Steemit and Content that "Adds Value:" What it IS, and Why it MATTERS

in #value7 years ago

For the last couple of weeks, I have been experimenting a bit with the types of content I have been posting.

The Many Content Creation Possibilities We Have!

As part of this, I have temporarily stepped away from my typical modus operandum of just posting "long form" article style and personal essay posts. I happen to be a life-long writer and blogger, but not everyone is.

Red
Let's go down the rabbit hole...

Among other things, I have tested out the zappl.com front end-- which is a bit like a Steemit version of twitter, designed for microblogging; then I tested out @jesta's chainBB front end which brings to mind old style message board communities from the late 1990s-- always enjoyed those. 

On a different tack, I tried a couple of new approaches to my own posting, including being part of one of the many "challenges" around here (the seven day black-and-white photo challenge), putting up an item for sale as part of the new @steembay economic initiative and lastly starting an "engagement initiative" of my own-- the "Daily Discussion" series-- in hope of doing my part of bring up the otherwise declining stats for "number of comments per post." You can find more on that by following the dedicated #dailydiscussion tag.

That last project happens to be a personal soapbox issue for me... I believe engagement and interaction is essential to the growth of any social content platform, so I decided I needed to "put my money where my mouth is," metaphorically speaking, and take steps to encourage interaction.

Does "Adding Value" to Steemit Actually MATTER?

Seaside
Beach in winter

As I started playing around with these different post formats and monitoring how people interacted with them, I got to thinking about a debate that was actively doing the rounds, not long after I joined Steemit back in late January of this year.

Back then, people were talking about "Quality Content" and whether people's content "added value" to Steemit, and whether "adding value" even was important.

I don't recall there being any firm conclusions drawn, but there were definitely different camps on the subject of what constitutes "value.

And now I'm considering that question, again... especially in view of the current debates over whether the proliferation of paid upvote bots are resulting in content "of little value" being upvoted and featured when it really doesn't deserve to be.

But let's take a look at "value."

Traditional Blogging and Online Publishing and Value

Fall leaf
Red fall leaf

In many people's minds, the idea of quality content and adding value to a web venue suggests article-length blog posts with original writing and illustration, often well researched and properly cited.

Subject matter and format might not be so important... recipes can be just as valuable as reports from a conference, or someone's travel journal.

In a broad sense, the common thread is that we can look at the content and ascertain that it's original to the person who created it, and they clearly "put some effort" into it.

I'm going to shove "post length" into the background for a minute-- as there is lots of very "wordy" web content that that's little more than a jumble of words, and lots of 250-word essays that make strong but concise reading.

Short Posts-- Done Right-- Add Value

It could easily be argued that the 40-50 words you can cram into a @zappl post doesn't really add much "value" in terms of content. 

Sunset
Northern sunset

On the other hand, the half dozen+ zappl posts I've tossed into the mix this past week have received 21, 39, 21, 22, 21, 62(!) and 37 comments respectively (compared to a sitewide average of 2.2 comments per post), so clearly they were capable of moving people to engage with the content.

And yet, they were just a few words long-- and by no means a typical 800 word essay with six photos. 

But I would venture that they added "value."

So this leaves the open-ended question of whether it is purely the "content" that adds value in a free standing sense, or does the ability to stimulate interaction add value, as well?

Let us remember that Steemit is a social content site... and "social" suggests some kind of interaction and engagement.

Contests, Challenges and Initiatives... and Adding Value

We have lots of challenges and contests on Steemit... and here we could also question whether they generate content that adds "value."

Butterfly
Cabbage White butterfly

I was personally part of a black-and-white photo challenge-- it was pretty simple and added pretty repetitive content over a period of seven days. The posts did enjoy SOME interaction, but we could question whether the actual CONTENT adds value to Steemit. Maybe? Maybe not? My own experience was a much lower level of interaction... perhaps because the creativity is "guided," rather than original.

Of course, there are many contests-- poetry contests, fiction writing contests, photo contests, art contests and more. 

But again, where is the actual value in contests and challenges?

Once again, I think we need to look at the overall impact, not just whether the top level posts are of worthy quality.

