Photo-Short #21 - Nearly There, Hiking At High Altitude In Peru

in #smartphonephotography7 years ago (edited)

Today's Photo Short is this quick picture I grabbed with my phone, whilst hiking to Lake Churup in the Peruvian Andes.

At this point I was already at an altitude of just under 4000 meters (13,125 feet) and had about another 500 meters (1640 feet) to go, before I reached the lake. This was the first time I had been at altitude, and I found out that the effects were surprisingly strong. There just isn't enough oxygen in the air. It's a difficult feeling to explain, but the results are dizziness, nausea, and fatigue, a lot of fatigue.

I took this photo of the sign because I liked the red against the blue sky. When I saw it, I thought, 'oh good, I'm nearly there,' but as it turns out the last 500 meters were the toughest and I wasn't nearly there at all. Check out this longer post about my trek to Lake Churup.

IMG_2038-Edit.jpg

LocationTrail To Mount Churup, Peru
CameraiPhone 5
Lens4.12mm
Settings4.12mm | ISO50 | 1/3400 sec | f/2.4
Post ProcessingAdobe Lightroom


Snap Travel

All of the content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©

If you like this post, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

Also find me at

SnapTravel | Instagram | iStock | Getty Images | YouTube


My Recent Posts

Photo Shorts (One Photo, -500 Words)

Phuket Vegetarian Festival
Budget Macro Photography
Panning Photography In Bangkok

Travel Guides (Multiple Photos, 1000+ Words)

Temples Of The Sun And The Moon
Swimming With Sea Turtles In Peru
Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.70 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.14
Server time: 19:22:57
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 372.77/400.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26