The real cost of a loaf of bread

in #ungrip6 years ago

When we work, we add value to each others lives.  The collection of raw materials takes a lot of work, but turning those raw materials into usable products also takes work.  These value added processes are important as it is difficult to use the raw materials in their raw form.  Our capacity to build tools, machines and fancy gourmet dishes is impressive.  But when people buy and then sell stuff, no value is added to the process and transporting the raw materials all over the world consumes a tremendous amount of energy.  I am going to suggest that people like bankers, stock brokers and traders add no value to the goods and services that we consume each day yet the take their pound of flesh.  

So how much does it actually 'cost' to make a loaf of bread?  Lets see where this takes us.

Farmer grows wheat each year among other food.  His input costs are fairly high as he has to cover fuel, seeds, land, equipment, chemicals, etc.  Organic farmers bypass the chemicals but then have to deal with seed cleaning and other tasks to make up for the organic label.  As of today non-organic wheat is selling for $4.50USD per bushel (60 lbs).  

According to nationalfestivalofbreads.com you can make 90 - one pound loaves of bread with that single bushel of wheat.  Bread in the US is $2.55USD per loaf.  There are a few ingredients added in the process of making bread.  I've estimated that those ingredients cost about $10 for the 90 loaves.   That means people buy 90 loaves of bread for $229.50USD which was made from $14.50USD of raw materials using millions of dollars worth of machinery, infrastructure and labour.  They have found a way to pump out loaves of bread to bring the per unit cost to $2.55USD per loaf, assuming there is no price fixing like what Loblaw admitted to doing.

So lets follow the process.  Farmer sells his wheat to the mill.  Somebody transports it for them.  Mill then grinds the wheat up into flower.  Mill then sells flower to the baker.  Somebody transports it for them.  Baker adds the other ingredients to make bread and he bakes it.  Baker then sells his bread to the grocery store.  Somebody transports it for them.  The store then sells bread to the consumer who then transports it home.  Granted that there are lots of stores that fulfill multiple steps in this distribution chain, but the process is basically the same.  We also cannot forget the storage facilities, warehouses and other logistical processes required to make this all work.  Each time somebody touches that bushel of grain, the price goes up.  

As a result, $14.50 worth of raw materials has now been inflated to $229.50 of finished products, an increase of 15.83 times the original price.  Because of the farmers costs, he only made $0.38 on the bushel of wheat.  That still does not take into consideration the environmental costs of all that fuel moving stuff around all over the place.  

Can I do it cheaper and far more economically?  Absolutely! How?  By cutting out the middle man, the vast majority of the transportation and shipping costs, the expensive machinery and doing it all myself.  Granted that it is probably cheaper, time wise, for me to work a job making $30 to $50 per hour as I could then purchase that loaf of bread for 3 - 6 minutes of work.  However, that is not the point.  The point is to reduce the ecological, environmental and transportation costs of how the industrial system makes bread.  

We pick up a bushel of wheat for about $20.00.  That way the farmer makes way more money!  We purchased our own mill so that we can mill the wheat into flour, depending on what we are making.   This mill has been fantastic and it is well over 10 years old and milling strong!  A new one today costs about $300.00

Then we purchased a sieve (40) so that we could take out the wheat germ to make lighter bread or bran muffins.  If you get a 60 then you can make pastry with that fine sifting.

In the end, we get two loaves of bread.  No middle men.  No transportation.  I estimate that it costs us about $0.35 a loaf when we take the wheat, other ingredients, wood or propane into consideration for baking.  We don't count our labour because it is donated.  Our labour is love, sacred and priceless, especially when we are doing it for ourselves, our health and well being.  Nobody can put a price on that.  


This process also guarantees that we are not consuming chemicals and other byproducts used by the industrial food system.  The industrial food system may be extremely efficient at pumping out millions of widgets each day.  But the costs and energy to do that far exceed what the environment can manage.  If we want to address the environmental concerns, it is time we take back the responsibility that we have so willingly turned over to the agricultural industrial complex.  Time to take back our food!  

