Short Story - Isis And The Moon

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is a short story inspired by a picture of our brilliant @reinhard-schmid, who gave me his permission to use his work in my post. When i first saw it, I got the feeling that his Isis would make a wonderful book cover. A month later one comment of his gave me the idea of writing a story about it. Thank you @reinhard-schmid

You can find more of his steemit-shared art here!

I hope you, people, like this...

(Image credits: @reinhard-schmid, Indigo - Egyptian Goddess Isis and the Moon)

Before you read that, push play on this melody, I had it on repeat while writing this story and I think it's the perfect track to go with the lines below...

Isis And The Moon

Her name was Isis, like the ancient Egyptian goddess. With a body of chocolate skin and a scent of cinnamon on her hair. Her eyes of emerald green would lure you and keep you paralyzed for hours. And her voice, that voice of a sweet lullaby with a tone of dark mystery. She was the perfect example of the Creator's perfectionism.

She loved to get away from people. She loved to be on her own. There were nights she would just lay by the river, naked under the light of the moon. Staring at a sky that had no stars for her. Not just for her, the sky had no stars for everyone. They disappeared the night He was gone. Her Love, her Man, her World. Heavens took him away and the skies turned black and the moon was left there, her only consolation, her only confessor. 

That night the moon was full. Isis came to cleanse herself in the river. She cried lying naked on the ground, beating hard with her fists against the earth. Let all her wrath and pain get out and when she felt exhausted, empty and unable to feel any more pain she would get in the river and allow the water gently caress every inch of her body as if it was touching her soul. 

She was in agony, but it was so much that she felt tired, she didn't have the strength to cry any more. Pain was there, a burden on her shoulders, a load on her stomach, a noose around her neck. She knew it was there, but she was so numb inside that she couldn't shed another tear.

Standing there in the water, she lowered her head and saw the moon's reflection. She then realized that it was there all the time, all those nights, the sole witness of her torture, her self exposure and embracing of pain. Her eyes opened wide, her big black eyebrows pulled back and her face softened for a while. She was either losing her mind or she could see the moon coming closer to her. The reflection was getting bigger and bigger.

It was right above her. She felt it touching her back, kissing her neck, just like He used to do. She could swear she heard his soft whisper in her ears "I'm here, it's alright, don't be afraid" he said. She could not move, she wasn't sure whether this was true or some kind of trick her mind was playing. She decided to just wait and see what happens.

Two hands would slowly go up her arms and softly touch her shoulders. They would move towards her neck, behind her ears and through her cinnamon hair. She closed her eyes and let herself go. Salty tears turned to sweet kisses and hands were struggling to feel every inch of each other's body. They were both in the water now. If only she could stay there with him, forever. If only this dream would be her last and keep dreaming for eternity. 

They were both in the water now and there was no moon in the sky. All of a sudden a bright explosion of light tossed them far away and scattered them around in lucent beams. And for a short moment there was silence. Where there were dark skies you could now see thousands of stars! Beautiful, shiny stars! Beautiful sparkling glows of happiness. And silence was now singing a sweet melody...

Thank you for stopping by and reading this. I know I usually post educational content, but I have an artist dwelling in me as well. I don't know if my art is of any value, at least I have the chance to get things off my chest and enjoy the braingasms of verve! I'd love to see your opinions in the comments below.

If you please, feel free to pay a visit to my blog and check out some of my short stories along with plenty of educational posts and of course my bizarre natural phenomena series.  

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!  

Sort:  

What a beautiful and touching story! I really enjoyed reading it 😍

Thank you for including my painting "Isis and the moon", glad it inspired you like that 😀 looks like you were also influenced by one of Leo's recent paintings 😇

Oh it's true, you, my steemit-artists, give me so many wonderful ideas every day and I thank you for that!

I must admit it was a really emotional piece, I love letting music driving my hands, so I had the track on repeat and I would look at your painting and then let my fingers slide on the keyboard.

I'm happy you liked it! :)

I'll bet this work is based on a true story ;-)

And fiction always offers the perfect coating for stories like that! :)

Very nice and inspirational story. Thanks for sharing with us.

@alexKARKI

Your beautiful and sensual history, reminds us that, once magic was inhabited in the minds and souls of people.............. but we are now searching for it in inanimate servers!

Thank you so much for reading and commenting!
Yes, the magic is lost, the fairytales are gone and we're turning into robots...unless of course we try to wake our imagination up! :)

You caught me by surprise! I really liked your story and I hope you will be writing many more.

As for us losing the magic, not on your nelly! Just on Steemit I have seen so many imaginative stories, works of art and so on. Each new generation dicovers a unique way of looking at life and our collective dreams, so it should never be so.

There will (at least I hope so) always be dreamers amongst us, and where there are dreamers, there will be magic, fairytales and inspiring pictures born in minds strange to us.

To enoo, grapse toulahiston dio-tria mithistorimata kathe mina, tha dies oti tha sou anoiksoun portes stin fantasia sou kai isos tha anakalipsis kainourgia oneira gia na glykanoun tois imeres sou.

Ευχαριστω πολυ για τα ωραια λογια. Εγραφα πολυ παλιοτερα (ελευθερο στιχο κυριως). Αυτες ειναι οι πρωτες μου προσπαθειες στα αγγλικα, ελπιζω να βελτιωθω με τον καιρο.
Ειναι ωραιο να βρισκεις συμπατριωτες εδω μεσα.
Η ελληνικη κοινοτητα εχει και το @greek-trail μαζι με την ομωνυμη ετικετα #greek-trail :)

Ευχαριστω. Eho eidi grapsi se dio atoma gia na matho ean mporo na vallo greek-trail san ena apo ta tags, efoson grafo sta Agglika. Perimen tin apantisi tous.

O adelfos mou ehei grapsi merika politika kommatia, dio einai gia tin katastasi stin Ellada. Eidi to ena to eho kanei post, me to titlo GREEK DEBT. Mpories na to vreis sto blog page mou.

Ok! Θα τα τσεκάρω :)

That is definitely your best one until now. Keep it up and fart!

Thank you very fart @trumpman! :P

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 0.58 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ruth-girl. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I love the inspirational artwork and great story!

Thank you very much for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99