedit.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort: ย 

I really appreciate your approach to being vegan and want to support people like you.
I truly believe that being generally vegan is a healthier, more sustainable and honorable life style yet many vegans are so angry and judgmental it does not help the cause at all.

So I have chosen to make an entry to your contest and give you a shout out.

Keep up the great work. You can check out my post here if you like.

https://steemit.com/food/@quinneaker/vegan-super-food-chocolate-ice-cream-shake-get-your-delicious-and-nutritious-feast-on

SteemON!

AWWWW @quinneaker ๐Ÿ’œ I was traveling and as I told Alex, struggling to keep up! This is so amazing! You've melted my heart! Thank you for the support! This looks delicious! I can totally relate to your ingredient-struggle, I really don't like being confined to measurements and having to tell people how to regurgitate what I've just made, half the time I forget what I am doing and then can never share it in a step by step process even when it turns out unreal! I'm not a judgmental human in any respect, I just know the benefits I have seen in myself and if I can help others experience those same or similar or even better yet, better effects, I would be happy as can be! ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™โ˜€๏ธ

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh The fact that I "melted your heartfull heart" is better than winning this competition.

IN truth I entered not to win but to support you because I can feel your heart, your genuine loving self and I KNOW you are not judgmental nor are you trying to change/manipulate anyone. You are simply sharing what you feel is the best you have to offer and I respect that more than almost anything!

I like your content, I like your approach and I am happy to participate/support.

I am grateful to share with you and hope for much more of it here on Steemit.

โˆžยงโˆžEternalHeartFelt Blessingsโˆžยงโˆž

So excited to submit another contribution, again about my personal experience. My latest entry is here: https://steemit.com/veganwednesday/@crunchyvegangal/finding-a-sense-of-purpose-with-veganism

Thanks for participating again @crunchyvegangal, I can't wait! I loved your entry last week ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™

congratulations to winner....

They are all so amazing to have taken time to support this community! <3

yes all are amazing and very nice contest....

wow I love the idea but am used to those yummies you mentioned in the list . Have you been a vegan all your life? thanks for sharing

Haha well, at one point so was I but I have actively been working towards a healthier diet that my body approves of! I've not been vegan all of my life, I say all of the time how I used to be a carnivore and ate more meat than anyone else I knew haha but I had no idea that I was harming my body and that removing it from my diet would show me such drastic results which brings us to here =D

wow now I know your secret to everlasting life and why you look so awesome.
I want to be like you when I grow up!!!

I feel so honored to have a call-out here! Thank you so much, @heart-to-heart! I an so excited to meet new vegans through this competition!

I feel honoured that you shared your story with me (us!) <3 Thank you so much for getting involved, we would love to have you here. I have some more ideas up my sleeve coming soon to get us all connected more! <3 Thanks again! Hope you keep on hanging out with us! XO

Awwwwwwwwwwwww, this is amazing, @heart-to-heart, but I just found out now.............. UPV & RSD
This is a brand new recipes I posted couple hours ago, but I am not sure if you can include it in the contest. Please let me know DEAR. I was not able to make the tag to be first, but it is included ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‰https://steemit.com/vegan/@lenasveganliving/garden-spaghetti

Of course YOU CAN <3 I will be doing the judging next Wednesday, I'm currently traveling right now and am much behind on the Steemit-world. I have been missing you! <3 I made sure to get my fruits and veggies post out this week though! I added a little bit of an educational component to try to help some kiddies over to our side ;) Hope that's OK with you! <3

Yay

Thanks!!

Your welcome, I am so excited to see more recipes from you in the future @thekitchenfairy!

WOW! What a pleasant surprise! You have honoured and awarded all the entries to the contest. @heart-to-heart you are just amazing.

I just received 2 SBDs from you with a memo "login to see memo". I don't know what that means but I attribute it to this contest now ๐Ÿ˜Š

@xyzashu, I am happy to award everyone for their entries! I will be deciding how to award each week on a case by case basis and I hope we can continue this for many weeks to come <3 I'm not sure why the memo came out that way, I am traveling right now though so am juggling a lot, I might have pressed something wrong but I had written a message, hope it gets to you at some point =D

I love the idea..keep it up

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

congrats winners

Thanks so much, they certainly deserve it! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68436.55
ETH 3750.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66