Photo Short #19 - Budget Macro Photography

Today's Photo Short is this macro shot of my eye. I took it standing in front of the bathroom mirror, viewing the cameras rear screen in the mirror, (oh for a flip screen). I've always enjoyed macro photography, but I don't own a macro lens. So, a few years ago I bought some cheap magnifying filters from eBay to see what kind of results I could get. I bought a pack of four to fit my 50mm lens. They are basically little magnifying glasses you screw to the front of your lens. Each one is a different strength +1, +2, +4 and +10. This is one of the first photos I took with them, a test shot with the +4.

_TPH3606-2.jpg

LocationStroud, UK
CameraNikon D300S
LensNikkor 50mm f/1.8 (With +4 Magnifying Filter)
Settings50mm | ISO200 | 1/30 sec | f/2.8
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom And Photoshop | Nik Collection

As with most things in life, you get what you pay for, and in terms of image quality these filters are no comparison to a real macro lens. But I bought them for a bit of fun, and in that respect they have been worth every penny. The +1 and +2 don't do much, and I never bother with them, it's the +4 and +10 that are the most fun. I've got the best results with the +4, the +10 get you much closer but it's difficult to use. You have to get the subject bang in the centre of the photo to get any sort of decent quality, anything around the edges gets horribly distorted and there's a lot of chromatic aberration.

I like playing around and experimenting with different techniques in photography. It's not always about buying the most expensive kit. Before I bought these filters, I used to just hold a big magnifying glass in front of the lens for my macro shots. It's tricky to get good results, but I enjoy the challenge. For me there's something very satisfying about getting a good photo with cheap substandard kit. I guess I'm a sucker for an underdog.


Snap Travel

All of the content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©

If you like this post and want to see more, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

Also find me at SnapTravel | Instagram | YouTube


My Recent Posts

Photo Shorts (One Photo, -500 Words)

Long Exposure Photography In London
Street Photography In Cheltenham
Panning Photography In Bangkok

Travel Guides (Multiple Photos, 1000+ Words)

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon
Swimming With Sea Turtles In Peru
Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes

Sort:  

This photography is really cool.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 22:30:34
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 303.27/400.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice shot!
Could you tell me how to show your photos as slides in the end of your post?
Thanks a lot!

Sure, no problem. I found this post by @nathenial, and used this piece of code

<hr>

|<center>INSERT-IMAGE-URL.JPG[LINK](insert_link.com)</center>|<center>INSERT-IMAGE-URL.JPG[LINK](insert_link.com)</center>|<center>INSERT-IMAGE-URL.JPG[LINK](insert_link.com)</center>|
| ------------- |:-------------:| -----:|
<hr> 

Many thanks for sharing! I will try it out,
Have a nice day ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75