Photo-Short #22 - From The Top Of Wat Arun In Bangkok, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I took today’s Photo-Short from the top of Wat Arun in Bangkok, Thailand.

Wat Arun, or to use its full name, Wat Arun Ratchawararam Ratchawaramahawihan, is an iconic landmark on the skyline of the Thai capital. Sometimes called the Temple Of The Dawn, this monument is, somewhat ironically, more often photographed at dusk with the Chao Phraya River in the foreground and the sun setting behind. I had taken many photos like that in the past. So, on this evening I decided to cross the river and visit the temple itself.

_TOM1928-Edit-2.jpg

LocationWat Arun, Bangkok, Thailand
CameraNikon D300S
LensNikkor 18-200mm 1:3.5-5.6 GII ED
Settings18mm | ISO100 | 8 sec | f/8
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom And Photoshop | Nik Collection

The ferry cost under 5 Baht, and it was about 50 Baht to enter the temple. The steps to the summit were steep, you can get an idea of how steep if you look at the angle of the handrails at the bottom of this picture. Those with vertigo may not enjoy the climb and, for me, going back down was far worse than going up.

With a long exposure of eight seconds I had to used my tripod to take this picture. I tried to make a layered composition, starting from the back with the opposite riverbank. It was difficult to frame the picture just the way I wanted with an 18mm lens (27mm equivalent), but it was all I had with me, so I had to make do.

In the end I just about manage to squeeze everything in and make a decent composition. I love the warm gold colours against the cooler background, and the intricate detail on the temple. I hope one day to return to Wat Arun and take this same picture with a 12mm lens.



Snap Travel

All of the content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©

Follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

Also find me at

SnapTravel | Instagram | iStock | Getty Images | YouTube


My Recent Posts

Photo Shorts (One Photo, -500 Words)

Phuket Vegetarian Festival
Budget Macro Photography
Hiking At High Altitude In Peru

Travel Guides (Multiple Photos, 1000+ Words)

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon
Nadando Con Tortugas En Perú [ES]
Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snaptravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-short-22-from-the-top-of-wat-arun-in-bangkok-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 21:46:18
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 378.52/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

great shot! love how sharp the temple is and the ships blurred passing by in the backdrop.

Thank you. It is a nice sharp image. You know what they say, f/8's your mate, with this lens at least.

Never heard it before, f8 really did well with this one.

It's just something photographers used to say, but I don't think it really applies anymore. Modern lenses seem to work better at wider apertures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75