Abstract Rocks in Wilsons Promontory National Park in Victoria, Australia

in #travel6 years ago

In my last Steemit post on Wilson Promontory I highlighted a selection of random images from inside the national park in Victoria, Australia. It's approximately 125,000-acre in total so it's almost impossible to explore completely by foot, but I think many people visit Squeaky Beach for the idyllic white sand that squeaks as you walk along it. An interesting play on your senses.

I was drawn to the random colourful rocks situated on this beach as the forms were both abstract and beautiful. I can imagine an artist would get so much inspiration from this scenery, so it made sense to grab my camera and take pictures of these different shapes as I walked along the beach. I especially liked the shadows that formed on the side of the rocks, also the textures and tones scattered across the surface of them, it reminded me of ceramics glazes and random colour palette you can create with different oxides.

It's a shame that I didn't have much information on the rocks whilst I was there, but I did do a bit of digging online and found a little bit of information about these rocks. The Wilsons Promontory is a granite massif formed over 350 million years ago when molten rock pushed up from the earth and created mountains and valleys. As it cooled it led to the formation of rubies and sapphires, also iron deposits which can be seen here as orange/red coloured stains on the side of socks. Really interesting stuff and is surely part of the reason why this part of Australia is so unique.

Here are a few photos of the abstracts rocks that I documented on my travels. I hope you like them and will read more about Wilsons Prom.


More from my Travels:

Exploring Helsinki - Finlandia Hall by Architect Alvar Aalto
A Selection of Outtakes from Kettle's Yard in Cambridge
Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thanks so much :)

WOW. these orange rocks are really inspiring :)
I loved them very much. I want to see it closer . but the other tip of the world for us :)
Congratulations my dear friend. very successful shots

Haha yeah! Maybe you can visit one day soon :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=abstract-rocks-in-wilsons-promontory-national-park-in-victoria-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38