Going with the flow - when life takes another turn

in #ungrip6 years ago

The ebb current is the flow of tidal water as it rushes out to sea and the flood current is the flow of water as it rushes onto the land.  While tides ebb and flood twice a day, we also experience the expansion and contraction forces during periods of our lives.  This is how nature works and if we don't find a way to go with the flow, we could find ourselves swept out to sea.

My wife and I are now at the point where we flooded our lives in order to raise our children and look after Carey's mom.  With the boys gone we find that we don't need all the resources we have.  So we are confronted with making some significant choices as the two of us can no longer keep up with all the infrastructure we built or all the animals either.

We also find ourselves not feeling free yet.  It may sound strange to most people, but despite all the efforts we made to be free, we still feel some areas of our lives are still very restricting, requiring significant modifications.  As we work on our freedom, our desire to be free continues to grow stronger and stronger.  Our capacity to see the violence towards us and others continues to grow on a daily basis.  It is astounding how 15 years of effort working towards freedom has shown just how deeply ingrained our slavery actually was.  When we made the move onto the land we felt 'free'.  

Then our eyes opened even more.  

The slavery from the state was difficult to see and unwind from.  But the slavery that was even more insidious was actually that which was imposed on us by other slaves.  People who do not comprehend what we do, engage in abusive behaviours to try and keep us from moving forward with our plans.  We are prepared to walk away from the land that we have stewarded for over a decade to make this change.  We feel we are ready to make a stand against the state and others regarding this land.  If they resort to violence then our plans allow for us to go mobile and travel as we help others.  If we successfully and peacefully defend this land from the colonizers, then we will have found a way to break the bonds of those last few relationships that continue to enslave us.

We were held back from these kinds of drastic measures as we had dependents.  We did not want to take risks that would jeopardize our ability to look after our two boys.  They have both grown up and moved away from home and we will soon have no more dependents.  That opens up the possibilities to take risks that we would not normally take.  

While we take this drastic shift in life, we will be doing a lot of down sizing.  While most people start to enjoy the wealth that they accumulated in their life, we decided to take a different path.  Over the next 10 - 12 months, I will blog about our journey as we build a tiny home and prepare for the next phase of our lives as we work hard to cut the last remaining ties we have to those who feel compelled to enslave us through their violence, blindness and entitlement.  

To the Stewards of Terra Mater

I pray that my support has helped all of you find the inspiration, publicity and steem to move your blogging careers forward on this platform.  I am very proud of the progress that many of you have made.  In order for me to make these changes, I need the steem that I've accumulated over the last 10 months while blogging here myself.  I know that my influence on this platform has been significant and I will continue to blog here for the foreseeable future.  I'm not going away, but my voting power will take a hit as I power down to fund this next phase of our lives. 

As of the end of day tomorrow, I will be withdrawing all the steem that I've delegated to people and start powering down.  If anybody wants to purchase steem, I am open to doing that privately rather than through exchanges.

I thought that the price of steem would go up significantly which would have completely funded my project idea to setup a world class training facility here on this land.  A program to teach people the skills they need to be able to live off the land as we do.  That has not transpired and I can no longer wait for it to happen.  As such, I feel Spirit needs me to take a slightly different approach. 

We will build a tiny home over the next 10 months giving us the capacity to travel around the land helping others get setup.  

So while the Stewards of Terra Mater existed here on the Steem Blockchain, I've decided to move the Stewards of Terra Mater into the real world and help people physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually get setup to be sacred stewards of Mother Earth.  

Big changes ahead, but please know that I am not leaving this blockchain.  I will continue to blog and share our journey as we make these changes.  I came here to share and make friends.  I've done that successfully.  The steem was a bonus and I'll use it now to help us take that next step towards spiritual, emotional, mental and physical freedom.  

Peace to you all.  I love you.

Sort:  

Hugs of Gratitude!
You gave a great boost when I needed it. I offer any help I can give you on this new phase of your plan!

May your plans be realized and fulfill you both.

Hugs @wwf and @carey-page.
If your eventual helpful travels bring you as far south as the Ozarks, know that you have a place to rest and recharge here at Borrowed Earth.

