Gyokusen Inmaru Garden in Kanazawa, Japan

in #travel6 years ago

I took a trip to Kanazawa for a meeting with a Japanese woodworker. This woodworker comes from Tokyo, but after studying in Wajima he moved to Kanazawa where he now makes lacquer objects from his home. As I had a little time between our meeting I decided to walk around the Kenrokuen Garden, one of the most famous parks in Japan, but since there were many tourists I didn't capture too many scenes in the park with my camera. On the way out and through the park and past the castle I stumbled across this beautiful little garden called the Gyokusen Inmaru Garden that was certainly more to my taste.

As I made my way around to the main view of the garden I was lucky to meet a guide who introduced me to many of the elements of the garden. This garden was abandoned in the Meiji Era and then was reconstructed in 2013. They used old drawings and literature as references to rebuild the garden, in keeping with the historic facts, but it was only in 2015 that the reconstruction was complete.

Even though this garden has been reconstructed it didn't put me off at all. The beauty in the garden is something to behold and I thought you would like to see it too. The only downside is that you are not allowed to stroll through the centre of the garden and have to go around the outside, but the spectacle is still impressive anyway and at night I bet it looks just as beautiful. Enjoy.

Find out more about the Gyokusen Inmaru Garden here →


More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by my sushi post, mate. Seems to me you're a Japan guru.

One must be so blessed to have such a peaceful, lush and nicely maintained garden with lots of small gardening details in it.

No problem @prch. I look forward to your other posts. 🙂

Haha Japan Guru. I'm not sure about that. But Japan has always been an interesting culture for me to explore. I try to visit on a yearly basis if possible. Hopefully I can share more interesting places in the future!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=gyokusen-inmaru-garden-in-kanazawa-japan


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow....... so nice beautiful pictures ... it's so amazing.... photography too good. good job. and thanks @oen for share

Thanks for the comment. No problem. More coming very soon :) I hope you will follow along

Beautiful gardens.

They were really beautiful. Peaceful and fairly quiet too, even though it was very open. Thanks for commenting :)

I absolutely love Japan. It's the most unique place i've ever been! Thanks for reminding me of my awesome time there!

Thanks so much for the comment @yasminep. Yeah, it's a beautiful and interesting country isn't it :) Glad you liked my photos. More coming soon.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're an Honorable Mention in our Daily Travel Digest!

Thanks so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48