Vegan Herby Cream Cheese - Delicious, Healthy and Guilt-Free

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Giving up cheese can be a tough endeavor and your cravings for a fresh cheesy spread might make the exciting journey towards a plant based lifestyle feel like a bumpy road instead. But don’t worry, you will be surprised how many crazy delicious alternatives there are to your favorite recipes without any animal suffering. And some are even easier to make than their traditional counterparts. 

Striving for natural foods - How this cheese recipe was born

Since not only the moral backgrounds and the taste are important criteria for my food choices, but also the health aspect of it, I always try to make the best out of a tasty recipe and adapt it to my standards. It has been a while since I made this cheese and this time I didn't want to use oil and salt anymore. I was pretty curious if it would still be as rich and creamy as we like our cheesy spreads, but the result was quite surprising. It is definitely a milder version, which now makes it possible to really recognize the different natural flavors of all the ingredients - slightly sweet cashews, savory onion and the refreshing taste of chives...

I am happy that I tried this variation now and not earlier since I could have found the subtle flavors boring back in those days, but my taste buds have changed a lot over the last year. Did you ever experience an increase in your taste sensitivity once you‘ve eliminated certain foods from your diet? Since turning to raw foods, this has changed profoundly for me and nowadays a simple apple can be a dance of flavors in my mouth - of course, a happy dance! 

Let's get cheesy - How to make your own cashew spread

Ever made cheese by yourself before? Probably not, since the process takes a lot of time and effort. But vegan cheese on the other hand is a piece of cake compared to that. So let’s get started, since you don’t want to miss this creamy deliciousness at your next breakfast. This goes onto your next grocery list: 

  • 1 cup cashews 
  • Juice of 1 lemon 
  • 4 tbsp fresh herbs (e.g. thyme, rosemary, chives, oregano, parsley, basil) 
  • 1 clove garlic 
  • 1 red onion

First, let the cashews soak in water over night, rinse and drain them afterwards. For the herbs you can also use dried ones, but keep in mind that you then might want to reduce the amount to maybe 2-3 tbsps. I chose chives, by the way, they give the cheese such a fresh taste. Now, put all ingredients into the blender and mix until you have a smooth consistency. You might have to add some water to get the blender going. 

Getting in shape - How you achieve a creamy consistency

Almost there, we just have to get our cheese into shape. Use a clean kitchen towel and let the mixture dive into it. To get rid of the excessive liquid in your cheese, take all ends of the towel together and press down the cheesy dough. If you have one, you can also use a nutbag for this, which makes it easier to press out the excessive fluid and the leftovers can still make a great salad dressing, which you can see on the picture below. 

In case you like your cream cheese a little softer, you might now want to take the mixture out of the towel and put it into a small bowl. For a firmer consistency, place the towel with the cheese into the strainer and the strainer onto a bowl so that the rest of the liquid can drip into it. You can easily cover the mixture with the towel’s ends. 

For the last step, put the bowl into your fridge and let your cheese enjoy the cold for 12 hours or over night. I wanted it to be smoother this time, therefore I took the cheese out of my nutbag before placing it in the fridge. Over night, it still became a lot firmer, but the smooth texture remained. 

Ready, set, enjoy! Get creative with your own cheese dishes

When you open your fridge in the morning, a creamy and savory herb cheese will await you. I used mine for little veggie sandwiches and as dip for my cucumber and carrot sticks. You could also spread it onto your raw flaxseed crackers, put it over your dinner salad as creamy topping or make little zucchini boats with it. 

What meal creation comes into your mind when thinking about cashew cream cheese? Hopefully this recipe will inspire you to go nuts with other creative vegan dishes, that you can munch on happily, without harming any animals or your own health. Enjoy making your own cheesy spread!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🗺 Time for some adventures - follow me around the world:    

🌟Let me inspire you to explore your full potential, with these lifestyle stories:  

---

This post is taking part in Steemit 'Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition' from @lenasveganliving .

Sort:  

It is a simple and tasty recipe, I lovee how you describe it. I wish you success in the contest. Cheers

Thank you so much, Allesia! Have a great start into the week 💚

Yum! I love using cashews for cheese, everyone is always so surprised by how good it tastes! (and how good it is for you!) The herb touch is just an extra dash of excellent! Yum!

