SMARTPHONE PHOTOGRAPHY TIPS on How to Capture a Honey Bee in Action

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever tried taking a picture of a honeybee in action using just your smartphone's camera?
Yes! It is P O S S I B L E!
If you've read my very first post about taking a picture of a hoverfly using just your smartphone camera, too then you know what my first tip is going to be.

Honey bees are pretty friendly. You must know that like us warriors, they are very busy fulfilling their maximum potentials since their wings normally just last two - weeks the longest before they get worn out. This guy just went on nipping nectar while I kept pressing my shutter - off - Samsung galaxy A3 2016 edition phone's camera.

No! I didn't get stung and I was an inch close to get this sharp a pic. This lil' guy just flew to another flower nearby and just kept nipping . I was calm as the quiet sea in a sunny windless morning. If you think you can't keep calm then you might as well ask @stevendenie about how his Emotional Freedom Technique - a tapping technique that could help you calm down!

If you've read my other posts on how to capture a hoverfly and a damselfly using just your smartphone's camera then you know the rest of the techniques. If not, I suggest you do. Thank you.

What I didn't discuss out there is that you have to take the light into consideration. Yesterday, I went to the garden during my break to pollinize the passion flowers. They usually join me once I swipe a cotton bud on the anthers to get the pollen. The scent of the passion flower's pollen is just so irresistible for them. So here's what happened.

These shots were all taken against the sunlight and so I didn't get much of the little guy. Plus, I was pretty limited having just my right hand to utilize since my left index finger is obviously on the pictures. But as you can see, they're almost pretty vivid specially the second picture.

On these ones, I tilted my phone to avoid the direct sunlight and this is what I got. I made it on purpose to have my finger on the picture to show you that if you are calm, the honeybees would just go along carrying on their task and not stung you. That guy even sat on my finger and used it to reach the top of the anthers without exhausting his fragile wings.

Every sunny day, I pollinize the passion flowers and these little guys automatically join me around 2 to 3 in the afternoon. That was the case yesterday! It's a delight to experience having nature not fearful of you! My Smartphone camera goes busy all the time and if you are wondering what's the use of taking all these pics. Well, if you get lucky and your pic turns out 3MB or bigger, then you have a chance to sell them on dreamtime and that's another cha - ching while you're sleeping warrior!

Again, the key to not being stung is to "NOT post yourself as a threat". You have to be very calm and remember even that positive feeling of excitement would shoo these guys away. Do not try this at home unless you know you won't be stung! The bees die once they use their sting - have mercy on yourself and to these little guys, too! We need them.

Does this article help you?
Then, please don't forget to up vote and I thank you already!

Make it a great steem day! <3

PowerUpPledge

Sort:  

Great photography and bee cooperation skills!

This post reminds me of Jupiter Ascending bee scene:

Hey! I also provided a link to this article as well in https://steemit.com/bees/@jwaser/the-weekly-bee-29-august-2016

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01