TwinnerTravels - Sardinia (8) - Gennargentu mountainssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

welcome to the eight part of our trip on the island of Sardinia.

On the second day of our stay in Arbatax we made a trip to the Gennargentu mountains west of Arbatax. Since we had a journey of several hours, we were the first ones at breakfast in the hotel.

We had booked 4 overnight stays in the beautiful Hotel La Bitta, which is situated directly on the beach Spiaggia di Porto Frailis. View from the hotel restaurant to the beach.

The mountains start a few kilometres west of Arbatax. Due to the many bends and serpentines, progress is slow, although the roads are well developed.

We drove around the highest mountains of the Gennargentu Mountains and made a short hike above Desulo.

On the drive to the starting point of the hike we were accompanied by a wild boar.

But we also saw some wild horses.

Our walk took about 3 hours and was quite unspectacular.

Unfortunately there was no mountain hut on the way, so we had to carry our food again.

My wife liked cats, and she felt sorry for this one. She gave our cheese I had planned for my lunch to the cat. I don't like the fact that I have to drive back to Abratax hungry.

That's why we stopped in Aritzo on the way back to eat at least an ice cream.

The roads were better on the way back. This big bridge in the middle of nowhere impressed me very much.

The third day in Arbatax we spent only on the beach, because we had another long car ride to the south the next day.

Thank you for reading!

Here are the links to the other parts of our Sardinia round trip.

Sort:  

Amazing place! Great photography!

Wunderschön!!!

I have never been to sardinia. But i like your photos so i really want to go there!

Yes, it's a nice island. Best way to discover sardinia is with a rental car and different hotels or camping on every location around the island.

Wouldn't I love to spend every morning surrounded by the peace of the morning overlooking Spiaggia di Porto Frailis. It calls out to me.

The drive looks a little daunting, but the views are spectacular! Admittedly, they have some of the most rugged landscapes I have ever been on, but, Desulu id s pretty little mountain village somewhere in the middle of it all. You truly went off the beaten path.

I meant to ask if the wild boars charge humans? They do here in the United States and I steer clear of them. These look so much nicer if that can be said of a boar!

I won a wild horse and they make the best horses on some level. They are usually very smart and eat very inexpensively. Never needing horseshoes. Look at the terrain they are grazing in!

The scenery is incredible, the cat, yes, I would have fed him too. Sorry! But, you did get ice cream! It sounds s and looks like a dream vacation that will not be forgotten anytime soon.

I am glad that you had the opportunity to do this. Some people wait to enjoy the fruits of their labors. Thank you for taking me along on the hike and journey. Very enjoyable. Look forward to more!

Wieder einmal so schöne Bilder! Dankeschön! genieße deinen Abend

Vielen Dank @dswigle für Deine umfangreiche Antwort.

The wild boars don't attack you. I assume that they are used to be feeded by humans.

My Sardinian knows how to be sweet and tough in the same way ... and you did this very well! It's great to have travelers as attentive as you .. @twinner

Thank you very much @sardrt. In which part of Sardinia do you life? I assume that we as travellers miss out a lot of the top destinations on a region you know better :-)

I am sorry for dealy with checking your blog.
I checked just now the eight part of your trip on the island of Sardinia.
I enjoyed your post and your sweet pics.
Thanks for sharing.
Thanks also for great support.

Thank you very much for our support @lordoftruth. I usually also very delayed in responding to comments :-)

Looks very nice and relaxing) I love those animals) Pig is so cute)

Thank you very much Alisa. Yes, the pig is really nice.

Hallo twinner,
ich wollte dir hiermit einfach mal Danke für deine Unterstützung sagen. Viele Grüße nach Sardinien

Hallo naturalkefir, kein Thema :-) Die Bilder sind von 2009, sind leider nicht mehr in Sardinien.

Wild pigs, horses, and cats! I told you before, Sardinia is going up on my list of places to visit. BTW, super views and spot to dine in that restaurant of that hotel you stayed.

Thank you very much @edje. In the hotel we had no luck. We had not booked seeside, so we looked 4 evenings/mornings in the backyard. But it was not so expensive than the seaside rooms :-)

That's a very impressive photo essay. I had never thought about visiting Sardinia before, but the scenery is beautiful. Maybe someday....

Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97