Springtime weather and an aimless day in Adelaide...

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I had the need to head into the centre of Adelaide city yesterday as an item I required could only be purchased in a store exclusively located in the city. I don't go there much despite living under 15 minutes away from the city; In fact I avoid it when possible as the crowds, noise and hustle and bustle tend to agitate me. Still today I had no choice. I was flying solo and decided, considering the nice sort of day the weather presented, to take a walk on my way in.

I drove in and parked on the northern city fringe down by the zoo thinking a walk along the banks of the Torrens River would be a nice way to make my way into the CBD. The central business district of Adelaide is surrounded by parklands and the river winds its way on the the north and west boundary of the city before heading out to sea. It's not a big river like the Brisbane River although is the only one we have so we make the best use of it that we can.

This is a view from the northern side of the Torrens River, the Adelaide Oval side, looking back towards the Adelaide Convention Centre. You can see the foot bridge which links the city to the oval which is a world-class sporting facility including restaurants and function rooms also. The Memorial Drive tennis facility sits just beside the oval. The second image was taken beneath the footbridge which you can see in the upper right of shot.

.

The two images below were taken along my walk beside the river. Part of the Torrens River is developed in that it has moorings, formal concrete banks, fountains, architecture and other man-made things. Some of the banks have been left natural though. The river attracts a lot of birds, ducks and pelicans mainly although there's many other's I don't know the names for. It also attracts a lot of people; Bike riding, running, roller-blading, picnics and paddleboats are some of the preferred activities. There's even a pontoon boat people can hire that has a BBQ in the middle. Groups can cruise up and down having a floating picnic!

.

Here's a couple more images. The first shows the waterfall that flows over the end-point of the footbridge. The image doesn't really do it justice and it looks a little more impressive in person. The second shows the Adelaide University footbridge and the north and south banks of the river. You can see the north bank (to the right) is undeveloped riverbank. In the second image you can see the white roof-structures of the Adelaide Oval...You'll need keen eyes though.

.
Moving on and up into the city itself I was pleased to see very little traffic. It was early on a Sunday though so not too surprising. This image shows the intersection of King William Road and North Terrace which marks the northern edge of the grid that makes up the CBD. You can see the network of tracks and overhead power lines, the infrastructure that keeps the trams moving. To the left the old building is Parliament House and directly behind me is the Government House complex, walled and gated off of course.


.
Walking east on North Terrace brings you to the State Library, Art Gallery, Museum and Adelaide University buildings, all quite old. It's a wide boulevard and tree-lined with very old trees. You can see they are still emerging from their winter nakedness however within a few weeks North Terrace will be a lovely tree-lined and shaded Adelaide street! The second image shows one of the may fountains along the Terrace.

.

These images were taken in the Mall (Rundle Mall) which forms the cities premier CBD shopping precinct. The Mall has undergone some recent improvements however one of the most iconic features can be seen in the first image. The Malls Balls which is an architecture piece by Bert Flugelman. The 4 metre tall sculpture erected in 1977 is one of the most recognised places to meet when catching up with some mates in the Mall. The words, "meet you at the balls" has been uttered by many South Australian and tourists alike.

.

My retail business concluded I headed out of the city and back to my car. It was a nice day, about 20 degrees and obviously clear as you can tell, so the walk was really nice. On the way back I stopped off at the War Memorial which sits on North Terrace. This is where I go every year on the 25th of April (ANZAC Day) for the Dawn Service to remember those who paid the ultimate price in the wars Australia has fought in. Thousands of people turn out for the 6am service to remember them.


.
These last two images were taken looking south towards the CBD. The ANZAC Memorial Walk is a newly completed pathway leading to the War Memorial at the top on North Terrace. Embedded into the pavement is the name of every theatre of war in which Australian's have been deployed. The second shows one of the place names, Gallipoli, from a campaign in 1915 during the First World War. The black wall has images engraved over it depicting Australian's at war; Airmen, Naval and Army service men and woman from all conflicts.

.

And so, there's a brief record of my walk yesterday. I enjoy being a tourist in my own town when possible. When I get around for work during the week I rarely have the time to observe what's around me but when I walk around I'm able to take note, to pay attention to the little things. Today was an errand to the city that turned into a really nice three hour walk around the river and city and I feel fortunate to have had the chance.

