Thoughts on User Authority & Received First Upvote from @steem-ua

in #ua6 years ago (edited)

steem-ua.png
Source


I think that almost everyone has heard about User Authority (UA) & @steem-ua by now, but in case you haven't, head over to their introduction post. I promise you that you won't regret it!

My Thoughts on User Authority (UA)

The previous reputation system was completely broken. By purchasing big upvotes, you can easily gain more reputation, so the number didn't really mean anything.

Now with the new User Authority rankings in place, we finally have a reputation system that's based on the actual influence someone has on Steemit. The more interesting you are to the Steemit community, the higher your reputation will be. Definitely check out that introduction post, if you want to know what influences your UA score.

Several services on the Steem blockchain will be using the new UA metrics. On Smartsteem you can already see that your UA score is displayed within your account.

Check out your UA score on steem-ua.com

This is my own UA score:

I think that's pretty good, given that I've only been actively posting on Steemit for little over half a year. Do share your own score in the comments if you would like to compare!

Delegations to @steem-ua

Now this is where it gets really interesting. By delegating to @steem-ua (check introduction post), you will receive a certain amount of upvotes per week, depending on how much you delegate.

The value of those upvotes is determined by your own UA score and the UA scores of the people who have upvoted your post. After getting my first vote from @steem-ua, I could already tell that it was definitely worth joining for me.

I have delegated 100SP, which gives me a maximum of 4 upvotes per week from @steem-ua. If you were to upvote your own posts with 100SP, each post would only get a $0.01 upvote and that's only when your VP is at 100%. You can clearly see that delegating to @steem-ua is an extremely good investment, since those votes are worth $0.65.

You can also get an upvote each week, by delegating just 25SP. I think that's an amount that most people are able to spend. At least try it out and check what kind of vote you're getting, you can always undelegate if you're not satisfied.


Conclusion

First of all, I'd like to thank @holger80 and @scipio for creating this new, better reputation system. Looking at the amount of delegations you've already received, I'd say that you have already received the community's vote of approval.

I'm already saving up to increase my delegation to at least 250 SP, after seeing the first upvote come in. There's currently a lot of buzz in the various Steem communities on Discord about possible uses of UA within these groups. I'd see we might be at the forefront of a huge shift towards better curation here on Steemit.

The most astounding thing is that this whole project was set up by two community members. This is something that should have been a part of Steemit a long time ago.

Looking forward to hearing your comments on User Authority and @steem-ua!


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


@adsactly


Sort:  

Do I only have to deligate or write something in memo?

Just delegate yeah :) Should be all automatic after that. Keep in mind that they do not upvote immediately after you post. For me it took a couple of hours. The upvotes are not guaranteed, in case of spam etc.

So really, it depends on whether you are social enough to get lots of votes from high UA people, in order to benefit?

That's one aspect of it yeah, there are other metrics that also influence your UA score, most of them are mentioned in the announcement post

How to increase your own UA score?
To put it simple: by being interesting / "attractive" to others. Either you publish interesting content that people want to read and comment on (like @paulag for example), or you own a lot of Steem / SP that you might want to share with the people you interact with (like @thejohalfiles for example), or you do other noteworthy things with that people might be interested in (you form a community like @dtube, @utopian-io, @steemhunt or publish an app like @steempress for example). Being a Top Witness helps as well! ;-)

Your doing a tad better than me @daan.

Your ua score is 3.249 and you have a ua rank of 7939

That ROI is quite insane. Can they keep it up if everyone delegates. I'm not so sure, but I am intrigued.

Well the ROI depends on your individual UA score, so I guess that some people might be getting less than that.

You can always try it out with the minimum amount and see what the results are. I mean 25 SP is pretty much nothing :)

How long did it take before you got your first vote? Just a few hours... ?

Yeah just a couple of hours. That's because it looks at your UA rank and the rank of people who have voted on your post to determine the vote percentage.

I just powered up a little more due to big slump today. I may shift 100SP across to them soon.

I have just read @gray00's post "Toxicity Hidden Within Our System" and I must admit that I'm getting more and more confused, especially when he showed up entirely different quality kind of post that has been upvoted by the same initiative.

I have to admit that it also confuses me a bit. I mean the criticism he's making in that post seems pretty fair, not that I agree with everything, but they're valid concerns.

I do hope some of those things get addressed, I'm going to wait and see before I delegate any more.

Fair point! I think Steem-UA will have to implement some human curation sooner or later. Otherwise a persistent abusers who already trained themselves very well how to fool the system will just turn the whole positivity of the initiative into its own entire opposite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, seems strange that those single pictures are upvoted automatically. That would seem like a rather easy thing to avoid.

It is cool, am planning to delegate 250sp by Friday when my undelegation from another project is in.

Great! I think it'll be worth it :)

That's indeed a very nice upvote that they are giving. My UA score is 3.209, I did delegate 50SP to them yesterday, curious how big the upvote will be what I will get!
When did you delegate to them?
Cheers,
Peter

Also yesterday, but the upvote arrived a couple of hours after I made my post.

This looks like a really cool project. I am excited to dig into it and see what it can offer. I think it is a great idea to have a better way of figuring reputation. As long as mine is high. If they give me a low score they can bugger off :) Just kidding. I am looking forward to see how this develops!

Hope you can check your score soon, you've been here longer than me, so I think it should be quite good!

2.904, looks like there was something blocking the page. I was able to get it on my phone though.

Well, nice recap on that. I checked my score on Smartsteem and was happily surprised. UA of 4096! Almost in the top 3000. Which really shocked me.
They can sure have some SP delegated from me!

Thanks! Yeah that's a very good score, I think you'll get a nice vote if you delegate :)

I sure hope, delegation went through, I'll let you know!

Yes delegating to @steem-ua looks very worth the time. I do like the new reputation system because it’s more fair and you can get a better sense of someone’s involvement in the community. I also like it because you can better distinguish a bot from a real person (which I read in their intro post).

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I’m glad it is already paying off for you :)

Yeah, I don't think you can really fool this system into giving you a higher score than you deserve. I'm looking forward to it being used by many projects in the future.

I look forward to seeing that too! It’s really needed.

Nice, beautiful and informative. Keep sharing, great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94