Thank you. I will be sharing our journey as we move forward. When I need help, I will ask. You can count on that! <3 Peace to you. It was an honour helping people like yourself. I will be here to continue my work, so I'm not going away.

I remember your facebook post when you first contemplated this transition. Then it was going to be major and abrupt change. I am glad you were able to get the time better reflect and prepare for it.

I look forward to learning from the knowledge you will continue to share here. Your neighbours are really missing out on a golden opportunity, not being able to see what truly is in front/beside them.

Being more mobile, you will be able to easier teach and assist those that want that opportunity and will appreciate to learn from you and Carey's humble leadership.

For some reason I have the Littlest Hobo theme song in my head. :-) He too solved problems and brought peace.

Thank you Scott. Yes, they indeed missed out. They did not govern themselves well at all. We will see how this unfolds. I look forward to being a witness to it all.

I have only just seen this as I have been away from steemit for a short while. I want to thank you and wish you guys all the best with the path that you are choosing to take! You have helped so many people, myself included and I am excited for your new adventures! I am sure you will be able to reach so many more people whilst traveling and spirit will provide I have no doubt 😊 Sending you guys so much love and support from across the ocean! If you ever make it across the waters I would love to come meet you guys xxx

Thank you. While our lives are going to change once again, my participation here won't ... for the foreseeable future. I appreciate the best wishes and expressions of gratitude. I decided to try a different approach to my blog, so I'm going to write a short story. See how it goes. If you enjoy it, please let me know. Peace to you.

I am honored that you have helped me grow and that you are still being a part of this community. I am thrilled that you are doing what is right and what is for the better. Many blessings to you and yours and towards your journey.

Thank you. I'm not going anywhere. Can't get ride of me that easy. lol

Change is the only constant! Love to you both. We might see each other in person, sooner than we think! Truly ungripping you are!!

I was also off the grid for the past few days. So had to pop by your blog to investigate what's up. Blessings, and much love to you and Carey on your continued journey together ❤❤❤

The only constant is indeed change. All the best to you! Thank-you for your boost & encouragement along the way.

For me i freaked out when my kids started leaving the nest. And as they grew older and needed me less the freedom became kinda a burden bc now what will i do with all the free time lol.
I always had lots of animals to keep me busy i love to care for others its just something thats in me. Now my bf on the other hand always wants to travel and be free with nothing to hold him back. I think we have two very different looks on life but we manage. I cant just give up my pets that i made a life commitment to so he will have to just wait till they pass haha. We go with the flow as well 💜

Empty nest was a huge transition for us, but we are getting comfortable with the changes and enjoying life with just the two of us once again. It is always a journey. Thank you for taking the time to comment and share! Always a pleasure!

What?!
You and Carey.. are leaving? Oh no... My heart is literally breaking. I have found such wisdom with your posts.. your journey.. your knowledge. I am... but... speechless right now.

I wish you and Carey ALL the best God's Earth has to offer you both. You are both gentle souls and will be sorely missed.

I can't even begin to tell you how much spiritually your words, posts and support have given me over the last twelve months.

Blessings to you both. Much love...

We are not leaving this blockchain my friend. I did say I would continue to blog here for a long time to come. But we are preparing for a major change again in our lives which requires that I power down my account. That won't stop me from blogging though! I hope that helps calm your reaction as we are not leaving steem. <3

WHEW
I was in a frazzled state of mind!
Now I feel better!
😁

lol. You panicked my friend. You did not read everything I wrote. hahaha

I think I went into blind denial and skipped some words... Oh goodness

I forgive you. Lesson learned. Water under the bridge. Moving on.

It has been a while since I have been on steem. Lost our internet for a few days which we knew could happen given the storms occurring. Weather is still hot and looks like it will continue for a while longer. The head cheese held a large party a few days ago with lots of fireworks, but not before he cleaned house and took over a patio or two for his expected guests.

Lots of changes happening to my friends. I am looking forward to hearing more. I too am looking at downsizing. I am getting too old to look after so much. It is time for me to take a close look at my future too. A tiny home sounds like a great idea. Other friends have just bought an RV to travel the world. Sounds inviting...I still don't know what an empty nest feels like. As some leave, others come to stay. It definitely is an ebb and flow of life and I try to just follow the flow.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43