Daily Dose of Green - Moringa-Pear Smoothie (Raw+Vegan)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I admit it, sometimes I choose my smoothie ingredients just for the perfect color and yesterday I felt like greening it up. Isn’t green the perfect combination of a refreshing blue and a warming, uplifting yellow? In color psychology it is known to have a calming effect, to relieve stress and offer comfort to its observers.  

'I want the whole package' - Make your day green

For me, it seems to be just the right combination of attributes for a morning smoothie to start into an active day - joyful but still relaxed, no matter what life throws at me. If the green color should not manage to accomplish this, the fresh and sweet ingredients sure will:  

For your daily dose of green, just put the following color shades in the mixer, together with a bit of water depending on your desired consistency: 

  • 3 bananas 
  • 1 sweet pear 
  • 1 tsp moringa powder 
  • 1 tsp spirulina powder 

As topping I used three happily yellow passionfruits, which added a very refreshing taste to the sweet banana mixture. And to get the most out of this color adventure, why not enjoying the smoothie in the lush green grass, while your bare feet catch the early morning sun? 

The green army - How this color makes you almost invincible

If the psychology behind color doesn’t convince you, maybe the fact about its nutrients do. Green plants get their color through the pigment chlorophyll, which is essential for the their photosynthesis. Chlorophyll enables the process of converting sunlight into energy, therefore makes it possible for the plants to grow. One of the major benefits to have foods with a high chlorophyll content in your diet is the prevention of cancer by blocking the carcinogens' effects on your body. It can also improve liver detoxification and enhance your digestion. 

Our beloved greens are also famous as a great source of phytonutrients. These are chemical compounds that are produced by plants and are therefore found in a lot of fruits and veggies. Phytonutrients play a large role in supporting our immune system and can also fight cancer as well as many other health conditions. On top, green veggies have high amounts of antioxidants, which help your body to neutralize unpleasant intruders called free radicals.

I totally forgot to mention - it also tastes great, so seems like it’s time for your own Moringa-Pear Smoothie, right? 

---  

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for more healthy nuggets? Check out my other raw vegan posts:

🗺 Time for some adventures - follow me around the world:    

🌟Let me inspire you to explore your full potential, with these lifestyle stories:  

---

Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian, doctor or trained detox expert. My goal is to share my knowledge from conclusive research and personal experiences to inspire you on your own raw adventure. I do not give medical advice and am not liable for any negative consequences you might face by following any information from this post - even if it is too much energy from a newly gained vibrant health and no idea how to deal with it. Always do your individual research when it comes to your precious health, it is absolutely worth the extra effort!

Sort:  

Though I love most colors, green is one of my favorites... just as Moringa. Can't get enough of that. We are lucky to have a tree in teh garden so we use teh fresh leaves more often than the powder. Have a lovely day ;)

Thanks for your comment, Amy! Mine is actually also green - who could have guessed, right? So cool, although I used powder in this recipe, I found a shop nearby that sells fresh one. I will definitely get some tomorrow for my daily dinner salad - excited for that!

I just love it. Tastes like spinach actually. Enjoy that salad ;)

Your posts are so nice to read! I enjoy every single one of them! And you are not alone, I often choose my smoothie ingredients to get the colour I want haha ;)

Thank you so much, Nina 💚 It is much like choosing what to wear on a day full of joy or a moody one, right? Well, in my little smoothie world I always prefer the vibrant colors 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51