BROCCOLI SOUP WITH BASIL-PARSLEY PESTO RYE CROUTONS 🥦🥦🥦

in #vegan5 years ago

DSCF4842-1.jpg

I am here with another variation of broccoli soup. Next, to carrot and pumpkin, broccoli soup is definitely one of my favorites. Though it is nothing serious, it is the third day now on antibiotics and I feel its effects. I feel so weird... that's the only way I can describe it. I am quite forgetful too.

It has been years if not decades since I had to take antibiotics or any other meds and my body is definitely not used to it. So that's why I made myself some comfort food.

7 more days and it will be over. Already stocking up on probiotic food to heal my gut after this treatment.

Anyhow, how are you guys? On my side of the world they are celebrating yet another new year. 3 days of water fun. Though I have to work I might join in on the last day - Tuesday - as Wednesday and Thursday are our days off. All will depend on how the antibiotics are interfering with my active life. Never felt as strange and sleepy before.

But let's talk broccoli soup now.

BROCCOLI SOUP WITH BASIL-PARSLEY PESTO RYE CROUTONS


soup-1.jpg

INGREDIENTS (serves 3-4 people for lunch)


Pesto croutons


1 cup fresh basil leaves
1 cup fresh parsley
1/2 cup roasted cashew nuts
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/3-1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Sea salt and black pepper to taste
Thick cubed bread slices, we use rye bread

FYI: this makes more than you need but I am sure you will find a yummy way to put this yummy pesto to good use.

DSCF4830.JPG

The soup


1 cup onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup carrot, chopped
5 cups chopped broccoli florets and stem
1.5 liters or 50 fl oz vegetable stock
Sea salt and black pepper to taste
1/3-1/2 cup fresh chopped chives (garnish)

DIRECTIONS


  1. Saute all the veggies for a few minutes to add more flavor. Then add vegetable stock and cook for 20 to 30 minutes. Or until all the veggies are soft. Blend the soup in a blender or use an immersion blender instead.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400°F or 200°C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or use a silicone mat.
  3. Add the pesto ingredients to a blender or food processor and blend until homogenous mixture.
    4.. Add the bread cubes to a medium-sized bowl and mix with some of the pesto until all the cubes are well coated. Transfer the coated bread cubes to the baking sheet and bake until crispy. This will take about 10 to 12 minutes, flipping once.
  4. Ladle the broccoli soup into bowls and top with croutons and fresh chives.

DSCF4826.JPG

DSCF4831.JPG

soup.jpg

HAPPY KHMER NEW YEAR ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

ONE-POT COMFORT FOOD | VEGAN SPICED JAMBALAYA

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | MORINGA SPIRULINA MORNING BOOST

POTATO SALAD WITH ITALIAN BASIL AND PARSLEY PESTO

PINA COLADA CHIA SEED PUDDING WITH SUPERFOOD TOPPINGS

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | PINK MORNING GLOW ღ ღ ღ

KIDNEY BEAN CHILI WITH HOMEMADE TURMERIC-INFUSED FLATBREAD AND CASHEW SOUR CREAM


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

Sort:  

Delicious soup for real food lovers

Thanks my friend.

❤️❤️❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the love and support ღ ღ ღ

I love a good Broccoli soup. I learned how to make mine from watch Gordon Ramsey (I had to ulter the recipe to make it Vegan) but this seems like a good way to go too.

It is one of my favorites too. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25