Swami Krishnananda Vidyapeeth Ashram

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

After finishing my time spent at the Temple of Singing Bowls, I headed south of Mysore to an Ashram in the jungle to fulfil a 300hrs Teacher Training in Hatha Yoga Therapy.

IMG_7762.jpg

This course was completing my 200hrs in Classical Hatha Yoga I had done previously 2 years before in Goa.

I was attracted to this ashram because the lineage was firmly rooted in Sivananda, the Divine Life Society & Bihar School of Yoga.
The price tag attracted me as it was 20000 Indian rupees ( approx. $ 200) for food & accommodation for 28 days & at the end of the course, you could give a donation depending on your means but it was not compulsory.

37732314_1129679117184924_6705594287326756864_n.jpg

I felt it was authentic to Indian prices & had a strong feeling that there was no greed associated with the course.

When I got there I was greeted by many & in time there was 28 of us for 28 days together.

Swami krishananda vidiapeeth.jpg

Half the group was Indian & the other half from pretty much from all over the world.

IMG_7812.jpg

Friends Forever

I shared a dorm with 8 girls which got difficult at times as many where going through deep transformation.

IMG_7677.jpg
Getting lost in the Trees, finding refuge in my dharma from the drama, karma

Our daily schedule started at 6 am with Kunjal kriya, a purification method, a ShatKarma (6 actions/ 6 yogic purification methods) in Sanskrit but we liked to call it a "shitkarma" .. lols. where we drank 6 glasses of warm salted water & then made ourselves vomit. The benefits of kunjal is removing acidity & phlegm from stomach & esophagus.
We would finish our day with Kirtan @ 9pm (singing devotional songs & making a whole load of sound).

IMG_7741.jpg
Singing songs with Kadambari playing Harmonium

Oh what a Day !!

IMG_7739.jpg
Sun is setting in Coconut Grove

Both teachers are dedicated to being Yoga.

Dr Ashutosh who is mainstream allopathic doctor but has a background in Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda & Practicing & teaching Yoga in all forms with the Divine Life Society for over 40 years, has renunciated in many ways fame & money to live a humble & simple life where he has a doctors consultancy right in the middle of the poorest slum in Delhi.
He truly knows his abundance & therefore puts it in service for others.

IMG_7795.jpg
Hanuman - Servant of God - Service to Others

He facilitated Yoga Philosophy, Anatomy & Pranayam (amazing mind & spirit expanding sessions).

Kadambari had grown up in Mysore where the spirit of Yoga can be quiet competitive. She had been doing Yoga Asana since the age of 8 while starting to teach by 14. She eventually became World Champion of Artistic Yoga but after a series of injuries in the spine from overdoing it, putting her body into awkward positions, her ego was broken & she found Dr Ashutosh who led her way into the true spirit of Yoga.

31688008_1058917894261047_4211262270346362880_n.jpg
Kadambari Asana Grace

She teaches the Asana class & is deeply knowledgable in yogic postures. Her classes were intense, 3hrs every morning from 7 to 10 am.

I was counting the days to the end like a child. It was definitely the most intense experience I had ever lived, a True Spiritual Boot Camp yet looking back now I am happy I did it.
When I got to the ashram, I was already quiet spiritually disciplined but in retrospect it brought me expansion in endurance.

It made me stronger!

IMG_7774.JPG

I fully recommend this challenge to anyone that truly wants to deepen their yogic knowledge, not for the faint heart.

Check out their website here :
https://www.inteyoga.org/

Please check out my previous articles on Yoga & India :



Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

It does look amazing if intense. I would never be able to do as much as this but can really appreciate anybody who does.

Thanks !! Happy to hear you liked it @codingdefined :))

I was brought up in a school which had similar activities throughout my young age. I understand how fascinating it would have been for you.

Please do practice what you learnt from there regularly. That is where I'm making a mistake. I'm failing to practice whatever I learnt. Your post is motivating me. I will soon Kickstart my practice again. Thanks for a wonderful post.

Edit: I have curated your post from the @indiaunited community. I request you to join the @indiaunited community in discord.

Namaste @bala41288
Lovely to hear from you & happy to hear it is motivating !! I do hope you get back to practice ..
I do my daily sadhana here in Ireland but will be back in India end of September.
I am & will be blogging extensively about my travels in India & expansion in Yoga.

I will kindly accept your request to join @indiaunited on discord as I would love to get to know more the Indian community of Steemit.

Dhanyavaad for your support :)) Deeply appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42