90th Academy Awards / 2018 Oscars - Viewer Timestamp Commentary (DVR)

in #tv6 years ago

The only downside of catching something live (or recording it to watch later): the subtitles are done in real-time. 




Unlike previous commentary entries, this one really doesn't entail a spoiler warning. 




My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.   





22:32 - Jimmy's opening monologue - I had skipped watching a number of Oscars (The last one I really enjoyed was when Anne Hathaway sang impromptu with Hugh Jackman). Without really thinking about it this year...I decided to watch it (and was able to notice it on the TV schedule because it replaced an encore of 'Married At First Sight') and I'm glad I did. The reason to watch until the end was when Jimmy Kimmel noted Greta Gerwig's nomination. I had seen a clip of Gerta's film (might have been from a visit by one of the actors in The Graham Norton Show?) And made a note to see it. It may have been the daughter exiting from the car that did it. Even if it reminded me of a scene in 'Crazy Stupid Love', the scene in Ladybird was memorable because of the mother's reaction. 


32:33 - Sam Rockwell announced as one of the nominees - Oh two of them!? Wow....so that's how good the film is? I'm not surprised after seeing clips! And I think a month back while looking through trailers (or was it more clips?) from a particular studio this one came up and I made a note. A big disappointment when I saw that the film was rated MA. 


32:53 - Viola about to announce the winner - Sam Rockwell. 


33:17 - Best supporting actor announced - Yeah Sam!!!! Whoo hoooo!!!! Your first nomination? I thought you would have been nominated when you did 'Moon'!!!


45:59 - Nominees for Costume Design is announced - I don't know why. But it seems like Darkest Hour would win. Not just because it won the award earlier. 


46:16 - The Shape of Water is announced as nominee - wait. So it wasn't nominated in the previous category? Or did I just miss it? Somehow I want to change my prediction....Because this one is clearly a favourite. 


46:37 - Phantom Thread announced as winner - Oh! This is Daniel Day-Lewis' one!


Icarus announced as winner for best documentary - Icarus. Why do I feel like it's something I added to my Netflix queue? Had a peek in my document archive: no timestamp commentary so I might not have even started the film.



1:26:29 - Three production designers from Shape of Water making their speeches - Ah! My favourite outfit of the night! White sneakers and 'pulled to the elbow' coat. Now to find out who he is!


1:37:02 - Taraji P. Henson whoops while Rita Moreno takes the stage - Now that's how you engage an audience!


1:43:16 - Lauren Metcalf announced as nominee - Oh!!! I hope Lauren wins! Oh wait! Is this the clip?


1:43:37 - Clip finishes - Oh Yes! That is the clip! Though I'm a bit worried that teens might follow that one. Thank goodness for central locking right?


1:44:18 - The winner is announced - Awww! Is this #1 for Alison Janney?


1:44:27 - The announcer tallies Alison's noms and wins - wow! First nomination as well!!!????



1:46:14 - Alison mentions Howell - Howell!? Isn't he...?


1:51:42 - BB8 gets a tummy tickle - Was that Oscar Isaac? 


2:11:19 - 'Three Billboards...' mentioned as a nominee in editing - Come on Three Billboards!!!


- Gillermo Del Toro  hugging Gillermo Rodrigez - Gillermo Del Toro volunteering to come with? Why am I surprised? It's probably because I have yet to consume the interviews with and about him. The biggest question --- were the actors specifically asked before hand?




2:22:12 - Gal Gadot and Jimmy address the audience in the cinema - how awesome it is that they were really respectful? I couldn't see people raising their cameras to snap a video or a picture. 


- Mike Young comes up and does the next segue - How well groomed is Mike!?


2:24:23 - Tiffany Haddish and Maya Rudolf address the pain of heels - finally! That is so good to hear. After I came across an image on Instagram by an actor with an image of her (significantly bloody) feet in a hot bath (unfortunately, it's since been deleted...so I won't mention her name)...it's good that there's some sort of talk. I'm all for finding a way not to make feet suffer. 



3:48:30 - Frances McDormand announced as best actress - Yeah!!!! YEAH Frances!!!!! It's amusing that I'm flashing the rock on sign having not seen the performance (except in a couple of clips). Oh..an odd connection to 'Three Billboards...' --- I do wonder if this would be her first Oscar. Didn't she win for Fargo?



3:51:22 - Frances courtesies and heads backstage - Frances you're a rockstar! I thought Gary Oldman was going to be the best speech of the night...but no!!!! What a twist. Not just the female nominee standing up thing. But the calling for finances about the projects too! 


3:55:10 - Jimmy announces the presenters for best picture - what the!? Deja Vu!!!! I guess it's good that they didn't switch presenters just because of what happened last year. 




 

 ---------------   



The Sydney Morning Herald allowed me to have an enhanced experience of viewing the Oscars during 2009 with their live coverage (that was probably when I undoubtedly learned about people assigned to sit on empty seats when an invitee is absent from their seat), and I thought there would be more outlets actually covering the show (maybe Twitter has taken over that end?). I know you think it seemed like the inspiration for my tackling Timestamp Commentaries but it was something else(it resulted in coming across a blog entry of a writer watching one of the Star Wars films for the first time).



Have you come across another with a similar format? (I kind of like the real time recap update)




Photo by Craig Curtis





 I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below   or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think  you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for  it.  Feedback is welcome here.      




 
For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       
 





 
After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed(that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   
 




 
Previous Commentary posts:    
(Film)          

(TV)          




Search Terms: Viewer Timestamp Commentary / Red Carpet / actors / screenwriters / filmmakers / Star Wars / Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri / Surprise / Annual Event



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87