A Taste Of Sweden (Part 1)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Well, well, well, holidays are over, we're back home and as we say in Greece "κάθε κατεργάρης στον πάγκο του" (ka-the ka-ter-ga-ris ston pa-go too), meaning: everyone gets to their place. 

I must admit it was an amazing experience, although I've visited several places in Greece, I had never been abroad and dealing with a whole different culture was a pleasant shock to me (so pleasant that I didn't want to get back). We stayed at Uppsala where we visited lots of museums and beautiful gardens, we drank beers in a few pubs and strolled along the beautiful gardens of the town. We also visited Stockholm twice (not enough! I needed at least one more week to see every cobblestone alley there was), checked out a few museums and bought souvenirs for the friends and family back home (and by souvenirs I mean super delicious CHOCOLATES!).

     

But let me take you on a trip through my camera shots...

On Wednesday (15th) we left Thessaloniki...

     

     

...and landed in Arlanda airport. Next, we took the bus to Uppsala, then we were off to find the nearest ATM to get some swedish crowns and headed to Palermo pub for pizza and beer!

     

The next morning we had a quick coffee and went to explore the city. 

     

First impressions? I was amazed by how calm everybody seemed, no traffic, no rushing drivers, they all waited for pedestrians to pass once they notice you approach the zebra crossings (in Greece you're lucky to pass running even if sometimes you have the green light). There were no cracks in the streets, the sidewalks were all clean and bikes...bikes were everywhere, it was the first time I saw a delivery boy riding a bike with a box attached to his back.

We entered Domkyrka (the Cathedral of Uppsala), an amazing building that leaves you with nothing but awe from the very first glance...

     

The church has several chapels, stunning stained glass windows (the pictures gave a really weird atmosphere under the daylight that came through them). 

  

     

There we also found the tomb of Gustav Vasa (an old king that was burried among his three wives).

          

After the church we got in the Gustavianum museum (an old building of the Uppsala university).

There we found a lot of treasures including mummies...

     

          

...and outdated scientific equipment (awe was domineering this visit as well). I almost forgot that we saw the old anatomical theatre (it was freezing up there).

    

The daily trip ended with a visit to Botaniska trädgården (the botanical gardens) with an amazing indoor collection of plants and flowers. 

          

There X42 made a new friend...

     

...and had a little accident in the succulent and cacti room, but hopefully he's ok! 

     

On our way home we walked through a park with a really cool playground...

     

and even got to see some squirrels (I don't think you can see them in the left picture)...

     

This was the first part of my trip, don't miss tomorrow's post on some amazing pieces of equipment I saw in the Gustavianum museum!

*All images by @ruth-girl.

Thank you for reading this. Feel free to check out my bizarre natural phenomena series, short stories, educational posts or pranks using science.

 Special thanks and mentions go to:

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people! 

Sort:  

Πολύ ωραία!
Μας έβαλες στο κλίμα.
Αναμένουμε τη συνέχεια.

Ευχαριστωωωω! Θα βγαλω κανα δυο ακομα ποστ, μια βδομαδα ηταν αυτη, εχω μαζεψει αρκετα Gb φωτογραφιες :Ρ

meh, the daim chocolate is the only worthy thing i see in the photos!

Oh! The keks one is also goooood! :D

Top KEK

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Great photos! Sweden is an amazing country. I lived in Malmo years ago for about 1 year. I was pleasantly shocked at how clean the country is and the people seemed friendly as well. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you! Yes, the Swedish are way too "civilized" and what I enjoyed the most was the tranquility of the place and calmness of the people. I really needed to relax for a few days and this was the perfect place to do so ;)

Totally agree with you! I loved it and so much nature to enjoy and relax :)

Looks like you had a really nice trip. I have seen Sweden only thorough the periscope of a submarine, but visited Denmark and Norway... seemingly close, but still very unique and different.

Looks like your little travel companion was freezing, judging by the skin color.. next time you ought to pack a warm sweater for the little guy. And some high heels for yourself!

It was indeed an amazing experience! Now that I got a small taste I cannot stand still, I want to go somewhere else, travel can be really addictive!

Don't worry for my little fellow, that's his natural color I assure you! But I should make him some more appropriate clothes for the winter ;)
As for the high heels, I don't think I could have pulled them off on the cobblestone streets of Uppsala :P

Never been to Uppsala (yet), only Malmo+Lund (often- but I live across the bridge in Copenhagen hehe), Guthenburg(passing by) and Stockholm (for a day) - and a bus ride to Norway actually. Seems nice!
An kai to agapimeno mou meros einai o efxoulis, opos panta!!! :D

Haha! Ευχουληδες και ξερο ψωμι! :P
Even for a daily trip, I think it definitely deserves a visit! I wish I could stay longer and explore some more... :(

Amazing clicks and your toy is very lucky always with you what's his name?I

Hehe! Thanks! This one is X42, I got two more of them ;)

Are Beautiful your photos and you're right the squirrels may not look in the photo on the left.
jajajaja .Greetings

Thanks for reading @indira! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ruth-girl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.91 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ruth-girl. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49