Joys of Tutoring!

in #tutoring6 years ago

Hey guys! Those of you who follow my blog might know that I currently tutor maths for some kids aged 11 and 13. Although it's fun, the maths I teach can (realistically) be learnt without me actually being there, as it's quite simple. They are both incredibly smart children, learning maths 2-3 years their senior but it's still fairly simple maths for me considering I'm much older than them, plus they don't really even need much help with it. Due to this, I have found it doesn't feel very satisfying, nor rewarding.

However, today I had my first day teaching a year 12, someone only 1 year younger than me!

I found that teaching this level of maths is manageable for me since it's not too hard, but hard enough for me to become passionate teaching it.

I enjoy teaching my students concepts and ideas, what the maths means and how the maths work rather than just teaching them formulas so they can do the questions. I like exploring the maths maths and concepts behind each formula, so they have a better understanding of what it really means. I find teaching it my way helps students prepare for exams as they can generalise their learning more readily, so they can apply it to and tackle any type of problem, not just the ones that they've learnt how to solve already in the book.

My student today was extremely grateful after the lesson, and I felt confident that the student had learnt a lot! I found that whole process extremely rewarding, much more rewarding than my old tutoring job for the younger kids. I'm hoping to expand my tutoring by finding more students by myself, and working for a tutoring company!

Hopefully, I will have enough money to buy more Steem soon ;)

Sort:  

during my college days, i do have tutoring (math) too as my extra income to augment my studies. It is really rewarding when your student learn something from you and esp he/she excell in class because of your effort to teach him/her.

As a former tutor, I also recall that feeling of successfully teaching someone something they previousy struggled with learning. It´s pretty great. Good luck!

It is indeed incredibly rewarding.
Thanks! :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 64.52% upvote!
I was summoned by @cryptoeater. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Instructing resembles a relationship. As wonderful as it is be given a content of precisely what you should state on a first date (rather than, for instance, drifting relentlessly about certainties you found out about dolphins from a digital broadcast), life simply doesn't work that way. On the off chance that you followed a content on a first date, you would seem like a robot and be totally unfit to keep up any sort of discussion, not to mention a relationship. Instructing isn't that unique. An alternate sort of relationship, truly, yet one in which realness, responsiveness, and listening matter in a general sense."

congrats on taking up the challenge! Tutoring can be really tough, especially for people close to your age. It's really challenging to ask for help too though, so I always try to keep in mind how the other person must be feeling. I'm glad it worked out, keep helping everyone improve!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67