You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The real cost of a loaf of bread

in #ungrip7 years ago

Thanks for crunching those numbers. That really puts it into perspective! I used to bake whole grain sourdough bread and I miss it terribly! It's been about 3 years since I've baked it. We left our homestead in California nearly 3 years ago, but spent several months in a travel trailer looking for a property to buy. When we finally found our homestead, a week before snow hit N.Idaho, it was an empty 40x50 polebarn shop, so we parked the trailer inside and started framing our 2 story home within. During this time, we've also been dealing with major food allergies and sensitivities for one of my four children. We are focusing on gut-healing, so lots of fermented foods like kraut, goat kefir, water kefir & fermented veggies.
Back in California, I was making sourdough from scratch with freshly ground wheat and oats. We were even looking into growing our own, but now we have drastically cut our bread intake for the whole family because she misses it so very much and it just would not be fair to have fresh baked bread in the house if she can't have any. I'm working on a teff grain sourdough to see if she can tolerate that. I had thought about it before, but held off because I used to think it was only grown in Africa & India. We try to source as many local products as we can when possible, but that is a huge challenge when dealing with multiple allergies and the strange, sometimes exotic substitutes we use. Anyway, I just read that it's being grown here in Idaho! All the more reason to keep working on a teff sourdough starter!

Sort:  

Wow. thank you for sharing. Have you looked into the possibility that the allergies that you are dealing with within your family are actual allergies or instead are caused by sensitivities to glyphosate or other agricultural chemicals? Working on the gut is a wonderful process and I think you and my wife should connect. She is writing about food and other stuff like this as well. She is a homeopath and works hard to find alternative healing modalities as well too. @carey-page

We have been dealing with her issues since she was a month old. We've been eating organic, Non-GMO for at least 5 years now. It was hit and miss before then. ( I wish I'd known then what I know now!) I was bullied into the H1N1 shot while pregnant with her, which I regretted immediately. Aside from that, we went through all avenues we could find including UCSF Pediatrics, Stanford Pediatric Allergists & Dermatologists. All they recommended were steroid creams and soak & seal with petroleum based ointment. Then we also went to chiropractors and NAET practitioners, energy healers. We are currently seeing a nutritionist and a naturopath that is well versed in homeopathy, but we're not seeing any big changes. I'm always open to another opinion and am constantly reading and trying to learn more. I will send her a message by commenting on one of her posts tomorrow. Thank you.

I'm not sure if I can add anything. Not my area of expertise. My wife may have some suggestions as she is a healer. @carey-page

Thank you. I've sent her a reply to her post: :https://steemit.com/cooking/@carey-page/sourdough-pasta .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45