Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Nezu Museum

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One sunny day I made my way to Omotesando, a fairly upmarket location in Tokyo that is known for its upscale designer boutiques and high-end restaurants. My destination was Nezu Museum, a location that was recommended to me by a local craftsman as he thought it would be the perfect source of inspiration for me, and he wasn’t wrong.

As I arrived the building designed by Kengo Kuma instantly grabbed my attention, it has a strong modernity but is still very in keeping with the traditional elements of Japanese culture. Which makes sense considering this museum houses a private collection of pre-modern Japanese and East Asian Art. Ceramics, calligraphy and bamboo crafts all feature quite heavily here.

As there were no photos allowed inside the gallery the next point of focus was the Japanese garden at the back of Nezu Museum. This place is really is worth the entry fee alone. The hilly garden has two ponds that are connected by two streams of which you can hear from each side of the garden trickling in. As you walk the winding paths of this garden you can enjoy the foliage and discover different buddha statues and some well-preserved tea houses.

Overall the experience was really delightful and peaceful. Here are a few of my favourite photos from the garden. I hope you like these and will visit this beautiful museum and garden next time you are in Tokyo.



More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Japanese Potter Kawai Kanjiro’s House
Exploring Kyoto - Inside Nakamuraken Sweet Shop
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - Climbing Mount Misen
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - The Temple Grounds of Daisho-in
Exploring Miyajima Island in Japan - 500 Rakan Statues at Daisho-in


Please follow me for more interesting art & design @oen :)

Sort:  

Nice photography, thanks for sharing.

Thanks @happybee. It means a lot to me for your to take time to comment. Have a great day.

I like your photography and narrative of Japan. Pop on over and check out my thread on Okinawa!

Thanks for your comment. Sure, I will check it out now. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-a-visit-to-nezu-museum


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 0.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oen.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.84% vote... I was summoned by @oen! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44