Ulog No. 44: "Cleaning the Spare Room"

in #ulog6 years ago

The spare room (or we call it the third room) has always been an eyesore for me. It has always been in its messy state and I've never had a chance to clean it. I just focus on cleaning the house (when I am enthused) but I always leave that third room out.

The other reason why I say that room is an eyesore was that of this big furniture that was taking up too much space. It is a study table with big chest drawers on the side (see picture below).

ulog43.jpg

So I thought I needed to get rid of this furniture so that the room would be able to function better and it would be easier for me to clean it every time. This room has two single beds and a built-in wardrobe, and because of this study table, those two single beds were positioned in an L-shape and on the side of the single bed is where the study table was.

I asked John, my husband, first if we could just sell the study table. He agreed. I advertised it on the Facebook page (for local Buy, Swap and Sell $100 and under) and offered it for $100 or nearest offer. There were a few people who showed interest, but then John didn't want to sell it at a lower price. I was disappointed. So on Saturday night, I somehow lost enthusiasm to clean the spare room again.

John felt that I was quite upset about it. I told him that people would not buy the second-hand study table for $100. They'd rather pay a bit more and buy a brand new study table instead. In the end, I was able to convince him and probably much to his disgust, the furniture would be sold at a lower price.

When he finally agreed again to sell the table, I replied to this woman who wanted to buy it. She said that she would be here at our house to pick it up first thing in the morning. I was quite excited. I woke up at 8 AM (or 7 AM if it weren't for DST) and dusted and polished the furniture because the lady said she'd be here around 9-10 AM.

John helped me dismantle it so we could take it out of the house as it's really big that it will just fit in the doorway, but will be difficult to manouevre or PIVOT to get it out of the room as the hallway is very narrow.

GIF source

The lady came just before 11 AM and said she didn't realise that the time had gone 1 hour forward. John helped her put all the parts inside her station wagon and everything fit perfectly in her car. I was concerned how she would be able to take everything out of her car. I don't know if she was a single mum or if she had a partner that could help her lift the furniture. So I inboxed her also to thank her for buying it.

jess.jpg

I was relieved. Now, I could proceed to clean the spare room. It knew it would take me a few hours on Sunday and the rest I will continue on Monday. True to his word (I wrote a couple of days ago he'd help me), John helped me clean the room. He vacuumed the windows, blinds, ceiling fan and vents (those that I would not be able to reach). Then I vacuumed, mopped and waxed the floor. I also wiped the blinds with a damp cloth. Right now, it is still not finished. I am resting and thought I'd write this post. I will take a photo of the outcome of our combined effort and labour.

In the meantime, here are some photos of the progress:

spare1.jpg
John fixed the Foxtel cable TV powerpoints as he found out the people that installed it did a poor job. He hates discovering poor worksmanship done in our house. He hates a "that's-good-enough job" or a "that'll-do job" so yeah, his job never ends. There are always things to do. He's quite a handyman! I am lucky!

spare2.jpg

spare3.jpg
It's almost looking good!!! I am happy!

Just for fun: Guess how much do you think I sold the furniture for? The first person to guess the exact price will win 2 SBD. If no one has guessed it, I will pick the closest answer and award 1 SBD for participating. Note: Only 1 guess per person. Deadline is Friday 12th October 12 o'clock (AEST).

Thank you for reading and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his #Ulogs initiative. Vote @steemgigs as your witness.
#Ulog means "You Log" or "You Blog".

Previous #ulog PostsOther Posts
Mushroom and Vegetables in Creamy Sauce - Perfect with SteakDoes Steemit have a Culture of Integrity?
International Book Exchange: Scam or Real?There's no Mistake with my Steak
Deep BreathingThe Loch Eel and the Loch Ness Monster
Once It's Out, It's Out!What the Fork?!!!
My Definition of a Perfect Relationship-

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls by @pkalra, @bunnychum & @honeychum
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif
@dynamicgreentk & @dynamicrypto

All photos are my own unless otherwise cited and except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15