Escape To St Kilda, Melbourne For An Afternoon of Fun

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Melbourne has been voted as one of the most livable cities in the world. St Kilda is an an excellent example of what makes Melbourne so livable. With its Foreshore Trail along the beautiful bay, fashion at the eclectic streets of St Kilda, excellent restaurants, cafes and bars, to great nightlife and entertainment, St Kilda offers a bit of everything to everyone.


When the sun goes down, check out the latest performance at the Palais Theatre with its Art Deco architecture. During my visit, the Theatre was under renovation.


Palm trees lining the streets of St Kilda. One can see the sea in the background.


The jetty with the lighthouse in the background and clear blue skies.


Adults and children alike having fun skateboarding at the Marina Reserve & Skateable space.


The St Kilda Marina provides safe shelter for boats and yachts.


Beautiful shrubs along the Foreshore Trail besides St Kilda beach.


The beautiful beach with the skyline of St Kilda in the background.


Alfresco dining besides the beach offers the advantage of good food and magnificent scenery.


A game of beach volleyball in progress.


Blue skies, blue sea and everything nice.


Magnificent view of St Kilda Pier.


St Kilda Kiosk situated at the end of the St Kilda Pier is an excellent place to rest your tired legs and have a cuppa.


Much to my surprise, penguins can be found in the St Kilda breakwater. The fairy penguins are very small and although I managed to sight a few hiding in the rocks, I did not managed to take any clear photos of the penguins.


Due to the presence of the penguins, the St Kilda breakwater has been declared as a protected wildlife area.


A simple but mouthwatering meal by the beach at sunset. What more can I ask?


The magical sunset at St Kilda is one the memories that I will cherish.

The relaxing afternoon passed so quickly. My wife Roselind and I had a simple meal by beach while admiring the amazing sunset which left a lasting impression. Our brief adventure was over and with heavy hearts we left St Kilda for our hotel.

!Steemitworldmap -37.867154 lat 144.976882 long Escape To St Kilda d3scr

Have fun at the Luna Park which offers a variety of rides and attractions catering to all ages.
Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Wisdom From My Autistic Son: My Autistic Son ‘s Behavior Maybe Embarassing But I Am Not Ashamed Of Him
Positive Reflections: Don’t Let Your Post Defeat You But Let Your Past Defined You
Are You Searching? (An Original Poem)
Positive Reflections: What Minor Changes Can You Make That Can Have Major Impact In Your Life?
7 Fundamental Truths That Will Change Your Life Part 2

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

I haven't been to a beach in years. Makes me miss living down in Lincoln City, Oregon! Excellent Photos! Pretty sure those shrubs are lavender. Thanks for sharing!

I think that they are lavender shrubs. You should go to the beach once in a while to de-stress. Following you now.

Cool... reminded me of my old days. I lived in Melbourne for one year. I used to work in the Federation Square. I met my husband in Melbourne. We spent a few evening with each other at St. Kilda beach :)
A few times we spotted a few penguins in those rocks (in your photograph) on st. Kilda beach :)
Lovely old memories... feel like a dream now.

I still have good memories of St Kilda. It must be quite romantic for the two of you . Following you now.

:)

Thank you. It just clear blue skies and blue sea as well and so it was very beautiful scenery. Following you now.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 14.18 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Aww, I miss St Kilda beach, and that time is a heat wave summer >.<

It was a bright sunny afternoon when I visited. Following you.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Thanks. Do follow me for more.

Already my brother

I am glad that we made the connection. Following you now.

St Kilda is very hit and miss, I lived there for over 2 years and while it has some real culture its also a bit of a cesspool of dodgyness. It can be nice for a visit on a nice day but the beach itself is one of the worst we have, very polluted.
It's also the epicenter of prostitution for Melbourne, especially grey street which is quite close to where you were :P

I had a very love hate relationship with St kilda, there is always something to do there and fun to be had but it also has its fair share of crime and poverty, when i lived there we had 3 people die in the park next door in one year.

I think it's a good spot in moderation, i think it's just that it combines so many good things together but none of them are quite perfect, eg. we have better spots for food, better spots for beaching and better spots for culture but st kilda mixes them all together

Visiting the place for a day is very different from staying there. I did not swim there but only admire the sea so I didn't know it was polluted. Thanks for your comments, following you now.

its lovely to sit and eat by the water, and its not terrible for swimming but people dont look after it very well. How cute are the penguins though :P

True, the penguins are tiny but cute.

Visiting the place for a day is very different from staying there. I did not swim there but only admire the sea so I didn't know it was polluted. Thanks for your comments, following you now.

This post has received a 16.82 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @positivesteem

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11