Adelaide is not a big city, it's not pretentious and boisterous like Sydney and certainly doesn't have gigantic tourist attractions like some of the other Australian cities but it's a nice place to visit. Come on down sometime.

Sort:  

One day this Knight is going to fly into Adelaide, just to watch a game of cricket at the Adelaide Oval. Did a tour previously, and spent time at the Convention Centre - but watching sport at the oval would make a highlight for an Adelaide experience. Assuming of course you green power zealots don't run out of electricity whilst he is there ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome anytime! If there's no power I'll get some mates and we'll ring the oval with our 4x4's and throw the spot lights on! :)

I've been to Adelaide Oval old and new...An amazing experience for sure. I went to a 20/20 for new years eve once...Was awesome!

The oval is big enough to be taken seriously- but small enough that everyone gets a great view. Yes Big Bash would be great there.

Why does cricket under 4WD headlights sound appealing? Hmmm maybe it is another 'old-school' improvisation that made life exciting.

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

Takes me back to those days in my hometown, cars ringed around the oval, horns blaring when someone hits a 4 or 6...The hope your car isn't the one that gets hit by the ball...Simple times.

Every so often we head off somewhere with the 4x4's and circle them up like chuck-wagons with a fire in the middle and sit around the fire...Good times...

Sounds like good times to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like Adelaide's cbd is like Perth's, pretty dead in the early hours :) Is it also dead late at night? One of the common complaints is that there's no nightlife in Perth (I guess it depends on what you like though as back when I was pubbling and clubbing it seemed pretty active to me, but I'm more like you and was basically only doing the pubbing and clubbing thing because it's a thing that teenagers/young adults are supposed to be into and it took me a while to just accept that I was defective and didn't enjoy it ;D)

It's a nice looking city anyway and looks like you enjoyed your walk to get your thing :)

Looks like Adelaide's cbd is like Perth's, pretty dead in the early hours :) Is it also dead late at night?

I loved that it was dead. It's quieter and more agreeable to a peoplephobic man like me. I'm not sure what happens at night in the city, it's been a long time since I was in there. The last time was for a bucks night a long time ago. It was hideous then and I assume nothing has changed.

I hated the clubbing thing. I went a few times as a pre-18-year-old and found it was not my thing at all. Even now I don't tend to hang around in bars much. Maybe I'm defective too.

The walk was nice, a little lonely, but nice all the same. It was a really beautiful day and a great day to supplement my thing getting with a nice walk. For the record, the thing was a Ralph Lauren shirt I needed. Yes, I know...How materialistic of me. :) Hey, come one...I said needed, not wanted...

Thanks for engaging.

City is so beautiful no day could be described as boring in my view

Yes, it's a nice little city. Easy to live in and reasonably economically viable when compared to Sydney and Melbourne. However I suppose that's all dependant upon income. The CBD is completely ringed by parkland and the city grid is easily navigated.

Still, I don't go into the city much if I can avoid it. I much prefer the wide open spaces of the countryside. Makes me feel more grounded.

Thanks for commenting as always.

A few years ago, I went to Adelaide.
I have been studying abroad in Australia, it is the second hometown ^ ^

We get a lot of international students here due to the quality of our two universities and the ease at which one can live here. It's affordable too...

What was your favourite aspect of living and studying here in Adelaide?

I lived brisbane & Sydney.
I went to Arelaide while on vacation^^
Others include Perth and Melbourne. Australia has different atmosphere depending on the city, I love nature and I love it.

Yeah, it's a pretty cool place to live, Australia I mean. That's why we're always smiling and happy!

I really enjoyed this. I am familiar with these landmarks around the city itself, and sometimes it can pay to visit places like the Botanical Gardens (it's amazing how little sound penetrates the gardens from the nearby main roads). There are many cool things to see and notice if you are willing to look. I know people who hunt hidden street art (graffiti) murals on the sides of buildings and document their locations.

Like you, I now have very few reasons to actually go into the city and with the demise of Pulp Fiction Comics, there is even less reason. But it depends on what I am doing and what I need to do.