A challenge (photo, or otherwise) is often a way to inspire users who might otherwise be at a bit of a loss as to what to contribute to get involved with the community. And surely, that has "value," even if it's in a different way from an encyclopedic 3000-word article like one of my favorite Steemians @teamsteem regularly puts together.

Ultimately, it seems to me like "value" is rather intangible, and certainly dependent on how people use and perceive the platform.

Content "Created for Upvotes" and Value

Now, let's touch back on one of the primary current debates and controversies for a bit... many are concerned that the proliferation of automated paid upvote services will mean that too many "garbage posts" end up getting rewarded, while content that truly adds "value" get lost in the mix. Which is what got me inspired to have a deeper look at the concept of what "value" might actually BE.

Of course, this is where we get into sticky territory. 

Google, Value... and Why We Should Pay Attention

RedDaisy
Red daisy

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, before there was Steemit... there were lots of content sites, and then there was Google-- taking it upon themselves decide that "content mills" and "spun content" was garbage and should be buried in organic search results because they did not really contribute to a positive user experience. 

Some of you may remember the days when a Google search for something-- let's say "bananas"-- mostly yielded a long list of sites that had links to search results about bananas, but no actual INFORMATION about bananas. Whether we like Google or not, they determined that sort of thing was crap basically designed to earn a few fractions of cents by serving visitors some advertising and perhaps hijacking their browser to install some malware.

I remember watching far too many videos with Matt Cutts (formerly head of Google's anti-spam division) explaining the latest counter spam initiatives designed to negate the efforts of the "Black Hat" SEO purveyors.

What's My Point?

kaprifolie
Honeysuckle

If we pretty universally agreed such web sites (aka "content") were crap elsewhere, then just how different are posts on Steemit mostly created by someone for little other purpose than to launch a bunch of paid upvote services to add rewards?

For me, that becomes a question of "Would I enjoy reading this content if it just happened to be on my friend Bob's web site?

If I can't sincerely answer "yes" to that, then I can't sincerely declare that it "adds value" to the community. So if we can then ascertain that it doesn't add "value" then I would say that it's a REAL PROBLEM if a lot of such content is being boosted by purchased upvotes because it represents a false reflections of what quality looks like.

This, of course, assumes that we care about the whole question of "adding value." Assuming also that "value" isn't necessarily limited to encyclopedic essays, but also includes generally ENGAGING discussion and debate.

Value: Because we DO Want a Future Here!

To conclude this exploration of Steemit and value, I want to step away from our little home and just look at consumer behavior in marketing.

poppy
California Poppy

Why do we buy things? Why are we attracted to them? Why do we go eat at a restaurant that looks clean and appetizing, but not at one that looks like a home for rodents and roaches?

In general, because we perceive we are going to get something of value to us.

On a longer term scale, that's also why "Frank's World Class Hamburgers" is likely to still be in business 10 years from now, but the roach infested pit will not.

What does that mean in a Steemit context?

Our future and growth (and world domination!!!!) depends on people looking at our community getting an impression and making that split second decision of whether to explore further... or back out. And if those people just find an ocean of valueless memes, plagiarized web articles and other spam... they are NOT going to become new members. What's the implication? There'll be nothing to drive the community forward. Which means the value of Steem is more likely to go down than up.

And unless you're particularly masochistic, my guess is you'd rather enter the year 2023 with $80 Steem, than with 8-cent Steem.

That last bit is just a guess, mind you...

A Few Words of Thanks...

I don't usually do this, but in fairness, these are not all my thoughts... this post owes its existence to a number of people who have shared their thoughts on "value" in the time I have been here. To @joseph, @donkeypong and @kyriacos who were very active voices in some of the first discussions I read here, back in February; to @personz, this is one of several posts I "promised" I would write; to @stellabelle who's always crusading for a better Steemit; to @bex-dk who also has explored this area at length; to @lukestokes for reminding us all to "check our expectations;" and to a new friend and @curie curator @carlgnash who truly understands the value of value. So thanks for the inspiration!

To Discuss! Let us examine "value." Do YOU think value matters? Given that most sites that ignore the importance of providing value and quality shut down should we be more concerned about the caliber of content we put before people? Or should we just take the "Facebook approach" and say "everything goes?" Keeping in mind, of course, that Facebook regularly closes the accounts of spammers and "controversial" people. Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 171207 17:13 PDT

Sort:  

Hi @

Thank you for the discussion.

