You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit and Content that "Adds Value:" What it IS, and Why it MATTERS

in #value7 years ago

What I feel adds value the most is you creating content you enjoy to create. If you’re not happy making content then long term you have no reason to keep being unhappy and therefore no reason to keep going. While it might be hard to measure something like “passion” it has some role to play in what “value” is.

Short content

For a while, I was doing a post either weekly or almost daily where I would write some 50-word stories. I tried to find a balance between my own time to write them and how long the post was between 1 to 5 short stories posted in it. 5 was too many vs reward and 1 I always felt like it was cheating in value. For a little while, I had some people stop by weekly who “valued” reading those short 50 word stories to upvote them. My content was not enough to covert these weekly viewers into daily ones but it was enough to get them to come by once a week.

Contests

One of the more interesting things about contents is they are a huge hit or miss. I tried to give away 5 SBD total once and I failed to get enough traffic to participate in a rather easy contest. Even when we have a lot of people on this site in countries where winning 1 SBD is daily cost of living there and only I think 3 people won total. Which meant 30 secs of someone time. Somehow that reward did not translate into time value vs reward. Now, look at today were some exchanges were reporting $14 per SBD for a very short time!

I use to do a weekly meme contest. The contest itself had a decent size prize pool funded mostly by 1 whale vote. That itself attracted a lot of traffic to the contest. Which meant more entries and what I view as more “value” is added to that post as the days went on by people sharing what they did. Then one week that contest stops receiving that whale vote. Weeks later it ended. It’s not the first weekly contest that ended because the funding dried up. Which kind of shows just how important monitory reward value is a success of a contest. People have a certain threshold of time value vs reward. Even in massive contests where your chancing of winning here is more or less 0% if the prize is big enough, it draws in the crowds.

For me, the value of the contest is the content created to enter them. They themselves did not have to be “deep thinking and challenging” they just needed to attract enough traffic and reward for people to enter.

Content mills

One of the biggest issues I have here is not being able to find what I value as quality content easily. With so many paid services to add money value and a lot of trending pages for tags being controlled by similar people, I’ve had to rethink this approaches. Since this site values, monetary value so heavy-handed it’s easy to be trapped by it.
Instead, I have some people on my friends who resteem a lot of content that I view as “quality” and I’m more than to toss a couple of upvotes toward their way for the value they have added by just finding blogs I enjoy reading.

End

With so many different forms of value, it most centrally matters. While I can’t think of an easier way to a site like this to show value other than the monetary one it does lead to some issues. I can only hope one day the search feature grows in a way that lets me find content more to my likening easier. That would also be why there are so many different groups out there upvoting and sharing what they find to help people find stuff they might enjoy. For now, we are stuck in the ever-increasing cost to the entry of vote buying to get noticed easily otherwise you are reliant on someone who has a voice here considering your content of “value” enough to share with everyone else.

I’ve also noticed the length of your blog seems to directly impact how long my response is!

Sort:  

Aha! I have earned one of the legendary @enjar responses! Which-- in a sense-- tells me that I added "value" here.

OK, that's just me being facetious... to a point.

I will probably continue with occasional short content posts through @zappl because I discovered there's a whole group of people who seem to enjoy the debate that follows "answering questions." In such instances, the short post is merely a catalyst, and the value comes in the way people interact, not only with the original post, but also with each other.

It's also a way for me to expand my readership to those who'd normally respond to my posts with the dreaded "TL;DR."

I have NO intention of converting my blog to "short" form, but will probably run 3-4 short form posts a week for as long as they remain interactive.

I feel pretty ambivalent towards contests and challenges. Several of the ones I do (like "color challenge") don't have prizes and rewards... they are merely ways for me to create my own variation on a pre-set theme. Same was true of the B&W challenge... about to do my 7th and final installment after I get done replying to comments here.

I am VERY anti spun content and content mills... because I have watched that sort of content be a major contributing factor in the demise of close to 50 "rewards for content" sites since 1999. It's not even "opinion," it's simple empirical observation: "Crap Kills." There are no exceptions. If STINC thinks they can make this the exception, good luck to them...

What I do like are events and "themes." I started in on the "Daily Discussion" theme and it was pretty well received... and quite interactive, at generally 30+ comments per post. So that's a keeper. I have another "engagement initiative" up my sleeve-- based on something I used to run on one of my blogs 10+ years ago-- but still trying to figure out how to run it; I might actually give it it's own account... time will tell.

Thanks, as always, for being part of the discussion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50