More Poking Around [#ulog 4]

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Let's see a snippet of what I've been up to these past few days...

I have been playing around with several bApps, one of which is on the EOS chain (nudge to those that have it but still haven't played with it).

Musing

One of the ones I enjoy a lot is Musing, which is a Quora-like question/answer platform. Best of all, it interacts in parallel with Steemit, meaning that it won't clutter your blog feed, unless you want it to (it's an option when you answer a question).

As with other bApps that have received a hefty delegation, you see a lot of activity that tries to milk it with spammy questions and terrible answers. They have a curation team that has a set of guidelines for rewarding activity, which is good to see.

I think enjoyment of the platform really boils down to being genuine. I ask questions that I generally am curious about, and often times when in conversation a question crops up in mind and I'll go "hey I wonder what musing thinks?", which I then post to musing not long after :). And finding questions that are interesting of course. And questions that are relevant, for example people that ask about how various parts of Steem work.

Actifit

The first of these is @actifit, which is a fitness app that records your fitness activity (well, if you're honest), and allows you to publish to Steem to be rewarded by their vote bot, as well as being sent their Actifit token. I have it set to do this to an alternate account on @eonwarp so as not to clutter the main blog up.

To be eligible for a vote, the activity tracker needs to exceed 5000, and higher step counts will give higher rewards, up to 10k.

The posts need to be 30 words long, which seems a little silly if you just want to record data anyway. It's the usual awkward integration and having to account for the catch-all interface of Steemit.

One downside is also you have up to midnight of that day to post, or you lose the steps for the day. I've definitely had that happen a few times already :).

In any case, my SMT thought exercise for viability would likely be in line with how Sweatcoin has partnerships with various companies to offer fitness products to redeem points with. Curious to see how else they will provide value to their fit tokens.

Partiko

Another one I've been using a bit is @partiko. Smooth mobile experience. For some of my comments you will have seen a signature indicating its use, which many people find unsightly. I'm indifferent and just ignore it when I see it.

But the app is fast. And not only that, it is gaining more and more notification capabilities by the day, which is very useful and chips away at use cases Ginabot covers. That includes:

  • Replies to you.
  • Replies to any comment on your main post (Ginabot lacks this)
  • Mentions of you.
  • Votes on your posts and comments
  • Follows and unfollows.
  • Resteems of your posts.
  • Transfers to you.

What's more is every action you take on partiko accumulates points, which can be redeemed for a partiko vote on a post you make (at posting time, probably with delay now with hf20 timings?). That's a good way to establish a base line value for the points.

And is just a fun scoreboard otherwise. But it's an enjoyable app. If I were to suggest one thing though... Make it force you to put in a tag before it posts. I've got the post button prematurely so many times already because of it.

Vimm

Vimm is a live streaming platform, like dLive before it, that posts to Steem to allow for monetization. One feature of it is that it does not post immediately after a stream disconnects, allowing better control over posting times and allowing to reconnect to a stream without having to post duplicates.

I accidentally made a post on Vimm while toying around with the stream. I think it is possible for it never to make a post and show your stream which is cool. I didn't turn off the setting it that posted, as it turns out. But it was a fun time. And it's got a smooth experience as far as chatting goes. And it has tipping. Maybe will do more of it in the future.

EOS Knights

(Not Steem related). And there's EOS Knights, which I've talked about before here.

I've been just letting this game keep going. I've gotten to floor 106, and this is with coming out ahead with item sales. The scale matters a lot, as the prices of the rarer materials and items goes way up as you get to the higher levels (where such materials drop). Now I've got a material that would sell for 2.84 EOS (a bit less than 15 USD as of this posting).

A few new things were added since last time:

  • Mobile version: works with mobile version of Scatter. Tested with my named account eonwarpedeos. Mobile scatter, and same with the other mobile wallets, is a little bit of a jarring experience though.
  • Pet expeditions: Basically a way to get more drops and more magic water.
  • Referral program: in settings, you can go to referral bonus section and input one name. Then both you and the referee gets 1000 magic waters. (So feel free to add me :))
  • Edit: As of 10/2, they shifted their thresholds for rare drops.... from floors 40 / 90 ---> floors 100 / 200. OUCH!

Is this game fun? Well, it's an idle game. You farm material, you craft gear, and it's an endless cycle. With the usual exponential progression curve. Addicting when you can collect and make better gear. At least it isn't too much of a time sink though. Unless maybe you are active in trading and trying to time the material and gear markets.


.... And so that's some of what I've been doing in recent times. Give them a spin! Any others I should poke at? What do you all think about these ones?

Sort:  

I have seen more people using that Partiko, looks like it is becoming more well accepted by the steemit community. Looks like you have been active even if Actifit doesn't think so.

Haha. Yes, I won't let Actifit be the boss of me.

That's right, that is Opal's job. Don't be replacing her with no gadget.

Thanks for highlighting all of these. Sounds like you're having fun exploring all that tech that I totally ignore. lol! I just blog, you know. And sing. ;) But I love how much focus is happening on blockchain technology. Some awesome things developing, for sure!

Agreed! So much development from so many different parties is exciting! Makes me excited about Steem.

Superb round up, I have kept seeing @partiko at the end of comments and wondered what it meant - now I know thank you. I might even try it out myself.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks for giving us a shot! Let us know how it goes!

Posted using Partiko Android

@eonwarped, Great to see that you are exploring multiple Applications and Platforms and hope that you really had an great experience with all these applications. And in my opinion every Decentralised Platform is coming up with it's own taste and that's the vital aspect.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

I've missed a couple of the Actifit postings... I had one really great (for me) score hitting nearer to 20k... but then I forgot to post, I sort of wish that it would just do an auto post or something like that, but then I guess there is the spam problem....

I'm not really into idle games and mobile like games, but I'll go over and take a look at EOS Knights... can't hurt I guess...

bApps

LOL! Better than dApps?

Yeah I broke 10k yesterday too :(

Do you have EOS set up? Otherwise it's a little bit funky to get started, took me a bit to get there.

bApps was suggested to me recently, as "blockchain Apps" since most are not really 'decentralized ' haha. I like it.

Yep, I have my eos set up from a couple of weeks back. Apart from voting and staking, this is my first foray into EOS ecosystem. They are getting some bad press lately!

Whoops. Missed the boat on Actifit again.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 270 (10/03/18)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for mentioning us!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome! What do you think about not letting me post until I put a tag though? :)

That's an interesting idea, and that's something we need to do some A/B testing to make sure. For some users they find it useful, while there are also people like you who don't like it. We need to be smart about this. Please follow @partiko and stay tuned for our updates!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds good!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.527 which ranks you at #1824 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 369 contributions, your post is ranked at #288.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40