I tend to agree with most of what you said. I have had frustration upon frustration since I joined steemit. I am not a life long blogger, but I wanted to share quality content (in my definition at least) with others and interact.

I must say that I have given up on "long" posts until I get more REAL followers and get more SP to reward them.

Despite the fact that I am still posting original contents, only shorter. I have been wondering what makes a post valuable or not?

Moreover, as long as I am not known, posting whatever contents doesn't matter at all to steemit or steemians who don't know about me! It only matters to myself and to my conscious, morals and ethics.

Hence, for this part of your post

And if those people just find an ocean of valueless memes, plagiarized web articles and other spam... they are NOT going to become new members.

I may sound dark and negative, but actually I am afraid that this is exactly why many people join steemit. People who think this way "What a great chance! I actually can make a buck or 2 by posting valueless memes, plagiarized web articles and other spam. I don't even need to sweat or put my heart out writing an original post!"

Thank you again!

What I feel adds value the most is you creating content you enjoy to create. If you’re not happy making content then long term you have no reason to keep being unhappy and therefore no reason to keep going. While it might be hard to measure something like “passion” it has some role to play in what “value” is.

Short content

For a while, I was doing a post either weekly or almost daily where I would write some 50-word stories. I tried to find a balance between my own time to write them and how long the post was between 1 to 5 short stories posted in it. 5 was too many vs reward and 1 I always felt like it was cheating in value. For a little while, I had some people stop by weekly who “valued” reading those short 50 word stories to upvote them. My content was not enough to covert these weekly viewers into daily ones but it was enough to get them to come by once a week.

Contests

One of the more interesting things about contents is they are a huge hit or miss. I tried to give away 5 SBD total once and I failed to get enough traffic to participate in a rather easy contest. Even when we have a lot of people on this site in countries where winning 1 SBD is daily cost of living there and only I think 3 people won total. Which meant 30 secs of someone time. Somehow that reward did not translate into time value vs reward. Now, look at today were some exchanges were reporting $14 per SBD for a very short time!

I use to do a weekly meme contest. The contest itself had a decent size prize pool funded mostly by 1 whale vote. That itself attracted a lot of traffic to the contest. Which meant more entries and what I view as more “value” is added to that post as the days went on by people sharing what they did. Then one week that contest stops receiving that whale vote. Weeks later it ended. It’s not the first weekly contest that ended because the funding dried up. Which kind of shows just how important monitory reward value is a success of a contest. People have a certain threshold of time value vs reward. Even in massive contests where your chancing of winning here is more or less 0% if the prize is big enough, it draws in the crowds.

For me, the value of the contest is the content created to enter them. They themselves did not have to be “deep thinking and challenging” they just needed to attract enough traffic and reward for people to enter.

Content mills

One of the biggest issues I have here is not being able to find what I value as quality content easily. With so many paid services to add money value and a lot of trending pages for tags being controlled by similar people, I’ve had to rethink this approaches. Since this site values, monetary value so heavy-handed it’s easy to be trapped by it.
Instead, I have some people on my friends who resteem a lot of content that I view as “quality” and I’m more than to toss a couple of upvotes toward their way for the value they have added by just finding blogs I enjoy reading.

End

With so many different forms of value, it most centrally matters. While I can’t think of an easier way to a site like this to show value other than the monetary one it does lead to some issues. I can only hope one day the search feature grows in a way that lets me find content more to my likening easier. That would also be why there are so many different groups out there upvoting and sharing what they find to help people find stuff they might enjoy. For now, we are stuck in the ever-increasing cost to the entry of vote buying to get noticed easily otherwise you are reliant on someone who has a voice here considering your content of “value” enough to share with everyone else.

I’ve also noticed the length of your blog seems to directly impact how long my response is!

Aha! I have earned one of the legendary @enjar responses! Which-- in a sense-- tells me that I added "value" here.

OK, that's just me being facetious... to a point.

I will probably continue with occasional short content posts through @zappl because I discovered there's a whole group of people who seem to enjoy the debate that follows "answering questions." In such instances, the short post is merely a catalyst, and the value comes in the way people interact, not only with the original post, but also with each other.

