Exploring Miyajima in Japan - Climbing Mount Misen

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My final post from the Miyajima series in Japan. After enjoying a stroll around the island I took the trip up to Mount Misen, the scared mountain on Itsukushima, Hiroshima. I didn’t have enough time to walk to the top, which is anywhere from an hour and a half to two and a half hours by foot, instead I took the easy route using the Miyajima Ropeway. I’m glad I did as it was a real spectacle to sit inside the cable car as it travelled up the mountain. The views were breathtaking. Maybe I will save the walk for another year! 😅

After taking a ride on two cable cars you can then enjoy the views or take the option to walk an extra 30 minutes to the peak of the mountain. The journey itself is a little steep and rocky, but once you arrive at the top it’s a special experience indeed. I can see why the mountain is an important destination for religious visitors, the abundance of nature, fresh air and views really cleanse the mind and revive you with a sense of optimism and energy about the world. I edited a few photos from the trip and I hope you enjoy scrolling through them here, I look forward to highlighting other interesting sights in Japan soon.

Sort:  

I remember that walk! Great views from the top and a wonderful journey. Thanks for bringing back my memories :)

No problem. Thanks for commenting. I just followed your page and you have taken some beautiful photography. Keep up the good work :)

Wow, they are some awesome views! Can you add this to steemit worldmap please.

oops! forgot to add it in ... sure will 😀

added! 🙂

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-miyajima-in-japan-climbing-mount-misen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome scenery! Great insights along with the photos too! Enjoy Japan

Thanks @romanian-abroad. Japan is a great place. Keep up the good work too. Now following you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76