常用的英语idioms(一)

in #ulog3 years ago (edited)

1)up in the air:If a decision or situation is up in the air, it means it's still uncertain. It hasn't been completedly decided or planned yet.
悬而未决

2)get/have the handle on sth.:understand sth. really well
很好地理解

3)in the first place:首先;一开始Usually, this phrase is used at the end of a sentence to indicate what should have been done at the very beginning of a situation.

You should have told me that in the first place.

4)for what it's worth:It is an informal expression and it's usually said at the beginning of the sentence.非正式短语,通常用于句首。
This phrase is used when you're telling someone something and you are not sure if that information is useful or important.
当你告诉某人某事,但并不确定你讲的是否重要或有用时,句首前用for what it's worth. 我窃以为类似for my part就我而言。
例如:I'm sorry to hear you lost your job. For what it's worth, I think you made a right decision confronting your boss.

5)to think on your feet:反应灵敏
to make a quick decision or give an answer quickly

6)to keep someone on their toes:to force someone to stay active, alert and focused on sth. or someone
迫使某人警觉或关注某人/某事
My kids always keep me on my toes.

7)to play it by ear:to act spontaneously and according to the situation.见机行事;现场发挥;随机应变

例如:"Where will we stay in Chicago?"
"Oh, I guess a bed-and-breakfast place. I'm not sure yet. We'll have to play it by ear."

8)play it off:假装;故作轻松/潇洒
to pretend as if something that you did by accident(usually something embarassing) was planned or intended;and act like it doesn't bother you.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36