It's also a way for me to expand my readership to those who'd normally respond to my posts with the dreaded "TL;DR."

I have NO intention of converting my blog to "short" form, but will probably run 3-4 short form posts a week for as long as they remain interactive.

I feel pretty ambivalent towards contests and challenges. Several of the ones I do (like "color challenge") don't have prizes and rewards... they are merely ways for me to create my own variation on a pre-set theme. Same was true of the B&W challenge... about to do my 7th and final installment after I get done replying to comments here.

I am VERY anti spun content and content mills... because I have watched that sort of content be a major contributing factor in the demise of close to 50 "rewards for content" sites since 1999. It's not even "opinion," it's simple empirical observation: "Crap Kills." There are no exceptions. If STINC thinks they can make this the exception, good luck to them...

What I do like are events and "themes." I started in on the "Daily Discussion" theme and it was pretty well received... and quite interactive, at generally 30+ comments per post. So that's a keeper. I have another "engagement initiative" up my sleeve-- based on something I used to run on one of my blogs 10+ years ago-- but still trying to figure out how to run it; I might actually give it it's own account... time will tell.

Thanks, as always, for being part of the discussion!

There are so many types of value that relate to Steemit or Steem. From a Steem value perspective, a single post doesn't add to the value of Steem. But by people discovering the power of the blockchain and connecting with each other, new ideas and projects emerge -- and it's those projects that will raise the value of Steem over time. Like the utopian.io effort or the other platforms that use the Steem blockchain, like zapple, DTube, and others. Developing strong communities fits in here, too, like the sports communities that have been controversial here in the past.

For Steemit, though, a single post can have value. One kind of value is a post that broadens and deepens connections among people. It's those connections that will keep people coming back to engage on Steemit over the long haul. And for many people, sharing their photography and art connects people - so those kinds of posts can be valuable. Contests can fit this, too.

Another kind of value is providing something unique, that's not available elsewhere. That's one reason I've focused on posts about foraging and some on gardening/homesteading. There's information in those posts that's not available anywhere else - only on Steemit.

In some sense, what adds value can often be distilled down to whether something "entertains" us, or doesn't. Take a Steemian like @mynameisbrian... he does one thing, but he does it really well and he is liked and broadly followed. He adds value in the sense that people check in regularly to see what he's done lately.

Sometimes it's almost easier to define what does NOT add value. And for me, that's a lot of the purchased upvote stuff. We operate under the illusion that "worthwhile" content will have more comments and votes... but when I discover that something "popular" is actually a piece of garbage that has only been self-promoted, then that adds a layer of frustration... a "negative user experience."

I really enjoy foraging/homesteading posts... I often get really good ideas and inspiration; and I like that there is quite a bit of choice.

For sure, entertainment has a huge potential value. Some folks are so good at that, too.

Value seems to be objective in my opinion. What one person finds a valuable post another my think is crap.

I've been contemplating this very topic recently as I've seen an increase, real or perceived I can't say for sure, in posts I am not particularly interested in. Many are from people who have been around the block here and are interested in the future of Steemit as an investment.

There is nothing wrong with taking a picture and posting it, but I fail to see how that adds value to the platform itself. Although I will admit someone who values art as a whole might see it differently.

The unfortunate thing I've seen and wondered about is when flagging enters the picture. Someone flags someone because they don't think the post is worth the reward value it's being given, yet there were 10 other people who did think it provided value, or at least trusted a trail leader to find value.

I just don't know if there is or can be a clear delineation in something that seems so subjective.

One of the things I didn't really touch on in this post is the reality that Steemit represents the "gamification" of social media... due to the rewards. And just like most games, some people play because they have a really good time, and some people play ONLY "to win."

On Steemit, we could experience that as two primary "factions:" The content creators and the money makers. Don't get me wrong, we're pretty much ALL here to earn rewards... but what's our "lead play?"

My lead play is "creating content" and the rewards will simply follow as a consequence. Or not. For those who are here to "make money," first... the content is more formulaic and simply "what they have to do" in order to get their rewards. If the paradigm changed tomorrow and the site became about "making tacos," they'd switch their strategy to making tacos in a heartbeat... while the content creators would probably just leave.