Sort:  

YES! Cutting out the middleman also gives the farmer security by not having to rely on the volatile commodities market which also means that at times they have to nearly give away crops. We prefer to settle on a price that both parties feel is fair...and avoid basing it on the commodities market. Commodities markets are such a vile evil. Bravo for taking a step even further to not support the abuse of farming families through that economic manipulation tool.

Yes. The Federal Government setup the Task Force on Agriculture in the 60's and wrote their White Paper which recommended getting ride of the family farm event though they recognized that the family farm is the most efficient method of food production. They wiped it out in favor of managing food production. That is the start of the commercialization and industrialization of the food system. It has been a violent take over ever since. Vile Evil is a good term to use.

Brother,@wwf... I want to talk to you about...Stewards of Terra Mater.
... You're doing great... And I'm so glad I'm with you in this group.
My idea is simple: I don't understand much how Steemit works hehe...
But I think you can pull 500 $ (delegated) out of my wallet and give it to other someone ...
That way we can help other and it will be positive for the group...
My strength is not in my account... My strength in the group that around me and friends who are around me now in Steemit...
Thank you, brother.@wwf
peace to you

My friend, I respect your desire to pay it forward as it appears you are well on your way to Graduating Life with Honours. You recognize that it is not about the money but your relationships! You see strength in the people around you and that is an honourable and noteworthy accomplishment. I will withdraw my delegation to you and help another individual. You are a true spiritual warrior and I respect you a great deal. <3 May Creator bless you with peace, freedom, prosperity, joy and love!

Yes you are right.brother @wwf .. We're lucky we don't buy bread... We make bread ourselves... We need $30 worth of wheat and enough for a month (10 members in the family) and it is very tasty and does not contain chemicals
My mother made this bread, and my wife learned it from my mother, and she makes it every day.

Those skills are so important eh! Bravo to you and your family. I'm actually tempted to get an old fashioned stone grinder just so that we can mill wheat by hand. I think it would be very cool! Family of 10 on $30 a month. That is very good!

i have old fashioned ... but i can't send it to you heheh

You are in possession of gold my friend!

Thanks for crunching those numbers. That really puts it into perspective! I used to bake whole grain sourdough bread and I miss it terribly! It's been about 3 years since I've baked it. We left our homestead in California nearly 3 years ago, but spent several months in a travel trailer looking for a property to buy. When we finally found our homestead, a week before snow hit N.Idaho, it was an empty 40x50 polebarn shop, so we parked the trailer inside and started framing our 2 story home within. During this time, we've also been dealing with major food allergies and sensitivities for one of my four children. We are focusing on gut-healing, so lots of fermented foods like kraut, goat kefir, water kefir & fermented veggies.
Back in California, I was making sourdough from scratch with freshly ground wheat and oats. We were even looking into growing our own, but now we have drastically cut our bread intake for the whole family because she misses it so very much and it just would not be fair to have fresh baked bread in the house if she can't have any. I'm working on a teff grain sourdough to see if she can tolerate that. I had thought about it before, but held off because I used to think it was only grown in Africa & India. We try to source as many local products as we can when possible, but that is a huge challenge when dealing with multiple allergies and the strange, sometimes exotic substitutes we use. Anyway, I just read that it's being grown here in Idaho! All the more reason to keep working on a teff sourdough starter!

Wow. thank you for sharing. Have you looked into the possibility that the allergies that you are dealing with within your family are actual allergies or instead are caused by sensitivities to glyphosate or other agricultural chemicals? Working on the gut is a wonderful process and I think you and my wife should connect. She is writing about food and other stuff like this as well. She is a homeopath and works hard to find alternative healing modalities as well too. @carey-page

We have been dealing with her issues since she was a month old. We've been eating organic, Non-GMO for at least 5 years now. It was hit and miss before then. ( I wish I'd known then what I know now!) I was bullied into the H1N1 shot while pregnant with her, which I regretted immediately. Aside from that, we went through all avenues we could find including UCSF Pediatrics, Stanford Pediatric Allergists & Dermatologists. All they recommended were steroid creams and soak & seal with petroleum based ointment. Then we also went to chiropractors and NAET practitioners, energy healers. We are currently seeing a nutritionist and a naturopath that is well versed in homeopathy, but we're not seeing any big changes. I'm always open to another opinion and am constantly reading and trying to learn more. I will send her a message by commenting on one of her posts tomorrow. Thank you.

