My boyfriend is a bee keeper and one of his bees stung me! - a jealousy or an accident?:)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I went to a bee farm with my boyfriend. He is a bee keeper. 

I have never been to a bee farm before, because I'm afraid of bees. But yesterday I thought that it is a high time to overcome my fear. When I came up to a beehive, I was amazed to watch these small noisy creatures. They were busy doing their duties and paid no attention to me. And my boyfriend told me that a bee's character (I mean whether it is aggressive or not) depends on its breed. His bees are kind. 

My boyfriend removed honey from honeycombs without any protective clothes, not a single bee tried to bite him. I was standing next to him and watching the process, the bees still didn't pay attention to me. My sweetheart shew me a queen bee. It is two times bigger than other bees!

And by the way, have you ever eaten honey with honeycombs? It is simply delicious! New honey is soft and sweet and honeycombs taste like a chewing gum:)

Guess what is it? As for me, I had no idea before yesterday! It is a handcrafted equipment for melting beeswax!

Hot sun rays fall to the glass and melt wax. WOW!

After this wonderful excursion to a bee farm we went to the garden to make some photos and suddenly I felt that someone creeps down my leg. An insect. It was under my skirt. I lifted my skirt and saw a bee...

A bee under my skirt? Seriously?!

Yeah, that was a bee. So I wanted somehow to brush it away but suddenly it stung me! Oh my God, what an aches! May be that bee was jealous and considered me being a kind of competitress? My boyfriend cares about bees and loves them so much...but not them alone....ha-ha (I think you guessed what I mean). Well, bee's thoughts remained a mystery for me, lol :)

My boyfriend removed the sting from my leg, but it was too late. It turned out to be that I have bees allergy. My leg began to swell, it turned red!

It is not so clear in the picture below, but my leg was swollen.

Though it aches now, I don't regret about visiting a bee farm, I have learned a lot of interesting information and tasted the sweetest honey. I'll remember this dangerous adventure.

Hope you like this story!

Stay with me @victoriart and give me an upvote (if you don't mind)

XO

Sort:  

Awesome! Aren't they wonderful? https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jwaser/six-sexy-hairy-legs-and-i-fell-in-love

Please, please, PLEASE post more bee pictures (and use the keywords bee or bees so we don't miss them). I'll feature them in The Weekly Bee https://steemit.com/bee/@jwaser/the-weekly-bee (so you'll get an extra upvote or three ;-)

Coming tomorrow morning. Included all three of your articles and am following you.

Nice day trip. I'm glad you didn't take it against the bees though one stung you. They don't bite - they sting. When you saw a that bee under your skirt your system must have sent "fear" to your brain. Any animal - teeny tiny insect, too can sense that. I work with bees and if you go through my first posts - I even get as close as this https://steemit.com/steemit/@englishtchrivy/smartphone-photography-bee-a-fingernail-close to them. Bees only sting you when you are not calm - when you fear them - you posed yourself as a threat. They don't see you as competition love - it was your fear that drove that lil' thing into stinging you. Poor you and poor lil' bee - it's his last day on earth the moment he stings you - did you pull out a sharp tiny cone-shaped thing on the part where he sting you? - that's his butt- or sting. Bees are very thrifty with their sting they know it'll be their end once they use it. You may have bee sting allergy because your leg was swollen but don't worry - bee stings are not deadly unless it's a swarm. Take care ~

Thank you so much for your advices! Yes, we've pulled the string immediately. Now it's all right with my leg, though it aches a bit.

Good post and telling of your adventure!

Steem on,
Mike

Thank you, Mike!Glad to hear that

be careful with allergies. what i do know is, bees don't like wool and don't like their hive opened during the sunniest part of the day. other than that i know i can watch them for hours. i love bees.

Yeah, bees are wonderful! And they sting only when they see danger, they are not so aggressive as wasps.

Hey! I provided a link to this article in https://steemit.com/bees/@jwaser/the-weekly-bee-29-august-2016

If you up-vote it, it may kick more traffic back to this post . . . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86