Flags are tricky and personal. I only use them on spam, plagiarism and fraud (like ID theft, fake accounts) because those are things I disagree with.

Gamefication, that’s good, says a lot in a little package.

Thank you for mentioning me and my articles. I got pulled into all this stuff because of the fiction situation. Worrying whether my serial will get flagged made it pretty personal. But I think you have a good point with comments and @transisto has a good point about views, although I wish the views reading went into the blockchain and weren't dependent on what front-end you use. If people aren't looking at your stuff, how can if have any value, even if some are upvoting it? I wish people would quit upvoting things that they don't bother to look at. As I write this, your post shows 43 votes and 40 views. So unless some of the voters used other front ends, you have more votes than views right now. I am sure that will change quickly, as your post is only 6 hours old.

As for contests, I write fiction. And I must admit that I've seen top quality stories come out of a lot of contests lately. It helps that I'm part of a writing community where we spread the word about "good" contests, help each other brainstorm and edit, and happily root for the opposition when it's time for judging. IF you want to see quality come out of competitions, take a look at the recent #hardforkseries competition. The SFT is still deciding which of those stories are worth of curation and has already curated 5 of them, if I remember correctly. I also recommend looking at pretty much all of @gmuxx's Art Prompt Writing Contests. He routinely attracts top quality entries.

Like you, I enjoy the color challenges. However I am rethinking my urge to post for every day. I've decided to post for the days I have time and really have a quality photo--one that really is worth looking at on its own--as opposed to just trying to find something that fits the day's colors.

I am trying to watch the views and interactions on my posts and let some of that influence what I choose to post in the future. This spike in SBD has me worried--worried that people will be making trash posts, just to get some SBD in a week to hope they catch the spike.

Slogging through the new fiction and story tags for my curation work is really a nightmare. There is so much spam and trash and gibberish that it is really difficult to find stuff worth curating. That makes me think about how it must be for a reader from outside. How will we get those readers, if they have to slog through tons and tons of garbage to find a few gems?

"Value" is truly in the eye of the beholder.

This entire post is a bit esoteric as it doesn't touch on the hot crypto buy of the day or what some celebrity did or didn't do.

Rather, it was a well written post that drew me along (nice touch having the pictures spaced at the page folds too) and it kept me engaged.

It all comes down to whether or not this community can spread the rewards out (be they monetary or intellectual) and maintain a diverse community or will it become a homogeneous one where everyone has to share the same passions or be forced to go somewhere else.

Time will only tell.

Hey @denmarkguy, thanks so much for starting this series! Really happy to read about it and looking forward to more.

You've really dissected the idea of "value" here, a lot of good points. I agree with your analysis, value is important it's what signals to people it's a good place to be, while also of course actually making it a good place to be.

Given that most sites that ignore the importance of providing value and quality shut down should we be more concerned about the caliber of content we put before people? Or should we just take the "Facebook approach" and say "everything goes?" Keeping in mind, of course, that Facebook regularly closes the accounts of spammers and "controversial" people.

Everything must go here. What we're really asking for is conscious curation. Steemit employ this cliché - Money talks - and it's true, what gets talked about most is what gets rewarded. It's up to us to curate well.

And so we need a seem that values curators! So I suggest that the promotion of "value" goes hand in hand with curator support. One thing that I think would support curators more is a greater reward share going to them. I'm in favor of a 50/50 (or near) split, as well as some other adjustments.

This post has received a 10.27 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @denmarkguy. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received gratitude of 15.99 % from @appreciator thanks to: @denmarkguy.

I always, always find something wonderful on your blog @denmarkguy. The trouble is, you stir so many thoughts and responses I can't begin to put them all down in a single comment. (I don't have the time to write it, and you certainly don't have the patience to read it.)

Yours is consistently one of the best blogs on Steemit. I bless the day I found it. I was so gratified too to see the huge jump in rewards on this post tonight. It was around $17 when I first looked at it. And now ... it's bumping right up against 100 bucks. I know with the recent calamity in your art gallery that has got to be welcome.

Relatively speaking our small upvote and publicity effort doesn't amount to much, I know, but it's a start toward what we hope are greater things ... and they are both sincerely given. I'll be back in the future, snooping for more things to include. You can count on it.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50