Blood Lust

in #vampire7 years ago

‘Vampire!” That’s what they call our kind. They think we are all blood-sucking monsters. But they don’t understand that we have to feed in order to survive. The same way they slaughter animals for food, we need blood.
Through the ages of time, humans have dubbed us as myths and stories. They believe we are extinct and are no more. Little do they know that we are more in number that they think. Hiding, and feeding from blood banks, though some feed from humans too, we have grown stronger and at the same time weaker. We have grown more in number but less in power. We have become more human-like. Some have even fallen in love with humans. Married and settled with a family to be doomed forever. It is said that once a vampire mates with a human, they lose their power. Grow weaker and weaker and eventually die a horrible death.
I despise these horrible relationships even though I, myself, am a cross breed. My father was a human while my mother was a normal vampire. My mother died three weeks after my birth. And my father re-married a human soon after. He abandoned me. Left me to die and rot. But his enjoyment was short-lived. As soon as I reached hunting age, I tracked him down and sucked the life out of him. As his warm blood spread on my mouth, I could feel my soul getting lighter. I had finally avenged my mother.
It has been a hundred and twenty two years since then. Mostly feeding from blood banks and animals, I have reached the age of one hundred and forty two. Oh, and what a time to be alive. Technology has advanced so much. Though I am a very young vampire, I believe I have seen everything. Travelling here and there, I have been in many countries, tasted various types of blood. But I have always resented human contact. I have always hated them. Ever since I was born, I have despised them and their stupid little beliefs. I have hated them since my first day and thought it would never change. But it did, it changed the day I saw her.
It was a gloomy dark day with grey clouds hanging low in the sky. I was looking around to find a suitable prey to feed on. Then I saw her. She was standing beside the road with a shopping bag in her left hand. Her hair was blowing with the wind. Her face, with its soft warm features, was so beautiful. She lifted her pale white arm to hail a taxi. Right then and there I knew she was the one. She was the one made for me. She was my fate, my soul mate, my utmost longing. But deep in the corner of my cold, dark heart, I also knew that she was just a dream, a lust, a desire. I could never have her. She was a human and bonding with her only meant death for me but still, my whole being longed for her. I wanted her, I needed her. As this tug of war raged on my mind, I moved forward. I was being pulled towards her. As I went closer, I could smell her hair. I closed my eyes and let her miraculous scent guide me. I was drawing closer and closer, but then suddenly her smell faded. I opened my eyes only to find her getting inside a taxi. I watched her getting driven away until all I could see was a little dot of yellow, moving out of sight.
I started running. I ran and ran. I ran faster than the cars. I ran faster than the buses. I ran like all hell had broken loose. I ran until I saw her again. She was just getting out of the taxi. I waited till she was done paying and the taxi went on its way. Just as she was unlocking her door, I approached her. I told her that I found her beautiful and wanted to go on a date. She looked surprised for a moment then smiled back. She was new in town and I agreed to show her around. I fell in love with her and I knew she was in love with me too. I would often sense her looking at me the way I looked at her. She loved me the way I loved her. But I knew deep inside that she could never be mine. I didn’t know how she would react if she found out what I was. Would she accept me for what I was or would she walk away and leave me? These thoughts raced in my mind every time I saw her.
Then one day I decided to tell her the truth. I decided to tell her everything. I asked her to meet me in the park outside Franklin Square. She came and we started walking. The park was deserted as it was very late. Then I stopped and turned around so I could face her. Her beautiful face glowed in the moonlight. Just looking at her made my knees weak. I was so deeply in love. I stared at her and just as I was opening my mouth to tell her, she kissed me. It was a long passionate kiss and I kissed her back. My head was throbbing. I was getting weaker already. I wanted her but she meant death to me.
It was her or me. Her life or mine. I could make love to her right now and die as something I always hated or leave her and live the rest of my long life with regret. In that moment, with her body pressed against mine, I was in heaven but at the same time in hell. My heart longed for her but my mind told me to stay away. And right then, in the middle of that dilemma, I don’t know what happened. Maybe it was the thought of letting her go and losing her, but something in my mind triggered. I lost control. My fangs shot out and dug deep in her flesh. I didn’t even know what happened until I felt the warm gush of her blood in my mouth. I could taste the metallic, warm liquid spreading across my tongue, my teeth, and my gum. I could feel her life draining from her body and pouring into my soul. She was dead before I even realized what I was doing, and I sucked her till she was dry. And finally, when I saw her lifeless body lying limp on the ground, I realized my blood lust was fulfilled. My thirst was quenched. And as I felt her warmth spreading in my cold dark soul, I had no regrets.
-RD

Sort:  

I've always liked the vampire mythology. Good story!

Thanks, man. I wrote this a couple years back. And the Vampire mythology surely is intriguing.

Congratulations @raidon99! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @raidon99! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45