I'm not sure if I can add anything. Not my area of expertise. My wife may have some suggestions as she is a healer. @carey-page

Thank you. I've sent her a reply to her post: :https://steemit.com/cooking/@carey-page/sourdough-pasta .

I have been baking bread for years, more than 40 years. It just is so much better for you. This year I will buy a mill and grind the grain we grow this year. It is our first effort so we are keeping our fingers crossed. The land here is difficult to work with but we are making progress!

I am a firm believer in cutting out the middleman whenever possible. The prices are so overinflated.

Bravo to you! What kind of mill are you looking at? Going for the big stone mill? ;)

I would love one, but I need to remember that I need to carry it home and set it up! :)

Huh, I never thought about making my own bread, I DIY a lot of meals but now I want to make some bread. We waste so much store bought food, I have everything to make this at home and not spend 3 bucks a week that sometimes just gets fed to the birds.

Seriously I am making some bread today ... #inspired

Wonderful to hear that you are interested in baking your own bread! Send pictures and let us know how it went. To be honest, my wife does the baking, so this is her creation, not mine!

What stands out the most to me cost wise is all the transport between each process. That transport has so much higher cost than money alone.

I agree. transportation costs are so crazy. We ship stuff all over the world. Lots of food spoil in the process. I think it is insane to ship raw materials to other countries, have them add value only to turn around and sell it back. Happens all the time. We should be doing the value add locally and only ship the high value items rather than the raw materials. If we are going to ship stuff, lets make sure that it is worth while shipping.

Plus, the price is always rising, while the resources' price not so much.

My mother makes her own bread, I sadly resort to buying as my life is bustling with activity and I have no time for those things as Im deeply entwined with the system - I'm young so I am still trying to get stuff I call my own... a field and a house is what I want in order to be able to grow my own stuff.

For now, I'm still a slave of the system... but I have no means yet.

Still, when my mom sends me her extra bread, it's just better... made with a motherly love :D

Nothing better than mom's cooking or baking eh Max! I agree, prices rise yet resources stagnate. I associate that to inflation, price controls on commodities, corporate greed and other factors. When I was 18 - 20, I worked for the local farmer. They farmed 3000 acres and I hauled wheat, barley, oats and canola to the elevator. I remember wheat being $2 - $3 a bushel. Canola at the time was about $8 which meant good money for them. Prices have not changed much but bread is not $0.50 either is it. You are so right. The middle men do indeed take a lot.

Enjoy your moms baking! It is precious!

Sort of shocking when you run the numbers like that. But, if you do the same in every industry, especially the necessities of life, it all works the same way.

I agree. I could do this for every industry and come up with similar numbers. I think I made my point with bread as everyone can relate to it. But you are right, it applies to everything. Sadly. :( But we can fix that by taking back the value add process and doing it ourselves. It make take longer and is more work, but I think we can have a SIGNIFICANT impact on the environment, the control the middle men have and the corporate take over of the world as a result. These are important aspects to consider when we evaluate whether it is worth while doing this or not.

Can the wondermill make it into white flour and remove the hull entirely? Technically wheat is on my allergy list but I can get away with white flour without breaking out. Whole wheat, however, causes a pretty bad rash. Ergo, I bake from scratch but I am buying flour and all in the store. :)

The mill just grinds it all up. The wire sieves are what separates out the husk and wheat germ. If you got a very fine mesh, I suspect you would catch the vast majority of it. That is what 'white flour' is, well, except they also add bleaching agents to make it look white. So you would be saving yourself those ingredients too. Have you tried it to see if it works?

No, I just have been getting unbleached white flour for now. But perhaps someday I can try this!

I hope it works out for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59