The Botanical Gardens are great. I did a piece on them a while back too. I like Adelaide, living here I mean. A great time to go to the city is on public holidays. No shops and no people...Awesome!

It looks like a perfect combination of doing something necessary with something what brings you pleasure. What a great walk you had! I enjoy seeing your photos as we have autumn here already and I didn't see such a blue sky for many days. I always wanted to go to Australia but it is just so so so far away.. However I hope I'll made it one day :) Thank you for sharing and enjoy the sunny days!

Hi @delishtreats, I'm not sure where you are but yes, Australia is a long way...From anywhere...Except New Zealand I guess. :)

Thanks for your comments. I like to share things about my town as much as I like to share my travels around the world as well.

EDIT: Switzerland huh? Yes, Australia is a long way from there. A long long way. I just gave you a follow also, after checking out a couple of your blogs.

It's funny, you want to come to Australia and I want to go to Switzerland. Well, I've been actually I guess, but I want to go again...Maybe one day.

I had a colleague from Australia and I remember that he always faced issues to take 3 weeks off work to go home. Eventually he gave up and moved back. I guess it must be very stressful to travel this far on a regular basis and spend so much time on the plane..

Well, people always want what they can't have, no? :) Where exactly have you been? Do you remember?

Thank you for following me! :)

I just flew back home from Finland which was a 36 hour transit all up. It's never pleasant. I guess it might be better travelling first class, but that's not an option unfortunately.

We just went to Lucerne in Switzerland unfortunately...Hence why we need to go back and do some more of it...

Lucerne is one of the most beautiful cities in Switzerland (my opinion) but you would love the rest as well. When you're here next time, make sure to go hiking in the Alps. You will love it!

Oh, that is a long trip. And I guess the jet lag is not pleasant either :)

Yes, we found lucerne to be quite nice and for sure are looking forward to seeing some more of Switzerland some day. Possibly 2020.

Nice Post. We really did not spent enough time in and around Adelaide. Hopefully find the time on our next Australia Trip.

There's two things I get from your comment...Well three...

  1. You've been to Adelaide
  2. You want to come back to Australia
  3. You're awesome because you've been to Adelaide and want to come back

The end.

Thanks for your comment of course, much appreciated.

Now...The end.

  1. Yes, been there in 2015 during Australia Day Parade, after crossing the Nullarbor.
  2. I will, already booked a flight and will arrive in Sydney on 26th October
  3. haha cheers man

I officially want to move here. For a time, at least. You were right, these pictures sure know how to attract attention (and an intense desire to be there, especially looking out this gray, depressing window of mine).

Who knows, it might attract someone to come down and visit.

Long way down, otherwise it'd be top of my list ;) But when I do find my way down there, you'll be the first to know <3 I'd love to meet you.

Long way down, otherwise it'd be top of my list ;) But when I do find my way down there, you'll be the first to know <3 I'd love to meet you.

A long, long...long way yes. But it'd be good to meet you too. You'll have to tie it in with one of our steemit meet-ups and I could introduce you to the gang! :)

Adelaide in Spring is magnificent. They save all the big, touristy stuff until March (Fringe festival, Clipsal 500), but this is when the city's at it's best.
I only recently discovered you can walk inside that war memorial; pity they need the surveillance cameras in there.
I noticed a heap of bees at a nearby fountain. When we got into the museum there was an actual hive there, with transparent sections so you could see them coming and going from the second floor.
Not long now and the Christmas pageant will have North Tce covered in chalk drawings.
image.png
Source

Adelaide in Spring is magnificent.

I'm with you there. Shh, don't tell anyone as we'll get inundated with people. It'll be shit like Sydney then...

P.s. I don't know where you found Santa's little elf, but he looks remarkably like you... :) #doppleganger

Just a Google, that one. I have a perfect photo of Henry lying next to a chalk Henry at the xmas pageant, but I gave up after an hour of searching family photos.
I should really organise them better.

Thanks for tour into Adelaide :)

Thanks mate. It wasn't much of a tour I guess, but was all I could manage whilst I was out enjoying the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47