Travel Pro Adventure #8: Kayaking, Caving, and Discovering the "Ancient Alien" Cave Paintings in Krabi Thailand! Part One (24 photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! Krabi is such a gem of a location to visit that I highly recommend anyone traveling to Thailand to spend at least a little bit of time here. Krabi has it all, the town itself offers a taste of Thai small city life to Railey home some of the most stunning beaches in all of South East Asia. All this and much more makes the province of Krabi one of my most favorite areas in the country.

The food is great here and they even have the luxurious red pamelos at the local markets. The weather is nice and sunny almost all year long. The locals are warm and friendly and there are always fellow travelers around to socialize with.

This place is very affordable and that even goes for the tourist activities as well. So often taking tours are the most expensive things you can do in Thailand. But here in Krabi the prices for tours are some the least expensive I've seen in the whole country. Besides that this place is a natural wonderland with all sorts of activities to choose from.

In Krabi you can do everything from rock climbing to elephant trekking, they even have off road ATV adventures. I treated myself to an awesome day of kayaking the mangroves and exploring the ancient caves of Than Bok Khorani National Park, just 45 minutes by van north west of Krabi Town.

For only twenty dollars, not only was transportation included so was lunch. There was no extra charge for the kayak, life vest, or wet bag to keep your belongings dry either. The night before I booked this tour at an agency in town. I was picked up at 8:30 the next morning from my hotel and kayaking by 10:00am; paddling along the widely meandering Nam Tok River and mangrove forests.

This is a two part series. We'll check out several caves including one which is named the Ghost Cave. The locals believe the 3,000 year old cave paintings are of extra terrestrials not ghosts, this is for pretty obvious reasons; which you'll soon see for yourself. Now come along and let's have an adventure in Krabi Thailand!

Using this picture as my header; here I am in my Kayak which I made extra comfortable using my life vest as a seat cushion. Having spent hours paddling around, that was a great move that I made right from the start. Knowing how to swim I was much more concerned about handling my camera as it certainly did not float nor was water proof!

To no surprise there was a vendor selling cold fresh Thai young coconuts by the dock. For about a dollar I quickly jumped on the opportunity to hydrate myself with fresh coconut water and eat the meat for energy before spending the day kayaking in the hot sun.

Fumbling around with the camera I often fell behind the group which I personally preferred. I enjoy having my own space when out in nature anyway.

We followed the guide up to a peer, we all got out of the our Kayaks. As the guide was talking about the cave, I walked down this walkway out of view of everyone and took advantage of the opportunity to relieve myself of all that coconut water I drank! It was a Travel Pro smooth move!

This sign explains about the cave and it's archeological significance. This cave is also known a "Skull Cave" as several human skulls were found here. The cave is locally famous for the cave paintings which have been dated back 3,000 years! The sign talks about this being a painting of a ghost. But I don't think ghost are famous for biological anomalies.

This is what I'm talking about when I say biological anomalies. A hand with six fingers next to a normal human hand of five fingers. This is why many people including the tour guide believe this cave painting is more likely to be of an alien rather than a ghost and I tend to agree. Both these cave paintings are high up on the ceiling; this is certainly a bit strange as well.

More cave paintings. Whatever this thing is I'm pretty sure it was a male!

This cave was like one huge open room. I didn't see any tunnels going into the mountain, in fact you could walk right through to the other side which you can see here below.

As you can see there were all sorts of stalagmites and stalactites, which are the limestone cone things forming from the ceiling and the floor.

We stayed here in this cave for a good forty five minutes looking around and pondering the significance of the ancient cave paintings. Everyone was having a good time and I was already making friends with a nice couple from Singapore.

In part two we get back in our kayaks and head to some other incredible caves; including a lagoon enclosed with limestone cliffs all around and a cave that we could paddle through! So the adventure continues and I thank all my Steemit friends for coming along! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #56: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part One (13 photos)

Real Life Captured #55: Historic District Quito Ecuador! Part Two (14 photos)

Real Life Captured #54: Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two and Travel Pro Up-Date (nine photos and a video)

Real Life Captured #53: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Three (15 photos)

Travel Pro Art #7: Stained Glass Windows of the Historic Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador! Part Two (9 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 8.388148 lat 98.735847 long d3scr

Sort:  

wow amazing :D

We are heading to Thailand later this year and I'll see if we can add Krabi to the list of things to do. Thanks for this valuable post and young coconut are so good!

You are so welcome. I'm glad I could give you some ideas. Here is part four of a six part adventure in Krabi "Railey Peninsula" To give you an idea of how gorgeous the beaches are there.

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/travel-pro-adventure-5-lost-in-railey-peninsula-thailand-part-four-32-photos

A very stunning part of the world indeed and so close to us! Thanks again for all the wonderful tips ;)

Looks like you had a lot of fun. I will put Krabi in my bucket list for sure. I wish I made enough money to travel. There is so much to explore in this world.

Yes, it's endless. You can spend multiple life times just exploring China alone! But I hope you can learn from my travel tips and what I write about on how to budget travel. My four months spend in Thailand including Airfare I average about 900 dollars a months and ate out most meals and got massages and more. It's all about saving and investing. Glad to see you on my page and hope to see you again soon! -Dan

It looks like you had a great time here! I can't believe that those paintings are more than 3000 years old! 😜

That's what they say they are. I don't know how they know. Carbon Dating or something. Thanks for coming along! -Dan

Yeah, probably something like that! And also, I know from the ancient Greece, sometimes you can see it on the way they portrait stuff, the material used and the design of it :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-adventure-8-kayaking-caving-and-discovering-the-ancient-alien-cave-paintings-in-krabi-thailand-part-one-24-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

"elephant trekking" now that sounds fun. I've got to go Thailand. Their tourist department of government should be thanking you.

Perhaps we can meet up there some day

Ha ha, yes maybe they should. I've don't a lot of post on that country now. lol

Here I am elephant trekking on the island of Koh Chang 6 years ago! How time flies!

It would be great to meet up with you anywhere on the planet. I'm sure it will happen sooner or later :)

WOW, is that guy swimming? That is amazing, what an experience. ok, it's on my list for sure!!

You said true, it would be an amazing experience, but it really grateful to watch the relationship between human beings and elephants.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Thanks buddy. It was an amazing experience.

Welcome. 🙂

Haha, yeah part of the "trek" was swimming with the elephants. They are gentle giants, but the thought of getting crushed and drowning at the same time did cross my mind! lol

That's one beautiful cave right there. I always like exploring caves, they are such alien worlds compared to the surface.

Yes they really are alien worlds my friend. This one here was a little extra alien!

Those cave paintings are crazy - they go way beyond the anatomically correct drawings of horses and the like! I like the alien theory too. :)

Thanks for your awesome comment. Really appreciate you comments and support. In fact I need to return the favor. Do I have you on my voting bot? I'll check now and make sure you are there. I've got my votes spread out pretty thin but it's better than nothing. Thanks again! -Dan

steady ... i also have a hobby with you please see at @uciha many beautiful places i have visited in indonesia @ world-travel-pro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87