常用的英语idioms(七)

in #ulog3 years ago (edited)

1)go to bat for someone:not only support someone by words, but doing sth. for them 不仅口头上支持,更从行为上支持
例如:I like to go to bat for people who deserve it.

2)take the high road:take morally correct road/path 走高端路线;高姿态

3)run into the ground:to mismanage to a point of ruin;to wear out, especially through excessive use;to discuss ad nauseam
例句:a)Although he has an MBA from Harvard, he still ran the company into the ground.
b)I figure this car has a few more years left in it and I intend to run it into the ground before I purchase another.
c)You've run the upcoming election into the ground and I simply won't listen to another word about it.

4)in tip-top shape:excellent;the best;the highest point
My car is in tip-top shape.

5)super-duper:Use it when people want to emphasize something 极好的

6)in my salad days(from Shakespere来自莎士比亚著作):青葱岁月

7)to throw a softball:give sb. a very easy question 给人一个简单的问题

8)the punch line:the culminating part of a joke, funny story, event, that gives it its humorous and dramatic point.
笑话或警句令人发笑的最后一行

9)half a battle:a significant part of an effort;the keystone to success
有助于成功的条件

10)to walk all over sb.:to treat someone or something very badly;to beat sb. or sth. soundly in a competition
欺负人;起到某人脖子上

11)nothing short of (a miracle):to add a lot of emphasis to sth. 用于强调
it wasn't short of a miracle; it arrived at being a miracle.
绝对,恰恰(是奇迹)

12)accept the post of:接受...的职位

13)not have two nickels to rub together:to be extremely poor;to have very little money or no money to spend. primarily heard in US.
极度贫穷(主要用于美式英语中)

14)bursting at the seams:胀破接缝;吃的肚子都撑破了

例句:I ate so much I thought I'd burst at the seams.

15)a nail-biter:really nervous 紧张局势That was a nail-biter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37