Sourdough Pasta

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)


With all of the recipes that I have seen on Steemit, I have been inspired to do more.  Rob still eats grains and I have decided that if he is going to eat them then I will find healthier alternatives.  I made sourdough starter a number of weeks ago and have been making sourdough bread and biscuits.  I decided to find a recipe for pasta.  Pasta is something that he loves to eat. So here is my recipe:

Sourdough Pasta

4 cups flour 

4 eggs

1 cup sourdough starter

Combine all ingredients into a well formed ball. Note: the dough may be stiff and dry in the beginning but with some needing it will soften.  

Cover the ball with plastic wrap to lock in moisture and drape a towel over the bowl. Let it sit and ferment. It will need to sit for 6 to 8 hours.

With a rolling pin  roll it out into a rectangular shape.  Cut into strips a bit smaller than your pasta machine. If the dough is sticky dust with flour.

Starting at the widest with on your pasta machine run your strips through. Change widths as you go to get thinner and thinner.  Your strips will get very long as you get thinner so it is nice to have a second pair of hands to help to it doesn't crumple.

Once you have reached the desired with of your pasta then it is time to use the cutter.  

Allow the pasta to dry.  I found the spaghetti pasta needed less drying than the linguine.  You can use a drying rack or put a sheet on the table and allow them to dry that way.  Using the sheet on the table it takes longer.  

This pasta can then be cut and frozen or eaten right away.

pasta dough after it has risen.  I used milled flour that is why my pasta will be brownish. I sifted the flour using my size 40 sifter.  It does not get all the wheat germ and bran out, but it does get quite a bit of it out.  


Here is my pasta machine.  


Look at that nice flatten dough. 


It is good to have extra hands.  I didn't realize it would get this long.


spaghetti pasta. I found it was very delicate.  


Linguine pasta.  These were easier to deal with. 

It was a fun afternoon, @harvardhomestead came over and helped. It was very nice to have the extra hands. She walked us through the process since she has made pasta before.  It was nice to have her expertise. It was a great day to share with her. We had a beautiful chicory coffee after with sourdough cookies and muffins.   

Here is link to @harvardhomestead's post.  She used the same recipe and made pasta bows. She makes it look very easy.  

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@harvardhomestead/sourdough-pasta-part-two

Sort:  

Congratulations @carey-page! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Now i want to go get a pasta cutter!!!
This is fabulous!!
Do you have a starter recipe? Did i miss a post on that??

I bought the pasta cutter at London Drugs for less that $40. That was at Christmas time. I do have a starter recipe. I didn't post it. It is a really easy starter recipe. I guess I should do a post. I didn't think that I should do a post on the starter because others did that post already. However this is a good starter for us northerners. At least I think so.

I would be excited to try your recipe. I have not had much success with the ones online.
It's so much healthier for us!

Yes it is healthier. I will try to do a post today.

Very nice! My experience with whole wheat flour is it needs much more time than white flour to make it work. Fortunately, we can walk away while it's doing its thing. Thank you so much for sharing. I have to try this.

In my excitement of posting this recipe I forgot to mention that I did sift the flour with my size 40 sifter. It takes most of the bran and wheat germ but not all.

Sorry for forgetting that step. I will adjust the post.

Bravo! I am sure that will definitely help with the texture to be more consistent! We can then use the very nutritious bran and wheat germ for another purpose. Thank you.

It was such a lovely visit! I look forward to other sourdough explorations together...especially perogies!

Yes sourdough perogies, I forgot about that. I am glad you were able to come over. :)

Just to be clear: you used sourdough to make the wholemeal flour work? You haven't clearly stated it was a wholemeal flour anywhere :)
What does the sourdough change in the recipe?

Yes you are right I was not clear on that, so sorry. I have adjusted the post. I used my size 40 sifter to sift out some of the bran and wheat germ.

"Sourdough is prebiotic which helps to support the gut microbiome. The wild yeast and lactobacillus in the leaven neutralizes the phytic acid as the bread proves through the acidification of the bread. This prevents the effects of the phytic acid and makes the bread easier for us to digest." - The sourdough School

I wasn't the sharpest knife in the biology drawer, really but will catch up one day. Thanks for the quote.

Thank you for catching the whole wheat issue. I spend many hours researching so I can get it. Don't be hard on yourself. You are doing just perfect! We learn by asking questions.

Don't worry it's pretty much only biology that I can say that about ;)

So interesting, never heard of sourdough pasta before, eager to try this method!

Thank you. I had never heard of it before either. I just thought to look it up and see if there was such a thing.

Years ago they used sourdough all the time. I read somewhere that on the really cold nights they would sleep with the sourdough starter to keep it warm. It was that important at one time.

This is great ..@carey-page. Making this by yourself .. makes you feel especially sweet when you eat it ... hehe

Rob tells me that it is really good. I have not had any.

Thanks for your comment. :)

I think brother Rob told you this. For you don't ask him to buy Pasta.... lol
I'm kidding... I hope Rob does not read this comment

Haha, not sure if he will or not. He often reads my stuff.

Have a great day! :)

Yum! It's been years since I've made pasta from scratch, although it wasn't sourdough based, so I think this recipe would be even tastier and of course, better for us. I have 4 children, one of which has some skin issues, allergy issues and gut issues-all intertwined, of course. But those allergies/sensitivities include wheat, eggs & dairy.

@wwf referred me to you when I replied to his post https://steemit.com/ungrip/@wwf/the-real-cost-of-a-loaf-of-bread. He mentioned that you are also into homeopathy and alternative healing methods and thought I should contact you. I'm not sure what the best way is to connect. I'm still learning the ropes of Steemit and Discord.

I feel like we've tried everything we could think of including traditional and non-traditional methods. We are currently seeing a naturopath that also works with homeopathy and herbalism. We have also been working with a nutritionist on gut healing. I can send you more details, but don't want to hijack this thread. Any advice or ideas are appreciated. Thank you.

Hi there @crowbarmama, I am very willing to connect with you to talk. I think we should chat privately my discord name is carey-page #3438. If you can contact me we can chat. I will see what we can come up with.

I will try. I'm not sure how to look up a person on Discord. My discord name is same as my name here CrowbarMama, but I'm only on a couple servers. I don't know how to search for someone outside of Homesteadersonline or Steemit Iron Chef.

I was able to finally send a request from my laptop. Looking forward to chatting with you. Thanks.

Is this recipe possible to dry for long term storage or does it need to always be refridgerated?

Long term storage, the pasta will need to be put in the freezer.

I make pasta but never tried the sourdough! You have given the inspiration to try this. We enjoy the homemade pasta with the sauce I made this past summer.

It sounds like it would taste great with homemade pasta. I have decided to try as many different sourdough recipes as I can. It is so much better to eat than non sourdough recipes.

I hope you have as much fun making sourdough pasta as I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54