Thanks a lot ☺️ So true, and this is just the most simple recipe for vegan cheese - the advanced ones are mind-blowing, nobody would miss any cheese from animals‘ milk with these 💚

Hi Anais, That's brilliant recipe sharing how to make cashew spread. It seems so delicious food for taste. I really like to taste them. How about taste loving friend?

Thank you so much! You should definitely try it - already an idea how you would enjoy your cream cheese? I am absolutely a cheese-as-salad-topping person 😁

Ha ha sound being awesome.

We would we do without cashews, they are so versatile,lol. This is such a delicious recipe and lovely presentation. Absolutely love it Sweetie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Cashews are magical, right? Not only in taste, but the texture can create so many amazing creamy meals - apart from savory cheeses, all the sweet treats made with cashews 💚

Thank you so much, Lena 😊

I have definitely also noticed a change in my tastebuds since trying to be whole food vegan. Eating birthday cake the other day felt like an assault on my tastebuds because I haven't had so much sugar in such a long time. I still haven't figured out the cashew cheese thing. This recipe seems much more detailed than other ones I've seen. Thanks for sharing!

I have no idea what my taste buds would make out of such a sugar-filled cake - they would probably explode after eating such a simple raw food diet for over a year now 😄

Making your own nut cheese is way easier than you might think and as you can see, you don't even need many fancy ingredients for it 😉 Let me know how it goes as soon as you give it a try.

Have a nice start into the week, Curtis!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-02T01:14:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 240.19/400.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your presentation is lovely as always! Definitely a fantastic "cheese" recipe, too. I'm always happy to find options without oil, and I am definitely trying to wean myself off of using too much salt these days, as well. I totally agree with your tastes changing. I can definitely tell a difference since going plant-based, especially with sugar!

Thank you so much! Oh yes, so many recipes sound just fantastic, are vegan, but still contain a lot of oil. But fortunately there are great natural sources for a creamy texture and a rich taste, like nuts.

Salt is definitely a difficult thing to give up, I can totally relate to that from my own story. I recently saw a sauce containing I think it was dehydrated and ground celery for giving the recipe a salty taste - such an innovative idea in my opinion. Just quite a mile to go for the little salt flavor 🙈 Sometimes I add algae like nori to my salads, they can have a salt-like taste 😉

So true - for me, it was a revelation to cut out sugar and especially fruits became so intensive in their sweet taste!

Have a great rest of the day 😊

YUM! Thanks for the inspiration 😀

Thank you, Lisa! 😊

Ich liebe auch den selbstgemachten Frisch"käse" aus Cashews oder anderen Nüssen. Ich plane immer noch mehr und andere Rezepte auszuprobieren, komme aber immer irgendwie nicht dazu ... Deine Variante sieht super aus!

Oh ja, ich komme auch meist immer zu meinen heißbeliebten Favoriten zurück - in letzter Zeit bin ich aber total bereit für was neues und experimentiere echt gerne 😊

Aber da muss man sich sicherlich etwas Zeit für einräumen, wenn mal was neues auf den Tisch kommen soll und oft soll es halt schnell gehen, stimmts? 😉 Mein liebstes Fast-food sind immer noch frische Früchte, ganz ohne Schnickschnack 💚

Hehe! Ja, diese tendenzielle Wettbewerbsatmosphäre hier verführt manchmal dazu, sich zu "verkünsteln", wenn du verstehst was ich meine. Man betrachtet jedes Essen unter dem fotografischen Blickwinkel obwohl oft die simplen Dinge die besten sind.

Das stimmt! Wen interessiert schon ein Teller voller Mangos, fix kleingeschnitten in unsymmetrischen Formen? 😁 Andererseits ist es auch echt mal nett, sich selbst so ein hübsches Mahl zu zaubern, das Auge ist ja auch mit 😉

I'm not a fan of dairy cream cheese but I would definitely gobble yours up! The flavor of the chives permeating through each bite sounds delicious!

Thank you! I am a total chives fan, even put it into my sweet smoothies 😁

Humm, never thought of that. Next time I make a smoothie, I will have to try that. Thank you for the tip!

Let me know what you think of it - my boyfriend believes I am going bananas to throw chives in with the sweet stuff 🙈 But I feel very confident about this combo 👍

Thai people also like to put chives into some of their desserts. I definitely will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33