Almas Pite (Hungarian Apple Pan Pie)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

My husband was hospitalized for a couple of days last week. As soon as he was discharged, he asked me to bake him almas pite, which is a type of pie in Hungary, and is usually baked rectangle shaped rather round shaped such as in North America.

I veganized his late grandma's recipe as she used to bake us this pie and my husband was pretty close to her. I guessed in a way or two he was missing his grandma.

Am glad it didn't disappoint him. In other word, success! 😉

1503496009707.jpg

Skin, makes 2:

Soak 1 tbsp ground flaxseed in 3 tbsp water, let stand for 5 mins

Meanwhile, heat 100 ml almond milk in microwave for 50 seconds (til lukewarm, not hot)

Dissolve 1 tbsp sugar into milk, then sprinkle 10 g active dry yeast, let stand 5 mins (til bloomed)

In a large bowl, mix and knead:

400 g flour
2 tbsp sugar
Flax egg
Yeast mixture
140 g vegan margarine
10 g vegetable shortening
Let rest, and prepare filling

Peel 1 kg apples and grate
Mix grated apples with 1 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 tsp lemon juice
3-5 tbsp sugar

Let's work on the skin now. Divide dough into two equal portions

Preheat oven 350 F

Line a rectangular pan with aluminum foil, set aside

Roll one portion of dough and lay it on prepared pan

Squeeze water of apple mixture and spread them evenly on the dough

Roll the other dough and lay it ontop of apple filling

Poke holes with a fork

Bake for 45 mins

Let cool to room temperature, slice and serve sprinkled with icing sugar (or without!).

1503496115869.jpg

1503496169062.jpg

Enjoy 😊

Sort:  

I love apple pie. Back when I was in college, my grandmother would invite me to her house every once in a while for dinner. After dinner she would pull out this enormous apple pie and we would have a piece. Then she would send the rest home with me. It is a special memory. Thanks for sharing this great looking recipe.

Nice memory! Seems almost majority have this pie-grandma memory. Growing up in Asia, none of my late grandmothers served us any pies. It wasn't common those days. We do have other sweets that grandmothers made for us tho 😊

I hope your husband is better now.

Looks like my Mom's apple pie, but her's nothing close vegan, including lard in the dough.

He is, thank you!!

Yeah, the Hungarians are the same, either butter/margarine, duck fat, or lard

Good.

Polak-Węgier dwa bratanki: i do bitki i do szklanki.
(Pole-Hungarian are like brothers: both for a fight and a glass). We may have more in common than we really think :)

Funny that you mentioned that! Our family name is not really common in Hungary but we found a lot families with the same last name from Poland 😁 But none of the family ancestors were Polish! So my husband (and his late grandparents) doesn't know how their family name is more common in Poland rather than in Hungary 😂

It may be a coincidence. Most of the peasants in villages were given a name when the clerks came to a village to give everyone a family name. That's how my family got the name.

Hmmm sounds delicious! Looks delicious too :D

Thanks 😊

What about in your country @playfulfoodie are there also pan pies? Rectangular shaped rather than round ?

I honestly haven't really heard of them a lot! The only regular rectangular shaped sweets I know are made a lot are brownies :-)

Aaah the Dutch and their (pot) brownies 😉

The Dutch have a good reputation huh! I wouldn't really know how true that is for the people from the busy west. I refuse to ever do drugs or even get drunk though :D

😂

I only know from movies 😉

Would love to go there someday. We have been there twice actually, but only at the airport 😅😅😅

Hi @thekitchenfairy! Thank you so much for entering #veganwednesday this week! This has been such a great first round! I love that you've taken an old recipe and veganized it! This is something that takes up about 75% of my life haha =D I am also happy to hear your hubby is doing well and that he liked your new take on this dish! I wish him the best with his recovery! <3 I hope you engage with the other people in the contest, I am really hoping we can foster a community here, supporting and encouraging each other!
I will be looking over the recipes this weekend and posting the winner or winners on Monday! Best of luck to you, this looks very yummy indeed! XO

I am slow in engaging with people in general, on steemit. I am only online when my youngest allows me (he is the owner of MY mobile phone😅😅😅). But I will get there for sure @heart-to-heart I do like interacting with fellow vegans and those who are interested in veganism 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66