Poking EOS Knights

in #gaming6 years ago

Finally, after letting all that hubbub about that launch of EOS main net pass by, I'm looking at what's out there. What prompted me was this in-depth post about EOS Knights and I just wanted to test it out.

I had registered my tokens back when they were ERC20 tokens, but I did not realize that an account was generated for me based on that. My fault, really. I knew I had a public private key pair and I put it into the Scatter wallet, but I did not realize I had to add to do an extra step of setting up the identity which loaded the corresponding account that was set up by the token swap procedure.

Instead, I went through the EOS account creation process to make a named account (I used NameValue which worked well enough, but there are many options). It seems counterintuitive to have to pay for one of these, but rest assured that not much of a cut is taken from these services, most of the cost is in purchasing the resources for staking so that your account is usable. At least I now have a better sounding name. At some point I want to transfer everything over to that account but that seems a little complicated. For now, I got an EOS account named something like gghdoygsggjl (12 characters long, and that's not it. I just made that up).

But let's see... EOS Knights. An idle game running on EOS, where you fight goblins for materials to craft better gear, the same old formula. An open marketplace in which to trade them for EOS.

mainscreen.png

Yes, your eyes didn't fool you-- game is taking place within a picture of a phone, as if it were emulated. I suppose it's to get consistency with the actual eventual mobile experience, but it's still kind of funny to see that.

When the network is smooth, it's a satisfying experience. Scatter, which resembles MetaMask, integrates seamlessly, and I would describe the experience as "what I wished cryptokitties felt like". And the main difference is not having to worry about fees at all. I'm sure this is obvious but people should prefer staking for resources over fees any day. The only down side is that in periods of busy activity, one might need to stake a lot more to maintain smoothness, and in the current state of EOS oftentimes you just have to wait it out and go so something else.

scatterui.png

About the game itself, you need 0.1 EOS to start with a character, and 0.1+0.2+0.4 for the maximum of three characters. Having three characters is a must for this game given how it is designed. As characters kill goblins, there's a drop rate for loot based on the luck attribute, the dungeon properties and the floor of the dungeon. Every 10 kills brings you up a floor. While the three characters attack their own zombies independently, the kill count is added amongst all three characters. Also, after the characters respawn, each character takes with them one piece of loot (the rarest piece).

A few pointers:

  • In the beginning, respawn early and often (expected value wise, if the drop rate is p, wait until 1/p monsters are killed) so you can craft basic gear with the drops.
  • Uniques start dropping at level 40, so try to get gear that will push you there, and then start prioritizing luck.
  • I've managed to keep my inventory in check by immediately dropping common items that I roughly know how to find using the early revive on the right stage.

In case you're curious, I've made a tiny bit of EOS from selling materials and loot.

saleslog.png

And this is my main character:

mage.png

So far the highest floor I've hit is level 60. And I'm not spending more than the minimum amount, essentially. Is this game fun? Well, it's as fun as an idle RPG can be. It's the same psychological addition to progress. But it's pretty cool to see the some EOS games in a working state. For now, I'll be interested in seeing what the future holds for EOS... I can say that I'm pretty impressed with the set of tooling available right now, and many things are familiar to STEEM, such as voting for block producers and staking/delegating resources. Still, it's complicated, and hopefully that will change as things develop. Anyone else here exploring it all?

Sort:  

I have some EOS - I registered it.... AND now I have no idea what to do with it. I think EOS Knights is above my talent level - 'cause I have exatly zero gaming talent.

I did enjoy the explanation. Maybe one day I'll get brave enough to give this a try but with my expertise I think I would just lose all my $.

What else can we do with EOS? And as long as it's registered and sitting in a wallet is there something else I should be doing with it like creating an account? Lost as usual.
~T

Oooh. Well, I'll help you get set up one of these days. Did you set it up to vote on a block producer?

No, I’m not set up. I read an explanation at some point but kinda got intimidated so I never did it. I guess that’s step one?

I really need to set up my wallet and dig into this.

Ya let me know if you need any help!

Im the proud bag holder of 2.1 EOS so I've considered messing with these little apps. But, I need to find the time.

Ya! it's interesting to see. Let me know if you need any help with that procedure when you gots the time.

I should really look into other crypto besides steem D:

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.304 which ranks you at #2377 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2374).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 266 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus [007#] : Micellany - Ulogs & Gaming [001#] "F3 as the cool kids say".

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Add the recommended maikurakiluv and receive 1,000 magic water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39