Ulog6: Two new silver coins – and a cool case to store them in!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

It was so much fun getting some new coins that I had to go find some more different ones, and they arrived today. We also ordered a coin storage box, and some storage capsules, from AliExpress. The box arrived today too, but we’re still waiting for the capsules.

Before we get down to the nitty gritty, here’s a pic (with some @sift666 special effects) of our cat inspecting the new set up to see what’s going on:

Christo&silver-GoArt7.jpg

Year of the Rooster

The first coin is a Nuie Island coin celebrating 2017, the Year of the Rooster. The first photo I took, when the light was good, must have had some cat fur on it, so I had to take it again and it's not as good.

silver-rooster1.jpg

I think I'd better put in the first one too, even with the fluff!

silver-rooster.jpg

One of the interesting features of this coin is that it’s a combination of matt silver and shiny silver. It’s quite effective and pretty, isn’t it?

silver-rooster2.jpg

The same effect is on the back, except instead of the background being shiny, it’s the Queen’s head that’s shiny, and the background is matt.

Year of the Horse

This is a Royal Mint coin celebrating 2014, the Year of the Horse, so it’s official name is the Lunar Horse.

silver-horse1.jpg

There’s some very nice detailing in the horse’s tail and mane. And here’s the back.

silver-horse2.jpg

Is it just me, or is this picture of the Queen a bit overlarge?

If any kiwis are wondering where they came from, I got them on Trade Me from seller @startel

And speaking of bullion sellers, I suggested to the guys from MyGold, who sell bullion for cryptos, that they set up an account here. I’m sure you’d all love to hear from them

The storage box

It cost us about NZ$25 on AliExpress and it holds 20 standard sized coins in capsules. Here’s what it looks like on the outside.

storage-box.jpg

So far we only have 4 coins in capsules. The bar we got from @firecajun9262 can sit in it too, but the Vicksburg doesn’t fit. It’s just propped up for the photo.

storage-box2.jpg

When the capsules arrive, another 3 will be added, then I’ll start gradually whittling away at my wish list. Here’s another @sift666 image.

Christo&silver-GoArt1.jpg

Wish List

No rush, but some of the others I’d love to have:

• 2010 Austrian Philharmonic 1oz
• 2018 Steem round
• Perth Mint 1oz bar with dragon
• Some more lunars
• And there are some nice coins featuring NZ and Australian wildlife

Thanks for reading

Photos by me and @sift666

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

the case is beautiful and the little piece with horse is love

Yes, isn't it lovely :-)

Anyone would think Mr Ratbag was being helpful!

You want to spank him don't you?

Well, he thought he was being helpful.

I think you're hook now. Those are some beautiful designed rounds you picked up. I can see you are enjoying your new found hobby. Your wish list will grow as you find new designs. Thanks for sharing. Keep stackin my friend.

Yes, I'm sure the more you get, you more others you see! Still, no rush, is there? Though now is probably a good time to buy, price-wise.

Better order a dozen boxes one is not going to cut it. :-)

Oh no, the boxes cost as much as the coins! Better to get a dozen new coins. We'll just keep a selection of the interesting ones in the display box.

Now you have to find a hiding place for the stash. :-)

wonderful mam beautiful mam coin collection is your hobby?

A little bit of a hobby, sometimes.

It's awesome to see you stacking @kiwideb!! And I really love @sift666's images... they're beautiful!! You started your silver stacking journey with some awesome pieces!!

We did already have some eagles and maples. But it's much more fun having a variety of interesting pieces.

Gods, that is such a cool hobby! ... I may just collecting coins too ^^ ... I have seen some crypto-themed ones which would be fun to collect.

And no, it's not just you... The second queen head does look a little too big for the coin.

Aaannd... Here is the link for the mandala ;) : https://goo.gl/stP4Zy

Ooh, thanks, I've downloaded it now. I'm going to make it into a screen saver, so it pops up and gives me a lovely surprise from time to time. Might put it on my desktop too.

That first coin is so cool, well the all are, i really need to get my act together and start getting some more coins

I think it's one of those things that happens in fits and starts. You get all fired up for a bit, then don't do anything for ages. But seeing other people's interesting coins then gets you interested again.

@kiwideb So Far I dont have muchother than two of each years Steemit Rounds

Wow.....that's quite a collection @kiwideb and a very interesting variety.

Hoping to one day have even more variety ;-)

Awesome! It's a great hobby to have and will hopefully be a great investment for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52