Exploring Copenhagen - A Visit to the House of Danish Architect Finn Juhl

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

finn-juhl-inside-9

After my stint in Barcelona I decided to take a long weekend trip to Copenhagen for some much needed inspiration and knowledge. I actually have links to Scandinavia as my early life was spent in Denmark itself, so in the past I have been to Copenhagen but have not returned since I really became fascinated with art, design, architecture etc. It was only when I was a design student did I become focused on Scandinavian design and kept on researching the links with Japanese design.

I think Arne Jacobsen is one of the best known designers in Denmark, but there are many Danish designers who cut their teeth in the furniture design world and have became incredibly successful. I mean you have Hans Wegner, Børge Mogensen, Arne Jacobsen, Poul Kjærholm just to name a few, but today I wanted to highlight Finn Juhl and his house that I visited in Charlottenlund, Denmark.

This is the preserved former home of this midcentury-modern architect and furniture designer and is a fairly restraint home featuring some beautiful furniture, objects and art inside. Both the exterior and interior match his design principles perfectly, with moderate sized rooms and wide open spaces that draw your attention towards the outer areas of the house. I was actually very humbled by the simplicity of the property and the functionality, which was also a highlight of the Alvar Aalto home in Helsinki. The artwork is a nice touch in this property and adds a punch of colour with the abstract shapes hanging on the wall.

Overall I really enjoyed wandering around this property. It's not grand but it showcases the character of the man and what he focused on as a creative and human being. I hope you like these photos here which I think give you an idea of the property and what it was like to experience. More coming soon from Denmark! :)

outside-juhl-house-4

outside-juhl-house-3

outside-juhl-house-1

outside-juhl-house-2

finn-juhl-inside-17

finn-juhl-inside-2

finn-juhl-inside-3

finn-juhl-inside-4

finn-juhl-inside-6

finn-juhl-inside-7

finn-juhl-inside-8

finn-juhl-inside-10

finn-juhl-inside-14

finn-juhl-inside-15

finn-juhl-inside-16

finn-juhl-inside-18

finn-juhl-inside-19


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Cool... I like it :)

Thanks for commenting @foxkoit :D

You are welcome :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-copenhagen-a-visit-to-the-house-of-danish-architect-finn-juhl


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 22:24:25
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 170.80/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 54
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45