From Mysore to Gokarna

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

While taking an overnight train I travelled 14 hrs from Mysore to Gokarna. It was my 1st experience of the Indian Railway system & what an awesome railway.

It cost me 900 Indian rupees (approx $ 10) & was bunked on the top bed (3 levels of bunkbeds) as older people tend to get the ground & second floor.

Slept for the most part to wake up to an empty train where most people got off at mangalore (a southern port city of the state of Karnataka).

Screen Shot 2018-07-28 at 12.36.28.png

From there on we took the coastal route, up towards Gokarna.

Once I got to Gokarna, some friends of mine had recommended to go to Kuddle Beach.

Kudle_beach_gokarna.jpg

A cove slightly outside the town (15mins walk)

Must I mention that Gokarna is a holy town literally meaning the cow's ear where Shiva appeared. It is the old Goa before Goa became what it is now, in other words a true hippy paradise.

IMG_8383.jpg

IMG_8306.jpg

IMG_8293.jpg

IMG_8311.jpg

A place full of wonder where at every sunset many are doing yoga & tai chi on the beach ..

A place where you feel after a couple of days, the cove in itself is giving you a big cuddle.

IMG_8253.jpg

I met some amazing people, all on the same wave of consciousness LOVE, PEACE, HARMONY, ABUNDANCE..

I ended up staying 3 weeks in Shanti Village. 100 metres from the sea under a coconut grove. A nice breeze passing through, it would never got too warm ..

There is many places to stay on the beach, all as nice as one and other .. but I must say shanti village was different from most as it is owned by a traditional brahmin family where they had build some mud houses (completely organic) & coconut houses (made from coconut trees ). Very simple abodes. I paid 200 rupees/night ($2/night). It is the cheapest place on the beach yet the simplest, safest, the least populated, a true shanti village.
My final bill was 4200 rupees (approx $50).

I truly recommend this place who are looking for a deep chill, allowing yourself to completely be. I had just come from 2 months of intense training & this was the perfect place for me to lay back, process & expand all that had come before. If you have in Indian Sim card, the internet will work great & you will be able to stay on grid.

IMG_8403.jpg

Go to Kuddle for a giant cuddle.

As for Gokarna, there is a great ambience there .. so If ever wanting a bit of hustle & bustle a 15 min walk in.

IMG_8277.jpg

Please check out my previous articles on Yoga & India :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42