常用的英语idioms(九)

in #ulog3 years ago (edited)

1)take its toll:
to cause damage 造成损失
例句:Is it hard having a new baby in the house?
Yes. Having to carry the baby around every time she cries takes its toll on my body.
家里有个新宝宝不容易吧?
是的。宝宝每次哭的时候必须扛着她真的消耗体力。

2)can't make heads or tails (of it):you don't understand sth. 搞不清头尾;搞不懂状况

3)at bay:陷入困境;陷入绝境 keep stress at bay 缓解压力

4)concern oneself with:
研究的对象是;关心;关注;为...忧虑
例句:The writer of the second text concerns THEMSELF WITH the inertia of talking about sensitive feelings.

5)lay bare:揭露,暴露 THE Pandemic has laid bare our vulnerabilities.

6)come out of the woodwork:show up 突然冒出
If you won the lottery, I'm sure that people would come out of the woodwork.

7)at each other's throats:互相攻击
例句:The boys are always at each other's throats. They can't ever get along!

8)have my heart set on:to have decided on sth. you really, really want. 一心想要做某事
I have my heart set on Tiananmen.我的心飞到了天安门。

9)catch my drift:understand the hidden meaning 理解言外之意

10)come as no surprise to:不令...感到吃惊;不足为奇

11)on clearance(sale):清仓换季价

12)to give props to:to give proper respect to someone 给予某人适度尊敬

13)on top of that:in addition to that除此之外;最重要的是

14)have at it:a)have (a go) at it;give it a try; go ahead 试一试;你试试(挺难的,不是吗?)
b)attack 袭击

15)come into one's own:得到自己应得的东西;盛行起来

a)come into:unexpectedly be in a fortuitous situation, most often in relation to money 意外得到(好运或财富)
例句:I booked a holiday because I came into money recently.
b)come into:to become effective or reach your true potential 兴盛起来;潜力迸发

例句:The team came into their own after a few games and won the league.
c)come into:to be an aspect of a situation充当...角色

例句:I just want to be happy in my future. Money doesn't come into it at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34