Steembay: Auction for one of my Hand Painted Mandala Stones - Nice Gift for the Holidays!

in #steembay7 years ago

Since I have been a long-time proponent of developing a peer-to-peer marketplace here on Steemit, I'm delighted that we now have the first functional version of @steembay up and running on Steemit.

AS17100
Bigger photos below!

It's basically an auction/for sale utility bot in the manner of eBay, except it runs within the confines of the Steemit ecosystem, and payment is in SBD... so it's an opportunity to actually use your SBD for something other than buying Steem or BTC! And it's a chance for us to develop our own economy here!

To learn more about Steembay, there's both the orginal introductory post, as well as a quick tutorial.

To see what other people are offering, visit @steembay and click on the latest "Daily Report of Steembay" post... or you can simply click on the #steembay tag, anywhere you come across it!

My Steembay Auction no. 1: One of my Hand Painted Mandala Stones

AS17100
Tried to minimize the glare... not entirely successful

Completely free hand painted beach stone with very intricate geometric mandala design in shades of purple, yellow, copper and white. Ceramic paints on natural stone as found by me and my wife on our local beaches; painted by me. Had a clear gloss finish coat to protect colored design. A stone this size takes me about 90 minutes to a couple of hours to complete.

Quite flat oblong shape (like a "skipping stone"), very smooth surface. Measures about 2 1/4" (57mm) long by 1 5/8" (41mm) across. 

AS17100
Fairly flat, as you can see...

Comes in a small organza gift bag with a small pamphlet with more details about my artwork and the process, and why I chose stones to paint on.

AS17100
Shown with a US dime for a sense of scale

One of these days, I will get around to making a full reference post about my artwork... some of you may have seen occasional photos pop in posts about creativity.

In the meantime, have a look at the photos, and feel free to ask questions in the comment section!

AS17100
Since we're on the blockchain, here's Proof of Stone in Hand!

Starting bid is 3.00 SBD. 

This stone would typically be priced at about 20.00-$25.00 USD at one of our gallery outlets, or if we were selling at a festival or street fair.

Auction will run for 7 days-- till this post expires. 

So here's how bidding works:

Reply (directly) to this post with "bid x" (where x is the amount you are willing to bid in SBD). Decimals have to be written with a period instead of a comma (5.9, NOT 5,9).

Wait for the bot to log in the bid (it will tell you in seconds if it worked... sometimes it takes up to a minute due to transaction failures of the system)

If someone bids higher than you, the bot will reply to your post and reference your username.

The bot will reply to each accepted bid, stating what is actual highest bid and who is the high bidder. The bot will also reply when you are overbid, and state the new high bidder.

If you need to retract your bid just enter "revoke bid"

"Normal" (non-auction) comments will not interfere with the auction, and will not make you a bidder! Upvotes are welcome and accepted with gratitude as any rewards will help cover the cost of shipping the item.

Shipping is FREE to the USA via first class mail

Ships from Port Townsend, Washington, USA; US shipping is free.

INTERNATIONAL Shipping: This is a little more complicated. The base cost to mail this outside the USA is 13.50 USD. However, I am counting on upvotes to help underwrite at least part the cost of postage. Your actual shipping cost will be 13.50 USD minus the "author" part of this post's final reward. 

Example: The "author" part of the post reward ends up being $4.25. Then your shipping cost would be $13.50 - $4.25 = $9.25 converted to the day rate for SBD on the closing day, which will be added to the winning bid amount... so technically speaking, sufficient upvotes would ensure free worldwide shipping. 

After the Auction:

Payment for winning bid (+ possible postage costs for non-USA winners) will be in SBD. 

I will need the winning bidder's contact/shipping information, which we can either exchange via Encrypted Wallet Memos or through Steemit.chat.

Once I have your information, I'll let you know your final amount due and you can pay via wallet transfer.

I think that about covers it-- otherwise, feel free to ask questions in the comment section! I appreciate your interest, and good luck in the auction!

Posted 20171203 15:50PDT

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi I like what you've done. Check out my posts and you will see why. I hope you like them and give me some advice. :)

Checked out your page... you've done some cool work with the mandala designs.

real purty.
good luck...keep us updated on how it works out.

Thanks! I figured that since the guys created this program and I encouraged them along the way... the least I could do was USE it, once they got it up and going. We'll see how it goes... just an experiment, for now.

partially dependent on how it works out for you.
I have some 'stuff' I might try to auction.
on the principle that 'one person's trash is another person's treasure'...and like that.
stuff I hate to throw away..but I have no use for.

Awesome. Good luck in your Steem business my friend.

Thanks! I long called for an "economy" here to support the Steem coin... so I was very happy to see when @pollux.one and @schererf announced they had made this initiative. Now, of course, I have to support it, as well! :-)

I'm not really an Arts guy, but I have to say that thing is pretty bad ass looking.. nice work..

. images (3).jpg

Thanks! I was actually a D-minus art student-- couldn't draw anything to save my life. But when I learned about sacred geometry and the like, I found a creative niche.

Sometimes that is just the way it works. Being smart is relative to field I think. We measure genius based relative to books, but look at ice sculptors, painters, wood carvers etc. I find what they do to be quite genius. We are all gifted in a certain area, just gotta find it sometimes.. @pawsdog

Nice initiative, congrats!

Thanks for adding value to the Steem ecosystem :)

Thanks! Steembay wasn't my creation, but I am happy to be able to help out and add to it.

Oh, thanks for clarifying.
But you're also doing a good job in supporting them ;)

ooooooooooh nice - might put my hand painted war gaming armies on here, with rules, game scenarios , whole nine yards... (once i actually complete some - or could do to order....)

I so hope this takes off..

good luck, btw!

It's very early days, but those would be cool things to offer. In its earliest incarnations, eBay was pretty cool... a conglomeration of collectors, hobbyists and garage salers who traded with each other. Hoping something similar could be built here... without all the corporate crap that now makes eBay almost unusable for the small individual trader.

Dang, I need to get my hands on some SBD so I can bid!

Well, there's almost 7 days to go-- so hope you-- it would be cool to send it to a friend!

I'll watch closely to see how this plays out.

It'll be interesting to see-- for the moment, I consider it just an experiment, but I love the idea of getting an economy going here; you've already done it in some ways with the gigs you've offered... we need more of that; I believe it will help build the value of Steem, which will be good for ALL of us.

Thank you for this information and I hope you will continue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49